We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Venue in Duluth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ellery House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ellery House
Save
You added The Ellery House to your Saves list
28 South 21st Avenue East, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Big Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Venue in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Tastefully restored home with nice amenities - very warm, clean, and especially welcoming. Perfectly located - close to Superior Street, Canal Park, access to trails, the scenic road (61), etc. Jim received us and provided exceptional suggestions. Without being overbearing or intrusive, Jim was a great host. We enjoyed the privacy of the facilities and the fabulous breakfast - fresh fruits, freshly prepared warm dishes (eggs, bacon, etc.) and a wide-range of beverages (evening and morning). We prefer B&B's and this is a quintessential winner. Great value. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This B&B exceeded our expectations! Jim is probably one of the most kind people I have ever met and the hospitality there is just incredible. Our room was wonderful. Since we went later in the year (november) there were no leaves on the trees so we had a great view of the Lake. It's very close to everything you need to get to in Duluth and the food is absolutely mouthwatering. There is no way you could not fall in love with this place. We will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I was beginning graduate school in Duluth and stayed at the Ellery for 3 trips, for a total of 9 nights, while looking for a permanent place to rent in Duluth! Jim & Joan are the most knowledgable hosts one could ask for. They seem to know every detail of the area and are most gracious as well.

Breakfast was superb every morning. Not only does the food taste outstanding, but it is presented beautiful as well. The rooms are comfortable and decorated period classly.

Highly recommend staying at The Ellery House

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My DH and I stayed at Ellery House B & B September 25 & 26, 2011. This B & B is an 1890's Victorian with beautiful woodwork and decor and although it doesn't have the shine and polish of a newly renovated B & B you will not find a more friendly or welcoming host and hostess than Jim and Joan. Jim was gregarious and friendly and never to busy to engage us in lively conversation. I have stayed at many B & B's across the country but I have never encountered a host as friendly and welcoming as Jim. The breakfasts were delicious and filling and the homemade chocolate chip cookies were a wonderful treat at the end of our day. We stayed in the Ellery Suite, a two room corner suite, which had a very comfortable bed and plenty of space. I would recommend this B & B to anyone wanting to spend some time in Duluth, MN or on the North Shore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

In mid-August 2010 (the date listed via drop down menu is inaccurate, but doesn't go back far enough), we visited Duluth on a research trip to the North Shore and to see Split Rock Lighthouse. We only had two days to squeeze as much seeing and doing in as possible. We chose The Ellery House based on the reviews provided here, stayed three nights, and we were Not disappointed - in fact, our trip was perfect and wonderful!!!

We stayed in Lilla's Room, and found it to be so very lovely, clean, uber comfortable, and a great place to come back to to rest up. Jim is kind, friendly, funny, accomodating, and has a wealth of knowledge about the area. He was super helpful in guiding us to all the right places.

The Ellery house is charming and inviting, and Jim did a fabulous job seeing to our comfort and needs. I have many dietary restrictions, and he not only took great care in meeting them, but he also ensured I still had a delicious and tasty breakfast. One of the cool things that we really liked about breakfast, in addition to the wonderful food, was having breakfast with the other guests at a central dining table. (You can option to have breakfast served privately in your room, but the social quality gained here was wonderful. Everyone who joined in for breakfast brought fun and interesting conversation, and the experience enhanced the charm and friendly feeling we found at The Ellery House.)

A really nice service provided is the coffee/tea/hot water/hot cocoa station near the dining room. No matter what time you need a little refreshment, it is available to you, as are scratch made cookies (until they disappear from happily hungry guests) and mixed nuts. (Jim is happy to share the cookie recipe with you!!!)

Our stay at The Ellery House met and exceeded our expectations, and I could use the descriptors "delightful," "lovely," "charming," "clean", "friendly," and "helpful" over and over again. If ever we get back to the North Shore, and I hope we do, The Ellery House is where we will stay!!! We loved it there and are thankful to the reviews here that led us to Jim and The Ellery House. (Our stay at The Ellery House was so wonderful, that despite my ridiculous schedule and lack of knowledge on how to submit a review and lack of time to fiugre it out, I was determined to get here and do it, even if a year later. The delay is representative of my hectic-ness, and my determination to share our positive experience is testament to how perfect our visit and stay was!) Thank you Jim and The Ellery House!!!

Room Tip: We can't speak to the other rooms for not having seen them, but Lilla's Room is lovely, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Jim and Joan were hospitable and kind. People rave about "southern hospitality" but I think these Yankees are on to something. Breakfast was absolutely delightful and the suites were gorgeous. They did an amazing job decorating and keeping the house (built in 1890!) up. I recommend for anyone and everyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Ca
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have to mention the breakfast was wonderful and elegantly prepared. We had an egg souffle with strawberry rhubarb muffins, fresh fruit platter and great coffee. The inn was decorated with beautiful antiques which were comfortably arranged. Our room the Ellery Suite was spacious and the beds were very comfortable and luxurious. We completely enjoyed our stay and felt extremely at home . The innkeeper was very helpful with advice and had a kind personality. The inn is very convenient to the Duluth sights plus the North Shore route was very easy to navigate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ellery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellery House

Address: 28 South 21st Avenue East, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ellery House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.