We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Bed and Breakfast in Duluth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn
1632 East First Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Bed and Breakfast in Duluth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Mathew S. Burrow 1890 Inn is a charming old house and we enjoyed our 1 night's stay. The breakfast was very good and Al took time to speak to his guest while we had breakfast. We also got some good information and advise from him.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great host, decent breakfast, but didn't cater to special diet needs. Fan didn't work, bathroom dangerous with cords run everywhere and stepping into a claw-foot tub up on tile, and no TV about drove me crazy. Bed was comfortable. Front porch had junk stored on it, not pleasant to look at when sitting on the veranda! Needs some serious upkeep. Reasonably price, if TV was available. Going back to hotel rooms with all the amenities!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My boyfriend was a flight instructor at the Point in Duluth and after a couple of years of describing it, we had the opportunity to travel there and for me to see it first hand. What a nice small city! The canal street shops and restaurants are really fun to visit. What made the trip all the more special was the B&B we called home for 2 nights. Allen (AKA, Al) is the most friendly of all B&B owners I have ever met. He has a gentle kind spirit that just makes you want to hug him. I had read the reviews about the breakfasts that he serves and that was the decisive factor over all the others in town. WE WERE NOT DISAPPOINTED! OMG! Yummy beyond yummy! My roots are Southern so we would go beyond yummy and say "scrumptous" which is better than yummy. The house is gorgeous. The wood work is amazing. It is close to everything and is on a quite street. I highly recommend this little jewel. For you Southerners, bring a light jacket in the Summer and jeans...the wind off Lake Superior is chilly even in July!

Room Tip: Claw foot tub/shower in the Rose room. We liked it just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I spent a night here near the end of a very long road trip. I really needed a cozy place to stay, and this was a good choice. The decor isn't really to my taste, but the atmosphere was great and the bed was comfortable. The food and conversation at breakfast were wonderful. Too bad I was too full from dinner to enjoy the nigthtime snack!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Suburb of Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We had the 2-bedroom Ballroom Suite for a night in June. The suite occupied the whole 3rd floor of the house. The rooms were adequately furnished and the sitting area could easily seat 7 or more people. The outside of the house and the front yard could use some maintenance. The venting of cooking fumes also needed to be reworked so that the smell didn't all end up on the 3rd floor! I had the Ivy Room. While it was clean, I noticed a couple of tiny little critters on my iPhone as I left it on the window sill while being charged! Breakfast included a fruit cup, muffin and main entree, all homemade and excellent! The host was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

In Duluth for my son's (UMD student) music recital - stayed 3 nights in this beautiful home - rented the entire 3rd floor ballroom suite - party of 3 ladies. Our first B&B stay and we chose a great one! The home was so warm and inviting - beautiful touches everywhere you turn. Our suite was HUGE w/great views of the Lake. The Innkeeper, Mr. Fink is so personable and helpful - his breakfasts were special and scrumptious, served on beautiful china. We missed breakfast the last morning due to a change in our flights to an early morning one, yet he still had coffee ready w/to-go cups, also bottled water. He was right there ready to assist w/our heavy bags. Always an evening dessert/treat out as well - w/teas and juices, soda, etc. Already re-booked for May when I return for graduation. Can't recommend it ENOUGH. Great location - lovely and cozy.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom ballroom suite has, as it implies, 2 bedrooms w/queen beds, 1 bath and 2 sitting areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in the ballroom suite located at the top of the house, which was much larger than we needed, but was just great. With the connecting bedroom and a living area in between the main and connecting bedrooms, it would be perfect for friends traveling together or even a family. It also had a nice view of Lake Superior, which we enjoyed a lot. The host was very entertaining. He had a vast knowledge of the local lore and made a very good breakfast a lot of fun as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn

Address: 1632 East First Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn to your Saves list