We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn

Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn
Save Saved
You added Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn to your Saves list
1632 East First Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I spent a night here near the end of a very long road trip. I really needed a cozy place to stay, and this was a good choice. The decor isn't really to my taste, but the atmosphere was great and the bed was comfortable. The food and conversation at breakfast were wonderful. Too bad I was too full from dinner to enjoy the nigthtime snack!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NW Suburb of Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We had the 2-bedroom Ballroom Suite for a night in June. The suite occupied the whole 3rd floor of the house. The rooms were adequately furnished and the sitting area could easily seat 7 or more people. The outside of the house and the front yard could use some maintenance. The venting of cooking fumes also needed to be reworked so that the smell didn't all end up on the 3rd floor! I had the Ivy Room. While it was clean, I noticed a couple of tiny little critters on my iPhone as I left it on the window sill while being charged! Breakfast included a fruit cup, muffin and main entree, all homemade and excellent! The host was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

In Duluth for my son's (UMD student) music recital - stayed 3 nights in this beautiful home - rented the entire 3rd floor ballroom suite - party of 3 ladies. Our first B&B stay and we chose a great one! The home was so warm and inviting - beautiful touches everywhere you turn. Our suite was HUGE w/great views of the Lake. The Innkeeper, Mr. Fink is so personable and helpful - his breakfasts were special and scrumptious, served on beautiful china. We missed breakfast the last morning due to a change in our flights to an early morning one, yet he still had coffee ready w/to-go cups, also bottled water. He was right there ready to assist w/our heavy bags. Always an evening dessert/treat out as well - w/teas and juices, soda, etc. Already re-booked for May when I return for graduation. Can't recommend it ENOUGH. Great location - lovely and cozy.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom ballroom suite has, as it implies, 2 bedrooms w/queen beds, 1 bath and 2 sitting areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in the ballroom suite located at the top of the house, which was much larger than we needed, but was just great. With the connecting bedroom and a living area in between the main and connecting bedrooms, it would be perfect for friends traveling together or even a family. It also had a nice view of Lake Superior, which we enjoyed a lot. The host was very entertaining. He had a vast knowledge of the local lore and made a very good breakfast a lot of fun as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Beautiful architecture and attentive hosts make this place a must stay when in Duluth. We recently rented the entire 3rd floor and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Oh, and the breakfast? Amazing. Our hosts were very informative about the history of the house and what makes it so special. If I'm ever in Duluth again, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We booked to stay at the Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn as I much prefer B&Bs and the other reviews recommended it highly. We were not disappointed as we were made very welcome and the breakfasts were brilliant. The house is totally gorgeous, on a nice quiet street and we were able to park right outside on both nights of our stay.
We had travelled up to Duluth from the Twin Cities to see Michael Buble in concert. Having only visited Duluth for a few hours in the past, we decided to see more and stay for a weekend. I'm sure we'll go to stay in Duluth again and will not hesitate to book this lovely little inn all over again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-de-Marsan, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The Mathew S. Burrows B&B is a very recommendable one. Spacious rooms, quiet neighborhood, interesting homemade breakfast. Mr. Fink is a very friendly host.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn

Address: 1632 East First Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.