We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
Save
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Midweek and Save
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
MN, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at Fitger's on two different occasions, one night in April, 08 and three nights in Jan. 09. Our expectations were exceeded on both occasions. Overall, the hotel is very clean and quiet. Both of our rooms (lakeside and city side) were very clean and came well equipped with Aveda products, plenty of towels, extra blankets and storage facilities. I agree with a previous reviewer that the beds are extremely comfortable. They even offer a pillow menu! The continental breakfast is above average and the views from the breakfast room can be stunning (weather permitting). The exercise facility was small but adequate for a quick workout. The lakeside location is perfect! It is only a short walk or drive to Canal Park and downtown Duluth. The onsite dining options are pretty good with Pickwick's being my favorite. The bars are fun and draw a mixed crowd. Unfortunately, the number of shopping options seems to have declined of late but we always find something we “need” in the TrailFitters store.

My only complaints with Fitger's are minor:
- The counter tops in the bathrooms are small and there is limited space to put your grooming items. A small table under or near the sink would suffice.
- I prefer a very dark room and had to frequently adjust the shades in our city side room in-order to block as much street light as possible. This wasn't much of a problem in the darker lake side room.
- The onsite mall could benefit from a small convenience store, although the front desk does sell some essentials.

  • Liked — The prime Duluth location
  • Disliked — Lack of bathroom counter space
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    59
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
108
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virgiinia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

It was our first trip to Duluth and Fitgers was a pleasant treat. We had the "cityview" room, and although it didnt have a view of the lake, it still exceeded our expectations. The room was large and included a sleep sofa in a sitting area and a SUPER COMFORTABLE BED and sheets. Good continental breakfast...6 types of coffee offered in a small lakeview room. Very attentive staff. The attached mall has everything, lots of shops, entertainment and a wonderful spa, Shear Katz. The microbrewry in the mall also has a good selection

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no refrigerator in the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

My husband and I had never been to Duluth in our life, so we decided to take in the Fall Colors at Fitger's Inn. My sister had told me so many wonderful things about that location.
We had a room with a balcony over looking the lake. It was absolutely beautiful and so relaxing and comfortable. We walked along the walking paths that lead us through very colorful areas that were just breathtaking. We are planning another trip the first weekend in October this year as well and I know I will enjoy it just as much as the first time.

  • Liked — Balcony over looking lake
  • Disliked — Having to leave so early
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

My wife and I enjoyed a great overnight in Duluth at Fitger's. Our room was way above our expectations (it had a foyer, sheesh) and so well decorated. We enjoyed the large bedroom, liked having a separate living room for TV watching, and made good use of the whirlpool tub.

But we especially appreciated the exceptional customer service. We were traveling by motorcycle, and got to the hotel about noon time, well ahead of check-in. With our room not ready, the counter agent really rose to the occasion to help us transition from riding-suit motorcyclists with bags of gear in their lobby to tourists on the Canal Walk. She checked all our gear, then offered us the use of their fitness center shower area to freshen up and change into tourist clothing. That let us get on to a nice lunch at their micro-brewery, and out walking on the boardwalk, enjoying the day.

Fitger's has a great location, and in just a few steps you can be on your way to Canal Park and enjoying Lake Superior. We also fell victim to the Bridgeman's Ice Cream parlor that's right outside the back door.

We'll definitely choose Fitger's again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I just had to write a review to tell all what a charming hotel Fitger's Inn is and to compliment the hotel staff on their wonderful customer service. The hotel is recently renovated but it retains a lot of old world charm. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were very quiet and clean. We stayed in a lakeside deluxe room...the window looked out over Lake Superior but it was not easy to see the lake unless standing right at the window, so I would probably spring for a room with a balcony next time. Every member of the staff at Fitger's was helpful and very friendly...from the porters to the room service waiters to the lobby staff. The assistant manager even gave us a ride to the Omnimax theater when the shuttle driver got stuck in traffic! The food from the Midi Restaurant was served for room service meals (which we enjoyed three times) and was very good and large portions. The lavender creme brulee was excellent! The lakewalk is right next to the building and we had a wonderful time exploring the Canal Park area and Leif Erickson garden that are within a short walk. We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly recommend it to our family and friends. Minnesota Public Radio listeners take note: you can get a significant discount on your stay if you make a small donation to MPR...they will send you a discount card for Fitger's and other places in Duluth. We saved $250 on our stay!

  • Liked — Great customer service and friendly staff
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

This really is an outstanding hotel. I've been here twice now - the first time in a lakeview room, the second in a standard room. The standard is obviously not as nice as the lakeview, but had I never been in the lakeview I would have been perfectly content with the standard. My standard was on the first floor next to the east door to the exterior, but I never had a problem with noise.

If you're looking for a cookie cutter chain hotel experience, you won't get it here. Located in a converted brewery complex, the hotel has a lot of nice old world touches, including historic photos in the rooms rather than generic artwork.

The amenities were standard and nice - wireless internet worked great, the continental breakfast was not amazing but quite adequate. As noted above, the valet service is very convenient and I never had to open the front door myself. It isn't right downtown, but even if you don't have a car, the downtown is within walking distance and they have a shuttle.

The most unique touch, and one I highly recommend, is ordering off the "pillow menu" - yes, you literally can order your own pillow!

The only minor quibble I had was no hair dryer in the bathrooms, which seems pretty standard in most hotels these days, but since I had my own it wasn't a problem. I imagine they have ones you can get from the front desk.

I think the R8 is reasonable compared to other properties in the city, given the uniqueness of the experience.

  • Liked — Unique atmosphere, service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

This hotel is a little further away from the main part of down-town Duluth, however it is still easy to walk to all of the main attractions from the hotel. The building that it is in is very cool, not only because it is an old brewery (and a lot of the original charm shows through in the decor of the hotel), but also because there are numerous shops, restaraunts, and even an AVEDA spa in the building complex. If you don't feel like walking the 10-15 minutes down the boardwalk to the down-town area, you would probably be completely fine just entertaining yourself in the building complex. One other VERY nice part about the hotel was that they gave us a deluxe lake-view room for the price of a standard city-view room. We are still not quite sure why they did this - when we got into town we went to the front desk just to ask if they had any rooms available, and they said that they did, so we chose the least expensive room ( standard city-view). The gentleman at the front desk (I think his name was Jon???) then offered to just go ahead and up-grade us to a deluxe lake-view room for the same price as the other room. Very nice!!!!!!! The room was spacious and clean and had the "old-world" charm to boot. A gorgeous view of the lake made it just perfect! In the morning they had a complimentary continental breakfast, which was definitley just okay, however it was served in this bright and cheery room with a spectacular view of the lake, and you could even take your coffe and breakfast out onto a little outdoor patio to enjoy the view up-close and personal.

  • Liked — They have done a great job preserving the "old-school" feel of the hotel
  • Disliked — A bit on te expensive side - but you get what you pay for
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#14 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.