We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I look forward to every stay at Fitgers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
Fitger's Inn
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I look forward to every stay at Fitgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Fitgers may not be the newest or cheapest place to stay in Duluth, but it is by far my favorite. Great Location! Far enough away from Canal Park to avoid some of the chaos, but close enough to walk down and enjoy the activity. The service at Fitgers is fantastic and the historical aspects make it a place that I want to visit again and again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    69
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
128
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burton, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel was a real "find" for us! It has character, wonderful ambience, and cheerful, helpful staff. It is located in a most central location, within walking distance of seemingly every shop, restaurant and attraction that one would wish to visit on a short weekend vacation. The view from our room was spectacular; continual ship and people watching opportunities if that's what you want. We sprung for the lakeside luxury king room and it was worth every penny. We were a bit worried that the noise level would be intrusive, but the rooms are wonderfully soundproofed so that you don't hear the outside world at all: even the occasional passing train slips by silently.

Room Tip: Get the lakeside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Dear thelma97,

Thank you very much for taking the time to the leave us a review of your recent stay. Your feedback is valuable to us

It is so gratifying to hear when our guests are pleased by our efforts. We strive in providing our guests with exceptional service and a memorable visit.

I appreciate, and thank you again, for choosing Fitger’s Inn. We think of that as a privilege and thank you for your confidence in us. If there's anything more we can do for you, please email or call me any time.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We just spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. We upgraded to one of the executive suites for our wedding anniversary and it was lovely. We enjoyed the view from our balcony, the jacuzzi and the access to the lakewalk. It was so nice to stay away from the chaos of Canal Park too.

As far as the suite itself - it was just ok, a little dated. More importantly, it was clean and fairly quiet. Staff was nice. I agree with other reviewers that the continental breakfast wasn't much but they had decent coffee and sometimes that's all you need to get your day started!

The neighborhood surrounding Fitgers is quaint with several dining and bar options within walking distance - and the shops within Fitgers were fun to browse. We were even entertained one night by musicians in the courtyard which was a nice addition to our stay.

Make a point to go one block north to VaBene for excellent Italian food and enjoy a beer at the Fitgers Brewery! The Mexican restaurant next door has great views of Lake Superior too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Dear siouxhockeyfan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to the leave us a review of your recent stay. Your feedback is so valuable to us

It is so gratifying to hear when our guests are pleased by our efforts. We strive in providing our guests with exceptional service and a memorable visit.

siouxhockeyfan, we appreciate and thank you again, for choosing Fitger’s Inn. We think of that as a privilege and thank you for your confidence in us. If there's anything more we can do for you, please email or call me any time.

Sincerely,
Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Expensive for what it is. I was expecting more. There were several other very nice hotels that we regretted not staying at when we arrived at The Fitger’s Inn. The hotel was neat but the rooms were lacking. The picture of the room when we booked, was not close to what we actually got. I was a bit disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear 594tracyl,

I would like to thank you very much for staying with us and would also to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay.

I am very sorry that you were disappointed with the room, as the room you stayed in, was different from the room pictured on our website. As all our 62 rooms and suites are different, we have tried to simplify the room selection process, by showing the room, that we feel, best characterizes the majority of the rooms in that particular classification.

In examining your feedback, may I pose a question to you? If so, the question is... from a "guest standpoint", when looking at our website and choosing a room to reserve, would you rather see and scroll through 18 types of rooms or see the entire listing of all our 62 rooms?

In addition, if you would be so kind...Could you please reach out to me to tell me what room you stayed in? This would be very helpful in providing me an opportunity to re-examine our picture of that particular room classification and see if there is anything different we can d. We certainly do not want to mislead or misrepresent any of our room offerings.

I can be reached at 218-722-8826 or via e-mail at fitgers@fitgers.com

Once again, thank you very much for your time and visiting Fitger's Inn.

Sincerely,
Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux falls
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Fitger's and could not get enough of that view. Watched the sailboats on Wednesday for a real treat. The bed was comfortable and the maid service was great. This hotel is on the lake walk and close to everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel costs a little more than we normally like to pay, but we enjoyed all 3 days and the memories are priceless.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Goodtime29,

Thank you very much for taking the time to the leave us a review of your recent stay.

It is so gratifying to hear when our guests are pleased by our efforts. No one matters more to us than you; nothing's more important than providing you with exceptional service and a memorable visit.

I also want to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is so valuable to us. I will be happy to share your comments.

Goodtime29, we appreciate and thank you again, for choosing Fitger’s Inn. We think of that as a privilege and thank you for your confidence in us. If there's anything more we can do for you, please email or call me any time.

Sincerely,
Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Absolutely beautiful and literally right on Lake Superior! There's no point in staying if you don't get a lakeside view so make sure to get on the water side. This place is more expensive than some others in Duluth, but well worth it for the views and one of a kind architecture of the hotel. MUST check out the Brewhouse in the same complex - the apricot wheat beer is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Hans1730,

Thank you very much for taking the time to the leave us a review of your recent stay.

It is so gratifying to hear when our guests are pleased by our efforts. No one matters more to us than you; nothing's more important than providing you with exceptional service and a memorable visit.

I also want to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is so valuable to us. I will be happy to share your comments.

Hans1730, we appreciate and thank you again, for choosing Fitger’s Inn. We think of that as a privilege and thank you for your confidence in us. If there's anything more we can do for you, please email or call me any time.

Sincerely,
Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Fitger's during the first part of our honeymoon. We decided to go all out and book a penthouse suite. We expected something pretty fabulous based on the price. The view was fantastic with a balcony overlooking Lake Superior. The room was just okay. It was large in size, but in serious need of revamping. It was supposed to have an "old fashioned" feel about it. Instead, it looked kind of old. The holes in the carpet, the worn out mattress and dreadfully uncomfortable furniture were not what we had in mind. At the price we paid, the continental breakfast was less than impressive. I guess we had expectations of something more than coffee, dry pastries and grocery store granola bars. I can say the staff was very friendly and quick to help us when we had a question or needed a pillow upgrade from the "pillow menu". Location-wise, this is a great place to stay if you want to avoid the business of Canal Park. It is just off of downtown with easy access to restaurants and shops. I don't believe we will be staying at Fitger's again because neither of us felt it offered the comfort and luxury we were seeking.

Room Tip: The Penthouse rooms require you (or the bellhop) to be able to carry luggage up a flight of stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello Jaime J,

Thank you very much for recently staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay.

I am truly sorry you did not receive the high quality guest experience we are known for, and hope you will accept my apology for the disappointment.

We would really like to speak with you regarding your stay and concerns. Please contact Kurt or me at 1-888-348-4377 or via e-mail at fitgers@fitgers.com

I do want to let you know that we are currently working on an extensive hotel room renovation that will begin in late October 2014. We are working with a very accomplished interior designer, and are extremely excited to soon be offering our guests a fresh, new, “signature look”, from top to bottom,
that can only be best described as, “Industrial Chic”.

We were anticipating that this renovation would have been completed and unveiled this spring, but because everything associated with this renovation is custom, (the carpet, bedding, headboards, and all furniture), is has taken a lot longer than anticipated as we are dealing with lead times of 9 to 12 months on most items.

We look forward to regaining your trust and hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.