We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
Save
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Midweek and Save
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Absolutely beautiful and literally right on Lake Superior! There's no point in staying if you don't get a lakeside view so make sure to get on the water side. This place is more expensive than some others in Duluth, but well worth it for the views and one of a kind architecture of the hotel. MUST check out the Brewhouse in the same complex - the apricot wheat beer is amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Hans1730,

Thank you very much for taking the time to the leave us a review of your recent stay.

It is so gratifying to hear when our guests are pleased by our efforts. No one matters more to us than you; nothing's more important than providing you with exceptional service and a memorable visit.

I also want to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is so valuable to us. I will be happy to share your comments.

Hans1730, we appreciate and thank you again, for choosing Fitger’s Inn. We think of that as a privilege and thank you for your confidence in us. If there's anything more we can do for you, please email or call me any time.

Sincerely,
Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    59
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
108
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Fitger's during the first part of our honeymoon. We decided to go all out and book a penthouse suite. We expected something pretty fabulous based on the price. The view was fantastic with a balcony overlooking Lake Superior. The room was just okay. It was large in size, but in serious need of revamping. It was supposed to have an "old fashioned" feel about it. Instead, it looked kind of old. The holes in the carpet, the worn out mattress and dreadfully uncomfortable furniture were not what we had in mind. At the price we paid, the continental breakfast was less than impressive. I guess we had expectations of something more than coffee, dry pastries and grocery store granola bars. I can say the staff was very friendly and quick to help us when we had a question or needed a pillow upgrade from the "pillow menu". Location-wise, this is a great place to stay if you want to avoid the business of Canal Park. It is just off of downtown with easy access to restaurants and shops. I don't believe we will be staying at Fitger's again because neither of us felt it offered the comfort and luxury we were seeking.

Room Tip: The Penthouse rooms require you (or the bellhop) to be able to carry luggage up a flight of stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello Jaime J,

Thank you very much for recently staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay.

I am truly sorry you did not receive the high quality guest experience we are known for, and hope you will accept my apology for the disappointment.

We would really like to speak with you regarding your stay and concerns. Please contact Kurt or me at 1-888-348-4377 or via e-mail at fitgers@fitgers.com

I do want to let you know that we are currently working on an extensive hotel room renovation that will begin in late October 2014. We are working with a very accomplished interior designer, and are extremely excited to soon be offering our guests a fresh, new, “signature look”, from top to bottom,
that can only be best described as, “Industrial Chic”.

We were anticipating that this renovation would have been completed and unveiled this spring, but because everything associated with this renovation is custom, (the carpet, bedding, headboards, and all furniture), is has taken a lot longer than anticipated as we are dealing with lead times of 9 to 12 months on most items.

We look forward to regaining your trust and hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North St. Paul, Mn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I just returned home from staying at Fitgers Inn from June 16th to the 18th, & I have to say this is a wonderful hotel with a lot of class. The room I stayed in was king suite facing beautiful Lake Superior (room 301) it was nicely appointed & very well maintained. Hats off to the cleaning crew, it shows they really put a great deal of effort not only in the rooms, but the entire hotel. The hotel offers Aveda soaps shampoo conditioner, & mouth wash & that's another big plus. The beds are very comfortable, as they have a neat feature where you can choose your own pillow. They even have free valet parking.That is really cool. When I return to Duluth, I will be coming back to Fitgers Inn, as the staff makes sure the guests are very happy.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake, you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 63moose,

Thank you very much for taking the time to the leave us a review of your recent stay.

It is so gratifying to hear when our guests are pleased by our efforts. No one matters more to us than you; nothing's more important than providing you with exceptional service and a memorable visit.

I also want to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is so valuable to us. I will be happy to share your comments.

63moose, we appreciate and thank you again, for choosing Fitger’s Inn. We think of that as a privilege and thank you for your confidence in us. If there's anything more we can do for you, please email or call me any time.

Sincerely,
Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

A very large room with a beautiful view of lake Superior. The breakfast was simple, but fine. We ate at the brewery next door which was good too. The staff appeared to be new and not well informed. But they were nice and seems to be trying.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear cjg2901,

I would like to personally thank you for staying at Fitger's Inn and as well as taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed you room, our view, and dining at the Fitger's Brewhouse.

I am wondering if you would be able to provide us more detail regarding the statement..."The staff appeared to be new and not well informed. But they were nice and seems to be trying."

Is this statement made regarding the Fitger's Brewhouse staff, or the hotel staff? Our hotel staff in normally very well informed, so I would really like to investigate this matter further. I can be reached at: fitgers@fitgers.com or by calling 218-722-8826.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you want some of the best views of the lake, look at staying here. If you want to pay about twice the price of other "nice" area hotels, stay here.
This is a place with a lot of history and we have stayed here on and off for the last five years if we are going for a great location not in the canal area of town and will not be spending a lot of time in the room.
The lobby area and rest of the business complex attached to the hotel is impressive with history and neat little spots like the Brewpub. The rooms tend to be much more basic with almost always some type of issue (heating/air conditioning, noise, bathroom water leaks, dresser drawers not closing, etc. Managment sells the fact of a three year renovation (updated rooms, new televisions, cable, etc.), but it was a basic renovation. Internet did not work during our recent stay. The air conditioning was on for an entire weekend, even during the overnight 50's. The desk could only be used if you were the size of a child and did not want to push a chair out.
The continental breakfast remains an issue with those that have stayed numerous times. For the price paid to stay at this inn, the breakfast is more basic than a Super 8 motel. Pastry selections are limited and is limite to cereal, bread and yogurt on the two mornings we attended.
Service can be abrupt, especially when asking about prices. Do not expect to be able to get ice without calling the front desk and waiting 20 minutes. Room servcei from their restaurant in the basement can take over an hour if it even shows up. One couple staying near us waited the hour before going to the nearly empty restaurant to inquire about their order.
Bottom line is that this hotel needs to get prices in line, improve service and really update the hotel to make this the only place people want to stay in Duluth. The newer hotels in the canal area will slowly take that business away.

Room Tip: Stay away from the city side and away from any lobby-close rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello Rod M,

Thank you very much for recently staying with us and for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay.

I am truly sorry you did not receive the high quality guest experience we are known for, and hope you will accept my apology for the disappointment.

We would really like to speak with you regarding your stay and concerns. Please contact Kurt Anderson (Assistant Hotel Manager) or me at 1-888-348-4377 or via e-mail at fitgers@fitgers.com

I do want to let you know that we are currently working on an extensive hotel room renovation that will begin in late October 2014. We are working with a very accomplished interior designer, and are extremely excited to soon be offering our guests a fresh, new, “signature look”, from top to bottom,
that can only be best described as, “Industrial Chic”.

We were anticipating that this renovation would have been completed and unveiled this past spring, but because everything associated with this renovation is custom, (the carpet, bedding, headboards, and all furniture), is has taken a lot longer than anticipated as we are dealing with lead times of 9 to 12 months on most items.

We look forward to regaining your trust and hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This is our second time staying at Fitgers Inn, and it always feels like coming home. This charming hotel is incomparable to any other in Duluth. From the moment you walk into the historic lobby to the ascent up the classic stairway to using a real key to open the door it feels just like home. Very quiet, private rooms that do not feel like your typical cookie cutter hotel chain. With the attached shopping mall and restaurants it makes Fitgers an ideal overnight destination. Even in the cold winters of Minnesota.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Needed a weekend get away during a not so nice time of the year and found this place to be just perfect. This historic building offers everything you could possibly need all under one roof. Wonderful view from our room. Comfy bed with a nice sitting area by the windows. Clean and cozy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
#14 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.