We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, unique, comfortable ... Will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
Fitger's Inn
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Hammond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, unique, comfortable ... Will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Needed a weekend get away during a not so nice time of the year and found this place to be just perfect. This historic building offers everything you could possibly need all under one roof. Wonderful view from our room. Comfy bed with a nice sitting area by the windows. Clean and cozy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    69
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
129
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hurley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
302 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed Fitger's this past weekend. We attended The Taste of Figer's and enjoyed that as well. The Taste was a bit expensive and all of the vendors ran out of things at 8:30 and the event did not end until 9:00. We were not happy with that considering we paid $50 per person to attend the event. It is something that we would do again but $100 for two people could put in one of the finest eateries in Duluth...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear DonaldLisaFromUSA,

Thank you for attending Taste 2014 at Fitger's. We are glad you had a nice time.

We hope you feel you money is well spent in attending Taste, as all the funds raise that evening, (ticket sales, silent auction revenue, and other monies donated throughout the evening), are donated directly to the Second Harvest Northern Lakes Food Bank.

We do ask all restaurants and beverage vendors that participate that evening to provide samplings for 600 people, even though only 500 tickets for the event are sold. As you saw, the event very well attended. We do know that a few of the 30 restaurants attending, did run out of food that evening did run out of food that evening, and we apologize. Unfortunately, when guest find something they like, they tend to go back to the same vendor several times.

We do hope that you will join us for Taste 2015 @ Fitger's, on March 27, 2015, as the Second Harvest Northern Lakes Food Bank really does need the support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
225 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in early March. Pleasantly surprised by the complimentary valet parking as well as complimentary shuttle service to nearby restaurants and events! Room was spacious and quiet and the was a pillow option for the pillow of your choice. Service was first rate and coupon book for discounts at breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as discounts in the stores in the same complex as the hotel was a nice touch. Worth a stay, get a lake view room if they are available.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the ones to book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We inquired about a room at the front desk and were basically laughed at. The price on trip advisor was different than their actual prices. No problem. However, when we casually mentioned the difference an employee (who was not who we were speaking with) shouted in our direction, "We've never had rooms for that price! Hahaha." The first woman helping us was kind and polite. We might have stayed if not for the snooty comments. Taking our money elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Awodarcz,

Thank you for your comments. I do apologize for the misunderstanding you had with my staff on Wednesday. We certainly did not mean to come off as snooty or rude, however the rate your were telling us you saw for Fitger's Inn was not accurate, and we were trying to correct the situation.

We do not list our room rates with Trip Advisor or any other travel site. The only rates that are publicly available for Fitger's Inn are on our own website at www.fitgers.com, so unfortunately the $74 rate you were indicating you saw posted on Trip Advisor, was not possible.

It is certainly possible that you may have been confused with the Edgewater as they are currently offering rooms at that rate through Trip Advisor, and listed alphabetically, Fitger's is listed next on the list.

I am very sorry for the misunderstanding that led you to post this review. If you would like to discuss this issue further, or like to visit Fitger's Inn in the future, please contact me at 218-722-8826.

Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Fitger's Inn is a hotel placed in the original Fitger's Brewing building and it holds all the charm and old fashion appeal that we really enjoy. Extremely comfortable, beautiful views of Lake Superior, a wonderful pillow service and great shops and restaurants within the same building. Favorite place to stay when we visit Duluth and we do it often

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed a night in a lake view room and it was lovely. One tip is to make sure your curtains are open so that you can see the beautiful sunrise on the lake. We were upgraded to a lake view room, but if we went back I would pay to reserve the lake view-- it is totally worth the money!

I was pleasantly surprised by how historic and charming the Inn was. They've kept it in very good shape while maintaining the history of the building, and it was fun to wander through the shops and restaurants in the attached complex (as our trip was in January, it was even nicer that it was all connected by indoor walkways). The ladies at the front desk were also very helpful when we asked about things to do around Duluth.

Definitely worth a stay if you're travelling to or through Duluth.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Awesome shuttle service . Service awesome in general. But kind of a mix on "luxury" elements. (I'm SPG gold and spend 20+ nights a year in hotels, often westin). Although very clean, Lakeside "luxury" king was showing wear and tear...worn carpets that were luxurious a decade ago. Desk and side tables were cheap plastic veneer that was worn off the edges--tacky. Bed linens worse quality than Sheraton. Bed was worn down too, not that comfortable. Bath linens were great, Aveda products always appreciated, and turbo powered hair dryer great. Duluth hotels are so expensive for certain times of year, the options are very limited, so this is on par with the other nice hotels I think, what can you do. The view is awesome and the location and shuttle service are outstanding . I would stay again, but won't expect luxury.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.