We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with Great Customer Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
Save Saved
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Midweek and Save
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with Great Customer Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I just had to write a review to tell all what a charming hotel Fitger's Inn is and to compliment the hotel staff on their wonderful customer service. The hotel is recently renovated but it retains a lot of old world charm. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were very quiet and clean. We stayed in a lakeside deluxe room...the window looked out over Lake Superior but it was not easy to see the lake unless standing right at the window, so I would probably spring for a room with a balcony next time. Every member of the staff at Fitger's was helpful and very friendly...from the porters to the room service waiters to the lobby staff. The assistant manager even gave us a ride to the Omnimax theater when the shuttle driver got stuck in traffic! The food from the Midi Restaurant was served for room service meals (which we enjoyed three times) and was very good and large portions. The lavender creme brulee was excellent! The lakewalk is right next to the building and we had a wonderful time exploring the Canal Park area and Leif Erickson garden that are within a short walk. We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly recommend it to our family and friends. Minnesota Public Radio listeners take note: you can get a significant discount on your stay if you make a small donation to MPR...they will send you a discount card for Fitger's and other places in Duluth. We saved $250 on our stay!

  • Liked — Great customer service and friendly staff
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    57
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
97
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

This really is an outstanding hotel. I've been here twice now - the first time in a lakeview room, the second in a standard room. The standard is obviously not as nice as the lakeview, but had I never been in the lakeview I would have been perfectly content with the standard. My standard was on the first floor next to the east door to the exterior, but I never had a problem with noise.

If you're looking for a cookie cutter chain hotel experience, you won't get it here. Located in a converted brewery complex, the hotel has a lot of nice old world touches, including historic photos in the rooms rather than generic artwork.

The amenities were standard and nice - wireless internet worked great, the continental breakfast was not amazing but quite adequate. As noted above, the valet service is very convenient and I never had to open the front door myself. It isn't right downtown, but even if you don't have a car, the downtown is within walking distance and they have a shuttle.

The most unique touch, and one I highly recommend, is ordering off the "pillow menu" - yes, you literally can order your own pillow!

The only minor quibble I had was no hair dryer in the bathrooms, which seems pretty standard in most hotels these days, but since I had my own it wasn't a problem. I imagine they have ones you can get from the front desk.

I think the R8 is reasonable compared to other properties in the city, given the uniqueness of the experience.

  • Liked — Unique atmosphere, service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

This hotel is a little further away from the main part of down-town Duluth, however it is still easy to walk to all of the main attractions from the hotel. The building that it is in is very cool, not only because it is an old brewery (and a lot of the original charm shows through in the decor of the hotel), but also because there are numerous shops, restaraunts, and even an AVEDA spa in the building complex. If you don't feel like walking the 10-15 minutes down the boardwalk to the down-town area, you would probably be completely fine just entertaining yourself in the building complex. One other VERY nice part about the hotel was that they gave us a deluxe lake-view room for the price of a standard city-view room. We are still not quite sure why they did this - when we got into town we went to the front desk just to ask if they had any rooms available, and they said that they did, so we chose the least expensive room ( standard city-view). The gentleman at the front desk (I think his name was Jon???) then offered to just go ahead and up-grade us to a deluxe lake-view room for the same price as the other room. Very nice!!!!!!! The room was spacious and clean and had the "old-world" charm to boot. A gorgeous view of the lake made it just perfect! In the morning they had a complimentary continental breakfast, which was definitley just okay, however it was served in this bright and cheery room with a spectacular view of the lake, and you could even take your coffe and breakfast out onto a little outdoor patio to enjoy the view up-close and personal.

  • Liked — They have done a great job preserving the "old-school" feel of the hotel
  • Disliked — A bit on te expensive side - but you get what you pay for
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

We arrived Saturday afternoon for a company function to be held that evening at the Fitgers. It is a beautiful and historical brewery/Inn. The Doorman/Valet came out to greet us as we pulled up in front. He was delightful and professional. It was -3 F out, but no problem. The lobby is wonderfully preserved and very nice. Check in was easy, the valet parked our car and brought our suitcase up to the room. We stayed on the 4th floor in a suite, and it was very spacious and nicely appointed. The view was breathtaking from the balcony...see pictures. They have a nice restaurant on the lower level as well as quite a hopping "pub" serving their own brews as well as others. We had the "banquet dinner" in a lower level facility, while the food was not very good the service was great! But any company function I don't expect to go for the food. As cold as the weather was, there were people walking along the lake walk (fleeing along the walk to get back inside perhaps) and a few little shops in an attached walkway.
We had a jacuzzi in the room next to the bed, as did our neighbor, when I saw two bottles of Champagne chilling outside on their deck I figured their jacuzzi was in for a workout. The noise was somewhat loud, but Saturday at 5 pm, who cares, but the next morning when they revved that thing up at 8am the sounds from the pipes rousted us up and out.
They have a continental breakfast in a little side room. Pretty average. Cold turnovers, fake bagels and cold donut holes with packaged granola bars, etc. accompanied by the dreaded styrofoam plates, cups, etc..
All in all very nice,
I will be back, perhaps not in January.

  • Liked — The view from the balcony and the hotel personnel.
  • Disliked — Nothing was unlikable.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

The view out my window was indeed lovely. I could see the sun rise over the lake, people walking by on the lakewalk, and a distant view of the lift bridge. However, the room is arranged in such a way that the only way to enjoy the view is to either sit on one corner of the bed or stand at the window. It seems that more attention to room arrangement could have made it better- put the seating area by the window.

The room was smallish, but adequate. The mattress was comfortable, but the sheets were scratchy. The TV was good, the free wireless internet was very helpful, and the complementary toiletries were fine. They also provided a lot of towels. You need to call the desk to get a bucket of ice which is a bit strange and leaves you feeling odd giving a tip (or not) for a service you'd probably rather do yourself.

If you are going to stay at the Fitger's, it would be useful to know the parking situation in advance. They have "free" valet parking in front. There is also a small surface lot to the east of the building. Otherwise, you can park in the ramp to the west of the building, but you will need to walk with your luggage through the maze of the Fitger's complex to find the lobby.

The complementary breakfast is fine. Nothing spectacular, but better than average. Don't waste your money at Bennett's (the hotel in the lower level); the food is very disappointing.

Overall, Fitger's is nice enough. I just expected more for the price.

  • Liked — lakeside view
  • Disliked — nothing special at the hotel, high price
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable rooms. Impressively high ceilings on the rooms (at least on the fourth floor). Great view of Lake Superior.

Sunday Brunch at Bennett's on the Lake (one of the main restaurants in the Fitger's complex) was disappointing, so it might take some more hunting to find good food.

Did I mention how friendly and helpful the staff was?

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Id
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

Duluth was one of our destinations on our honeymoon and we wanted a lovely hotel with ambience. When we booked the stay, their website was not up to date on what was available so had to call to book the stay. We let them know it was our honeymoon and asked for a nice room with a view in the price range that offered lake views. When we checked in we had to park over a block away and carry our luggage because the valet lot was full. Nicely decorated however needs updating, you can smell mold and dust. When we got to our room it was a VERY small room with a view of a parking lot/dumpster and partial view of the lake. Wallpaper from the 70's, stained carpet, very small restroom. You have to ask for an ice bucket, no fridge or microwave in the rooms. Front desk help unfamiliar with local attractions. There are many hotels on the boardwalk that are cheaper and nicer!! So, save your money and stay elsewhere!! Duluth however is lovely, friendly locals and clean along the lake walk.

  • Liked — area attractions
  • Disliked — quality, service
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#13 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.