We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable great for people and dogs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
Save Saved
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Midweek and Save
Ranked #7 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable great for people and dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Loved Fitger's! Service was outstanding. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Right by the lake-walk perfect for walking the dog. We were in a room close to the door did not hear it at all. Room was exceptional, clean, comfortable, quiet. Loved getting the paper each morning. Plenty of places near by to eat and shop. Really wouldn't need to drive anywhere. Love Lake Superior so beautiful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was awesome. We stayed on the main floor right by the far exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    54
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
93
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed overnight in a room overlooking the Lake. We had a great time at Fitgers. There were few reasons to leave the premises. There's shopping, nice restaurants and local brews all in the same building. The facility is very well maintained. The rooms are clean but a bit dated. The view if the lake is fantastic. I awoke to this orange glow in our room from one of the prettiest sunrises I've ever seen. Gear place that I recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We love to stay and he grand old hotels around the country and this was one of them. Duluth has had it difficult times but you wouldn't know it at this fine old hotel. The hotel from the staff to the rooms to the shopping and restaurants is well worth the stop.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor that overlook the lake are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The building was built in 1881 and is chock full of history. As soon as you walk in the door, everyone is very welcoming! The doormen and front desk staff are very accommodating. A half dozen or more shops are located right inside the huge campus. Also, 3 restaurants and a cool (but musty smelling) bar way down in the basement. A 5 minute walk from the Aerial Lift Bridge and all that Canal Park has to offer.

The owner, Vlasie, was even nice enough to stop and visit with my wife and I as we enjoyed a complimentary beer and appetizer tasting complete with live music down by the lake-side over look.

Continental breakfast was real simple, but hey.....plenty of great places in Duluth to eat, so it was good enough for a light breakfast. Brewpub had an excellent selection of in-house beers and the food was fine.

If you want the Radisson or a Holiday in, this ain't your place! If you want true Duluth and a great experience.....come here.

Room Tip: Lakeside room. We could see the ships come in and it was just super cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is conveniently located on the waterfront and it's a really pleasant walk to Canal Park. The hotel was full of character and the room was really comfortable. Every member of staff that we encountered was friendly and helpful and made us feel really welcome. The view over the lake is great and we enjoyed a post dinner drink at the hotel's tiki bar whilst enjoying the view - great end to the day! If we find ourselves in the area again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night on our roadtrip honeymoon. I never thought my travels would bring me to Duluth, MN, but once we found this place online we knew we had to make a stop here, and it was a good stopping point for heading out west. LOVED the lakefront view, I think for the money you are spending here (its not cheap, even for a low-end room), spend the extra and go for the Lakefront view, you wont be disappointed! Valet service was convenient, even though I am used to parking my own car. Room was very modern and nice, and the bed was so comfortable! As I said before, the absolute best part was waking up in the morning to the view over Lake Superior. We ate at the brewpub in the hotel, both food and beer were delicious! Get a taster of the Habenero beer but be careful, its spicy!! Overall a great stay, just don't expect too much for the breakfast, it was very basic.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Lakefront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I try to spend a lot of time on North Shore as mini vacations between our real ones, but usually avoid duluth as it is too touristy busy. Needed to spend a night there and chose Figter's. Day started bad at home and continued to disappoint but then checked in to Fitgers and wow it was the days highlight that made us forget about everything else. We prefer to stay at the higher end of the spectrum for lodging be it in the carribean or the north shore and I have to say I was pleasantly suprised by Fitger's. Staff was fantastic, food was very good and the location is fabulous!. I am sure that I will go out of my way to make arrangements to stay there again. I have never bothered to leave a review before, but they deserve one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#13 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.