We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay extra for the Lakefront room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Midweek and Save
Ranked #7 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pay extra for the Lakefront room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night on our roadtrip honeymoon. I never thought my travels would bring me to Duluth, MN, but once we found this place online we knew we had to make a stop here, and it was a good stopping point for heading out west. LOVED the lakefront view, I think for the money you are spending here (its not cheap, even for a low-end room), spend the extra and go for the Lakefront view, you wont be disappointed! Valet service was convenient, even though I am used to parking my own car. Room was very modern and nice, and the bed was so comfortable! As I said before, the absolute best part was waking up in the morning to the view over Lake Superior. We ate at the brewpub in the hotel, both food and beer were delicious! Get a taster of the Habenero beer but be careful, its spicy!! Overall a great stay, just don't expect too much for the breakfast, it was very basic.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Lakefront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    50
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
87
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I try to spend a lot of time on North Shore as mini vacations between our real ones, but usually avoid duluth as it is too touristy busy. Needed to spend a night there and chose Figter's. Day started bad at home and continued to disappoint but then checked in to Fitgers and wow it was the days highlight that made us forget about everything else. We prefer to stay at the higher end of the spectrum for lodging be it in the carribean or the north shore and I have to say I was pleasantly suprised by Fitger's. Staff was fantastic, food was very good and the location is fabulous!. I am sure that I will go out of my way to make arrangements to stay there again. I have never bothered to leave a review before, but they deserve one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Pros -
- large rooms - tall celings, up-to-date
- complimentary valet,
- complimentary shuttle - this was a lifesaver for us, drove us pretty much anywhere in Duluth. Reserve it ahead of time to be guaranteed, but we never had any problems using it spur of the moment.
- front desk service - very friendly and knowledgeable
- shopping - hours were a little odd. nothing was open Sunday when we left.
- location - adequate eating/shopping within walking distance of Fitgers

Cons -
- One of the valet/shuttle drivers was horribly rude and we unfortunately we were stuck with him several times.
- No ice, however, front desk will get yousome
- dark rooms
- Restaurants - Tried to eat at Mexican Lindo and couldn't even get menus, while we were there we heard others complaining about food quality so I think we got lucky. We did have a drink and one of their Queso's and it was good. Tried to get into the Brewhouse a couple of times but was always at least an hour wait. Ate breakfast at Midi - service was awful and the food was just ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Maybe it was pricey since it was tall ship weekend (we didn't know). Great location with nice shops. The building and rooms are older and historical looking. Other than not being pleased with an employee named Eric (he was rude and almost killed us on the shuttle van) everyone else was extremely helpful and we had a nice stay. Hopefully if we decide to stay at Fitger's it won't be during tall shop weekend and the room rate won't be so expensive. The brewery was really busy but it was a nice place to get a beer. The beer was good and inexpensive. We really enjoyed Midi Restaurant. Good food and great service. We will probably come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spend alot of time in Duluth with family living there and have stayed at many nice hotels but Fitger's Inn moves up to the #1 spot. We spent 4 nights there and had an excellent experience. The number one priority for me - and most of us - is a clean room and my room was sparkling as well as incredibly beautiful and comfortable. Every staff person I met, from the front desk to housekeeping was so nice and helpful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was going well. Of course another huge benefit of staying at Fitger's is the proximity to the Lakewalk and all the wonderful restaurants and shops. You can leave your car parked the whole stay if you want - everything you need is within walking distance.

So Fitger's - thank you for an excellent stay. Can't wait to return for another visit!

Oh yeah - and LOVED the Tiki Bar!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend getaway. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. This is one of our favorite places to stay in the area. Book ahead of time because rooms fill fast on the weekends. This is our 5th or 6th time staying and will return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schofield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This old school hotel does everything right. The location is great, right off the Lake Walk path. There are three restaurants on site, as well a martini bar and night club. There are also several shops on site as well. The staff is very friendly and the free valet parking is great. The rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. It is not a very large hotel, so there is not much walking to get from place to place. It is a short walk downtown from here and Canal Park is about half a mile away via the awesome Lake Walk. The views from the hotel are incredible. This is the perfect choice to stay if Duluth is your destination.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list