We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey but a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Midweek and Save
Ranked #7 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Maybe it was pricey since it was tall ship weekend (we didn't know). Great location with nice shops. The building and rooms are older and historical looking. Other than not being pleased with an employee named Eric (he was rude and almost killed us on the shuttle van) everyone else was extremely helpful and we had a nice stay. Hopefully if we decide to stay at Fitger's it won't be during tall shop weekend and the room rate won't be so expensive. The brewery was really busy but it was a nice place to get a beer. The beer was good and inexpensive. We really enjoyed Midi Restaurant. Good food and great service. We will probably come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    51
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
88
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spend alot of time in Duluth with family living there and have stayed at many nice hotels but Fitger's Inn moves up to the #1 spot. We spent 4 nights there and had an excellent experience. The number one priority for me - and most of us - is a clean room and my room was sparkling as well as incredibly beautiful and comfortable. Every staff person I met, from the front desk to housekeeping was so nice and helpful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was going well. Of course another huge benefit of staying at Fitger's is the proximity to the Lakewalk and all the wonderful restaurants and shops. You can leave your car parked the whole stay if you want - everything you need is within walking distance.

So Fitger's - thank you for an excellent stay. Can't wait to return for another visit!

Oh yeah - and LOVED the Tiki Bar!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend getaway. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. This is one of our favorite places to stay in the area. Book ahead of time because rooms fill fast on the weekends. This is our 5th or 6th time staying and will return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schofield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This old school hotel does everything right. The location is great, right off the Lake Walk path. There are three restaurants on site, as well a martini bar and night club. There are also several shops on site as well. The staff is very friendly and the free valet parking is great. The rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. It is not a very large hotel, so there is not much walking to get from place to place. It is a short walk downtown from here and Canal Park is about half a mile away via the awesome Lake Walk. The views from the hotel are incredible. This is the perfect choice to stay if Duluth is your destination.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prior lake mn
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have stayed a number of times in Duluth at other properties and this old school hotel is one of our favorites. It has character with unique room layouts. Independent of the room layout, the beds are very comfortable, prompting my wife to start looking for a replacement for our bed at home. The lobby is old dark wood and has old school finishes including an old vault door and friendly and helpful staff. The complimentary breakfast is served in a cozy room overlooking the lake and if you time it right you can catch the sunrise over the lake. Wi-Fi was adequate for my needs.

The hotel is attached to a complex containing Fitgers brew house (a conveniently short stumble back to your room at the end of the night) and a number of other shops and restaurant options. If you want even more options, you can pick up the outdoor lake walk behind the hotel which will take you to Canal Park. More of a summer thing, a car would be better in the winter.

There is no pool so that might be a disappointment if you have kids but on the good side you won't be having to compete for space with kids teams at the continental breakfast or in the hallways/elevators.

Room Tip: If available and you don't mind spending a little more, spring for a lakeside room so you can ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Todd,

Thank you very much for your review of Fitger's Inn. We really do appreciate you staying with us and are very glad you enjoyed your stay.

I do want to let you know that we have a program in with Serta bed company where you can have a "Fitger's" bed delivered directly to your residence.

If you would like more information about this, or just information on our beds in general, feel free to contact me at: fitgers@fitgers.com

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cook, MN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Almost all rooms have a unique configuration in this boutique (60+ rooms) hotel. High ceilings and updating but keeping the historic look make it a great choice for Duluth. It is attached to a shopping/dining complex offering a number of eating choices including a brew pub and fine dining (The Midi) option.

My choice for Duluth. It is on the lakefront walk and about 1/2 mile from Canal Park.

Room Tip: Ask for lake front or if you want a deck it would be 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasota, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I love to stay here! The rooms are so elegantly decorated, the staff is very friendly, and every room is different. The best part? The comfort of the beds!!! The bed are the best 'hotel' beds we have every slept on, borderline better than our own bed at home. This is our first choice when we need to stay in Duluth. We also love that we are so close to the brew house. :-)

Room Tip: Spend the extra and stay lakeside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list