We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
Save
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I love to stay here! The rooms are so elegantly decorated, the staff is very friendly, and every room is different. The best part? The comfort of the beds!!! The bed are the best 'hotel' beds we have every slept on, borderline better than our own bed at home. This is our first choice when we need to stay in Duluth. We also love that we are so close to the brew house. :-)

Room Tip: Spend the extra and stay lakeside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    61
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
116
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, MN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just returned from our annual Duluth, Mn. Fitger's Inn visit. If you combine work stay's (1978-90), plus approximately 20 year's of recreational vacation "stays", I think we would agree there must be a reason for the continuing interest.

We enjoyed a very still and quiet weather scene for the 3 days, with minimal wind or weather distractions. The staff was on "top of their game" as always and the welcome "back or enjoy your visit" comments were prevalent. There are multiple food establishments within the enclosed mall area, plus you can sit out on the lake side, and take it all in. Fitger's is located on the primary route to the north shore drive and has a large enclosed parking area, with "no charge" for hotel residents.

Put it on your "wish list." It will be worth the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a "lake facing" room. You will have a great view of ship traffic, recreational peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our party of 7 stayed in two lake-side rooms in Fitger's and enjoyed watching the boats, a sailboat regatta, lots of foot traffic on the lake path below and the passenger train that comes through once a day. We walked to an English Pub for dinner, enjoyed ice cream next door before getting caught in the rain. Fitger's is a great place to stay, close to downtown walking. The rooms are clean, the kids had no problem sleeping on the hide-a-bed and roll-away in the room, there was so much space in the rooms. The place was so quiet and the staff was friendly. Continental breakfast was a bonus - grab a bite while watching the sun rise over the lake.

Room Tip: Don't forget to specify city-side or lake-side room. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel was beautiful. Our rooms were gorgeous and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The views were amazing! The restaurants and stores were very good. They definitely spoil their customers and set the expectations high for other hotels. We loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Besides the historic and beautiful location of this inn, the staff were wonderful. All of the front desk staff was friendly, personal and helpful. After getting home and realizing I left behind a new phone charger, one phone call solved it and they promptly mailed it back to me.
I really appreciated the setting of the place and the great staff.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013. We were in a lake view room in the corner on the 4th floor. 3 windows with a view of Lake Superior, which was beautiful. The room is large and the bathroom is very good, though the tub drain was slow. The room was clean, but the carpet was beat up and needs replacement , and one of the attractive side chairs was stained. Too bad, because otherwise this was one of the nicest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. The hallways are very wide and attractive. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I agree that the continental breakfast was minimal....could have used some hard boiled eggs and granola or other cereal. The bed in this room is in an elevated part of the room, up 2 stairs, and you wake up looking out over Lake Superior...brilliant. The Lake walk is right out the back of the hotel, and we walked both directions, toward the Rose Garden and toward the aerial bridge, with is unattractive from a distance but very cool to see up close, as they raise it for boats. A bit expensive, $216 with the AAA discount, but really, this was a memorable room, and I recommend the hotel strongly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is the third time staying at Fitger's. A historic property with hugely vaulted ceilings and period decor. Being right on Lake Superior's coast and lake walk, you can take in an amazing stroll to the City Center right along the lake front. If you're just needing r & r, Fitger's offer's amazing dining, shopping, spa-ing on site as well. It's location is perfect. The friendly staff is amazingly accommodating. It's become an annual stop on our way to the boundary waters, and comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Although a lake view is preferred, city side are lovely. Take advantage of the pillow "menu&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#14 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.