We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
Fitger's Inn
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very classy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff is excellent. Accommodations are wonderful. Very unique ambience. The old brewery has been converted into a nice hotel. Would stay there again in a heart beat. Many great attractions within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: It is expensive but well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Fitger's Inn last week and loved the place. I strolled through all of the great shops connected to the hotel. They are really nice including a high end wine and liquor store, a great outdoor clothing store, several restaurants and bars. I also walked the shore line path to town. It was a great brisk walk. You can stay at the big chains any time. I suggest that when in Duluth, give this place a try. Ask for an upgrade to a lakeside room or a suite.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room and an upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RomoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms are large and inviting. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet. Love to visit the shops next to the hotel. The restaurants are good as well. This hotel is our first choice for a hotel in Duluth.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the lake side (because of the view), but the street side rooms are also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northshorelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Came for the brewhouse but ended up really enjoying the hotel! One of the more unique hotels ive ever stayed at. The building is an old factory that was tastefully renovated into a hotel and a brewery. Theres a very elegant and historic feel to the hotel and the rooms. Unfortunately was only there for a single night but if I return to Duluth I will definitely stay there again! Ask for a room facing the lake as the waterfront views are awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a very unique and pleasant hotel situated in an old brewery building with an onsite brewpub and shops located in the overall expanse of the historic structure. The location on the lakefront is very picturesque, not too far from downtown, and it is very fun and convenient to walk around directly from the hotel. The parking can be a bit of a hassle as parking spaces are limited and the drive in front of the hotel is very crowded, making luggage drop off and checking in a bit challenging but the valet parking is a great help. Our corner executive room was gigantic and very well appointed. We loved the pillow menu and the luxury linens and we both slept extremely well - this place is built like a fortress and noise is not a problem. The overall feel is classical and elegant and and the staff is very friendly. We also love that this hotel is dog friendly. The complimentary continental breakfast is basic but will suffice for a quick bite with your cup of coffee. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and this will be our number one choice when returning to Duluth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights to sightsee and run in the Fitger's Harvest Run 5K. We thoroughly enjoyed the attention to detail...from the daily newspaper delivered in a bag hung on the door, to the hotel lobby built in the bank of the former brewery. Enjoyed the many shops in the complex, and appreciated the free parking. One could scarcely tell that the hotel has been here only about 30 years. Definitely would stay here again when visiting Duluth!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Old brewery turned into hotel. Which I love the idea of repurposing a factory. So glad thay saved the building. Lobby was very pretty. Rooms were...a little dated. I just actually had imagined a bit more brick and old factory style mixed with new style. But room decor is typical hotel flavor...is even a little "fancier" than I guessed it would be. Not bad...just dated. Everything was clean and staff was helpful. There are three restaurants onsite as well as quite a few stores. A great location in Duluth. Not terribly far from the Aerial Lift Bridge and all the restaurants and shopping near that bridge. Very short walking distance to Pickwicks Bar and Restaurant.
The Midi Restaurant was good but not overly impressed with our meals. The staff was very helpful and nice and Midi and the restaurant has a nice view of the lake.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms have a nice view. City side might be a little bigger depending on location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monarch8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored to faithfully maintain the architectural integrity of the early 1900's and gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing