We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Midweek and Save
Ranked #7 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Fairfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very classy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff is excellent. Accommodations are wonderful. Very unique ambience. The old brewery has been converted into a nice hotel. Would stay there again in a heart beat. Many great attractions within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: It is expensive but well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    49
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
86
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Fitger's Inn last week and loved the place. I strolled through all of the great shops connected to the hotel. They are really nice including a high end wine and liquor store, a great outdoor clothing store, several restaurants and bars. I also walked the shore line path to town. It was a great brisk walk. You can stay at the big chains any time. I suggest that when in Duluth, give this place a try. Ask for an upgrade to a lakeside room or a suite.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room and an upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms are large and inviting. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet. Love to visit the shops next to the hotel. The restaurants are good as well. This hotel is our first choice for a hotel in Duluth.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the lake side (because of the view), but the street side rooms are also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Came for the brewhouse but ended up really enjoying the hotel! One of the more unique hotels ive ever stayed at. The building is an old factory that was tastefully renovated into a hotel and a brewery. Theres a very elegant and historic feel to the hotel and the rooms. Unfortunately was only there for a single night but if I return to Duluth I will definitely stay there again! Ask for a room facing the lake as the waterfront views are awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a very unique and pleasant hotel situated in an old brewery building with an onsite brewpub and shops located in the overall expanse of the historic structure. The location on the lakefront is very picturesque, not too far from downtown, and it is very fun and convenient to walk around directly from the hotel. The parking can be a bit of a hassle as parking spaces are limited and the drive in front of the hotel is very crowded, making luggage drop off and checking in a bit challenging but the valet parking is a great help. Our corner executive room was gigantic and very well appointed. We loved the pillow menu and the luxury linens and we both slept extremely well - this place is built like a fortress and noise is not a problem. The overall feel is classical and elegant and and the staff is very friendly. We also love that this hotel is dog friendly. The complimentary continental breakfast is basic but will suffice for a quick bite with your cup of coffee. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and this will be our number one choice when returning to Duluth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights to sightsee and run in the Fitger's Harvest Run 5K. We thoroughly enjoyed the attention to detail...from the daily newspaper delivered in a bag hung on the door, to the hotel lobby built in the bank of the former brewery. Enjoyed the many shops in the complex, and appreciated the free parking. One could scarcely tell that the hotel has been here only about 30 years. Definitely would stay here again when visiting Duluth!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Old brewery turned into hotel. Which I love the idea of repurposing a factory. So glad thay saved the building. Lobby was very pretty. Rooms were...a little dated. I just actually had imagined a bit more brick and old factory style mixed with new style. But room decor is typical hotel flavor...is even a little "fancier" than I guessed it would be. Not bad...just dated. Everything was clean and staff was helpful. There are three restaurants onsite as well as quite a few stores. A great location in Duluth. Not terribly far from the Aerial Lift Bridge and all the restaurants and shopping near that bridge. Very short walking distance to Pickwicks Bar and Restaurant.
The Midi Restaurant was good but not overly impressed with our meals. The staff was very helpful and nice and Midi and the restaurant has a nice view of the lake.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms have a nice view. City side might be a little bigger depending on location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list