We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
Fitger's Inn
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Came for the brewhouse but ended up really enjoying the hotel! One of the more unique hotels ive ever stayed at. The building is an old factory that was tastefully renovated into a hotel and a brewery. Theres a very elegant and historic feel to the hotel and the rooms. Unfortunately was only there for a single night but if I return to Duluth I will definitely stay there again! Ask for a room facing the lake as the waterfront views are awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    69
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
128
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a very unique and pleasant hotel situated in an old brewery building with an onsite brewpub and shops located in the overall expanse of the historic structure. The location on the lakefront is very picturesque, not too far from downtown, and it is very fun and convenient to walk around directly from the hotel. The parking can be a bit of a hassle as parking spaces are limited and the drive in front of the hotel is very crowded, making luggage drop off and checking in a bit challenging but the valet parking is a great help. Our corner executive room was gigantic and very well appointed. We loved the pillow menu and the luxury linens and we both slept extremely well - this place is built like a fortress and noise is not a problem. The overall feel is classical and elegant and and the staff is very friendly. We also love that this hotel is dog friendly. The complimentary continental breakfast is basic but will suffice for a quick bite with your cup of coffee. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and this will be our number one choice when returning to Duluth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights to sightsee and run in the Fitger's Harvest Run 5K. We thoroughly enjoyed the attention to detail...from the daily newspaper delivered in a bag hung on the door, to the hotel lobby built in the bank of the former brewery. Enjoyed the many shops in the complex, and appreciated the free parking. One could scarcely tell that the hotel has been here only about 30 years. Definitely would stay here again when visiting Duluth!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Old brewery turned into hotel. Which I love the idea of repurposing a factory. So glad thay saved the building. Lobby was very pretty. Rooms were...a little dated. I just actually had imagined a bit more brick and old factory style mixed with new style. But room decor is typical hotel flavor...is even a little "fancier" than I guessed it would be. Not bad...just dated. Everything was clean and staff was helpful. There are three restaurants onsite as well as quite a few stores. A great location in Duluth. Not terribly far from the Aerial Lift Bridge and all the restaurants and shopping near that bridge. Very short walking distance to Pickwicks Bar and Restaurant.
The Midi Restaurant was good but not overly impressed with our meals. The staff was very helpful and nice and Midi and the restaurant has a nice view of the lake.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms have a nice view. City side might be a little bigger depending on location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
176 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our first time to Duluth and first view of a Great Lake, and I wanted us to have an above-average experience. We passed the street entrance eventhough my wife was looking hard. I'm not sure what I expected, but I was not disappointed.... until the dog began barking in the room next to our room. The front desk assured me they would take care of it, and they did. (You may want to request a room away from the pet-rooms.) We had a corner lakeview room and everything was very nice after the dog was quieted. Fortunately, I parked our SUV near our room - I do not allow a valet to drive it. TIP: Room service must be called to deliver ice to your room.

Room Tip: Ice must be requested through room service. Some rooms are pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrett, mn
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

we have stayed here twice. the first time we had a lake view but a basic room. this last time we splurged on a lakeview suite. the suite had a balcony which was nice, and the room was quite large with a hot tub and small wet bar area. but the overall layout of the room was awkward. sort of long and narrow. and although we liked the balcony, there was no privacy. we had people right next to us on both sides. the regular room had more character and a better view of the lift bridge. all in all very comfortable but expensive. i agree with other comments about the parking. but we tended to wait for a good spot to open and park ourselves. i also want to mention we were in town for a wedding, and the complimentary shuttle was perfect! we didn't have to wait at all for pick up or drop off.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed one night on ground floor with beautiful view. Excellent room, lovely linen and toiletries. Check in and out super quick and staff so pleasant. Only negative was the valet parking, took a very long time to come as the porter Durban seemed to be on another planet. Continental breakfast was good, shopping complex within the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.7 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.