We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
Save
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Midweek and Save
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Saint Francis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is top notch! I love the old brick walls inside, the rich looking carpet, the bell hops and the grand piano in the main foyer. Everything is clean, the service is amazing and you have all the comforts of home right in your hotel room! The local paper is delivered right to your bedroom door in the morning. I started coming here as a child with my parents, and now I am continuing that with my own family. It is a popular place for obvious reasons and hard to find a room unless you plan well in advance. Fitger's Brewery is right downstairs and the perfect way to end an evening. There is also the Midi Restaurant which I like to visit in the morning and watch the ships out on the lake while I drink my coffee. There is also a mini mall attached to the hotel with Adeva spa just downstairs.

Room Tip: The lakeview rooms are worth the extra money. You have a wonderful view and you don't have the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    59
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
108
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel can charge what they want purely for the amazing location. The rooms are sub-par and WAY overpriced. I also had friends staying in the "penthouse suite" upstairs which was extremely non-impressive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circle Pines, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Fitgers In Aug 2012. Quite the classy place for an old hotel. It was nice to have the shops and restaurants in the same building. Its a bit more spendy, but you get what you pay for, Windows that open. Actual drinking glasses (not plastic) and ceramic coffee mugs. Thick towels. Real ice bucket (you request ice from the front desk). Valet parking was a nice convenience. The Pickwick Restaurant is right next door (another Duluth landmark). A nice chance to stay in a different location than Canal Park. There is a trolley that you can catch if you want to get to other places in downtown (as well as Canal Park). The Lakewalk is right there for the ambitious walkers, too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at Fitger's for a quick get-away! Tons of character, great staff, comfortable beds, great location...within walking distance to Canal Park and downtown Duluth. Many great shops in the complex. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here for a night while on business in Duluth. I would recommend it highly. The brewery downstairs is also excellent. The room I had was very large although it was on the road side, not the lake side. Next time, I'll spring for the lake view room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed two nights recently in a king room with a lake view. Since this is a renovated old hotel, the windows are smaller than I'd like, as are the rooms and bathrooms. But it's a great location and our room had lovely furnishings, curtains, etc. The bed was especially comfortable. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had an opportunity to spend a couple of days in Duluth recently and decided to stay at Fitger's. I am so glad we did. Upon arrival, we immediately felt at home. The staff are professional, friendly and very helpful. We stayed in a standard room, king bed, lake view. Although the room was somewhat small it was tastefully decorated, and the bed was very comfortable. Also, it was QUIET - no noise to be heard from outside our walls. There isn't a swimming pool, which did not matter to us, but it might if you are traveling with children who want that amenity. We had our bikes with us and were able to get on the bike path right outside the hotel and rode for miles, also enjoyed long walks. There are lots of areas to sit outside and watch the freighters on Lake Superior, or just enjoy the beauty of the lake. We enjoyed our stay at Fitgers and will definitely return - this time for a longer visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
#14 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.