We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Duluth, plus pet friendly!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
Save
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Midweek and Save
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Owatonna, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best in Duluth, plus pet friendly!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Fitger's Inn is by far our favorite place to stay when in Duluth. We have stayed several times and are never disappointed with our accommodations. The rooms are very clean, roomy, comfortable and each one has its own charm. Feels just like home! Great views from the lakeside rooms, close to downtown, walking path right out the back door, great shopping, great restaurants and pet friendly. Our dog loves it there! We were just there celebrating my birthday and we had another wonderful time. Everyone there does an excellent job of making you feel welcome. We highly recommend this beautiful, historic hotel when visiting Duluth for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    60
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
108
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia Heights
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My wife and I have an annual tradition of celebrating our wedding anniversary by traveling to Duluth and staying at Fitger's Inn. I can't remember the first time that we stayed at Fitger's Inn, but I do know that after our first visit we decided that a two to three day stay at Fitger's would be a great way to celebrate the best day of our life. Over the years we have made it a point to try to stay in the same room, and I am happy to say that the staff at Fitger's Inn have always made it possible for this to happen. We have always been treated as if we were important, and we have never been disappointed with the service that we have received from each and every member of the staff who do their utmost to make sure that all of our needs are met. We are looking forward to returning to Fitger's Inn for many years to come.

Room Tip: I would like to add a tip about our favorite room, but I am reluctant to do so out of concern that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Fitger's Inn is situated right near downtown Duluth, right on Lake Superior. You can pretty much walk everywhere from here. You don't even have to go outside if you don't want to. Fitger's Brewhouse is located in the same building and is one of our favorite brew-pubs around. The staff is great and very helpful. We usually book ahead for our annual winter trip and you get a very nice discount when you pay ahead, which makes it cheaper than most hotels in downtown Duluth.

Room Tip: Skip the hotel breakfast and go to Chester Creek Cafe/At Sara's Table. It is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

We had found this hotel online and arrived with the intent of staying in the penthouse for the night but found out they only had four pet friendly rooms and the penthouse was not one of them. The lady working the front desk, Heidi, was extremely helpful though. She showed me the two available pet friendly suites and even gave me the best possible price to make up for not being able to allow us to stay in one of the penthouses with the dog. The suite we ended up staying in was very roomy, comfortable, clean, and amazingly well decorated. Heidi even very willingly watched our dog for us while we went to the in-house resteraunt for dinner!
Our stay here was EXCELLENT at the very least!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a room overlooking Lake Superior. We saw some of the ships coming and going (they are listed in the local paper that you get every day). It was fantastic. It was a little cold--(November in Duluth!) but we managed to take a few walks along the lakefront path. We really enjoyed walking to an Italian restaurant (if you are facing the Fitger's it is one block to your left-don't remember the name). We had a really great pizza and Italian pasta. Also bought a piece of pottery at the store by the restaurant. The owners are from Italy and the pottery was really priced well. If we go back to Duluth, we will be back at the Fitger's.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking Lake Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great historic hotel on the water in Duluth. Many shops co-located with the hotel, as well as restaurants and a brew pub.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, NJ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

When we arrived the front desk clerk upgraded us to a room with a spectacular view of Lake Superior and we were rewarded the next morning with a brilliant sunrise. Aside from the panorama of the lake and Canal Park, we enjoyed the coziness of the room and the general ambience of the building, the free parking and the helpful and friendly service at the front desk.

Dinner at the brew pub was fun and as if all this wasn't enough, breakfast at the Midi restaurant downstairs overlooking the lake was superb.

We don't know when we'll be back to Duluth but we will definitely stay at Fitger's.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#14 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.