We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel right on the Lake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
Save
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Midweek and Save
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel right on the Lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Fitger's Inn is situated right near downtown Duluth, right on Lake Superior. You can pretty much walk everywhere from here. You don't even have to go outside if you don't want to. Fitger's Brewhouse is located in the same building and is one of our favorite brew-pubs around. The staff is great and very helpful. We usually book ahead for our annual winter trip and you get a very nice discount when you pay ahead, which makes it cheaper than most hotels in downtown Duluth.

Room Tip: Skip the hotel breakfast and go to Chester Creek Cafe/At Sara's Table. It is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    59
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
108
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

We had found this hotel online and arrived with the intent of staying in the penthouse for the night but found out they only had four pet friendly rooms and the penthouse was not one of them. The lady working the front desk, Heidi, was extremely helpful though. She showed me the two available pet friendly suites and even gave me the best possible price to make up for not being able to allow us to stay in one of the penthouses with the dog. The suite we ended up staying in was very roomy, comfortable, clean, and amazingly well decorated. Heidi even very willingly watched our dog for us while we went to the in-house resteraunt for dinner!
Our stay here was EXCELLENT at the very least!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a room overlooking Lake Superior. We saw some of the ships coming and going (they are listed in the local paper that you get every day). It was fantastic. It was a little cold--(November in Duluth!) but we managed to take a few walks along the lakefront path. We really enjoyed walking to an Italian restaurant (if you are facing the Fitger's it is one block to your left-don't remember the name). We had a really great pizza and Italian pasta. Also bought a piece of pottery at the store by the restaurant. The owners are from Italy and the pottery was really priced well. If we go back to Duluth, we will be back at the Fitger's.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking Lake Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great historic hotel on the water in Duluth. Many shops co-located with the hotel, as well as restaurants and a brew pub.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, NJ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

When we arrived the front desk clerk upgraded us to a room with a spectacular view of Lake Superior and we were rewarded the next morning with a brilliant sunrise. Aside from the panorama of the lake and Canal Park, we enjoyed the coziness of the room and the general ambience of the building, the free parking and the helpful and friendly service at the front desk.

Dinner at the brew pub was fun and as if all this wasn't enough, breakfast at the Midi restaurant downstairs overlooking the lake was superb.

We don't know when we'll be back to Duluth but we will definitely stay at Fitger's.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Fitger's has been a favorite of ours for years. Location, dining options, clean & comfortable rooms for sure, plus the place has some charm and character that you will not find at the regular chains. Staff is top-notch, and pay attention to the details. I am so glad we strayed from the brand name spots and gave it a try many years ago.

Room Tip: Lake view if you can get it, but usually costs more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband travels to Duluth several times a year. He has always stays at the Fitger's Inn (even though we are Hilton Honors Diamond members). I was fortunate to travel with him in July to Duluth and was excited about being able to finally stay at this hotel. It was amazing! You don't feel like your in a hotel (maybe more like in someone's guest suite). I believe all the rooms are different. The shops and resturants in the place are fun. The hotel sits on the lake front and has a walkway that runs all the way to an area of more shops and resturants. The hotel van will take anywhere in Duluth as well as pick up! If you're in Duluth, you have to stay at the Fitgers Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#14 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.