We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and different! Nice place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitger's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fitger's Inn
Save
You added Fitger's Inn to your Saves list
600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Midweek and Save
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Historic and different! Nice place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband travels to Duluth several times a year. He has always stays at the Fitger's Inn (even though we are Hilton Honors Diamond members). I was fortunate to travel with him in July to Duluth and was excited about being able to finally stay at this hotel. It was amazing! You don't feel like your in a hotel (maybe more like in someone's guest suite). I believe all the rooms are different. The shops and resturants in the place are fun. The hotel sits on the lake front and has a walkway that runs all the way to an area of more shops and resturants. The hotel van will take anywhere in Duluth as well as pick up! If you're in Duluth, you have to stay at the Fitgers Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    59
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
106
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

For a first time visitor to Duluth, Fitger's offers virtually everything a tourist is seeking from a historic setting on the area's chief attraction to gift shops and a choice of superb eating and drinking spots. The service was flawless and friendly. There is an adjoining shore front board walk that adds to the experience.

Room Tip: A room on the shore side of the hotel adds to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circleville,Oh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Fitger's Inn is our regular stop when traveling through Duluth. The staff treats you like family. I don't think we've ever had any requests that have not been immediately and cheerfully fulfilled. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms are gorgeous, both lakeside and streetside. The mattresses and pillows(from their pillow menu) are such that we and other family members have purchased them for our own homes. We average about 7-10 stays over the course of the year and it has truly become a 'home away from home.'

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, staff will help you pick out room to fit your needs when you make reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Beautiful rooms, quiet, amazing views-either lake or city side. The best place to stay in Duluth!

Room Tip: The city side rooms are great-you can see the lights at night, and are usually priced lower than lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have stayed here before and it was perfect, but this time the room was not as clean and there was a smell. The vent in the bathroom was so plugged with dirt and dust. The corners of the room were not vacuumed. We were so tired because it was late getting in, we didn't tell the front desk until the morning. The staff is very helpful and kind. We would stay again, but alert a problem right away if there was one.

Room Tip: Ask what their best rate would be when you call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because of its charm but probably would not go back because the bed was very uncomfortable! Otherwise the service was first class and the hotel was at a great location and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I recently stayed at Fitger's Inn in Duluth, Minnesota. It was wonderful. The room was very clean, elegant and spacious. The beds are comfortable, there's a complimentary newspaper hanging on the door each morning and they use Aveda toiletries. I recommend asking specifically for the rooms on the side facing the lake with high ceilings - the view is inspiring.

The only negative aspect of our stay was the room service. Once the waitress complained when we asked for a glass of water, which you have to ask for specifically, another time they forgot a glass, and in general the food is not very good at all. The duck was overcooked, the potatoes were dry, and the mushroom ravioli was drowing in olive oil with an overpowering amount of fresh garlic. I would suggest eating some other place while you stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Address: 600 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#13 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, in Duluth, Minnesota, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitger's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.