We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Teenagers”
Review of Canal Park

Duluth, MN
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 45 attractions in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Parks, Specialty Museums
Activities: Dining
Traveler Description: One on Minnesota’s gems is the harbor city of Duluth on Great Lake Superior. At only three hours away from the Twin Cities, you can pack a bag to go... more »
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    83
    16
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Canal Park
See the most recent reviews
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great for Teenagers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Safe, easy to walk around and we loved all the antique shops. Lots of cool restaurants, and if you stay right in Canal park, it makes it all the better!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Canal Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Canal gets you right next to our inland ocean. Ships from all over the world pass under the Aerial LIft Bridge and the Marine Museum there is very informative and a great place to find out about boat traffic. The area has new hotels fronting the lake while one block inland are a treasure trove of small shops and fine restaurants.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Own Back Yard!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I live in Duluth. Sometimes we can take for granted the things to which we have easy access. The Canal Park area in Duluth is a great place to walk around and do a little shopping, but because I live here, I know the prices of things are inflated to capture the tourist impulse buying. With that said, I still may make an occasional purchase in any number of the fine shops one may find there. It is a fun place to go. If you enjoy eating, there are a number of fine places in this area of town and for the most part, their prices are not inflated.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

You can get to the lake, walk down the canal where the ocean going vessels come and go, find places to eat, see the Arial Lift Bridge, visit the Marine Museum. Candy store, did I mention great places to eat? Antique store

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lots to see and good restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Canal Park has a lot of cute little "tourist" shops, as well as good restaurants to eat at. There are a handful of hotels along the water (would highly recommend the Inn on Lake Superior). In addition to shopping and eating, there are some fun family activities like renting a bike for four and riding along Lake Superior, playing some mini golf, wall climbing, or playing some arcade games at Adventure Zone. Standing at the end of Canal Park, you are able to watch the big ships come in and out of port, while watching the lift bridge go up and down. There is also the Great Lakes Aquarium that is a family fun activity. Canal Park is a must if you are in Duluth!
From November 23rd thru December 28th, Bentleyville is a "Tour of Lights" that is set up next to the Great Lakes Aquarium. This is a great, unbelievable display of Christmas lights.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.