We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many options, close!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park

Canal Park
Duluth, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 81 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch seagulls soaring while you stroll around this popular spot, part of the revived Duluth waterfront. Nearby are a sculpture garden, jazz clubs, coffee shops, motels and restaurants. If you like ships, stand on the pier and watch huge boats and ships, some from around the world, come and go daily.
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Many options, close!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our family stays on Canal Park when we go to Duluth because of the beautiful views and because there are so many food and drink options within walking distance.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    137
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice area to spend some time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Plenty of old things to look at and great view of Lake Superior. Watch gigantic ships come through , sit back and listen to the waves and relax. Right by the Lift Bridge.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
“Beautiful area, where we should have stayed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Shopping, eating, and lakeside veiws were great. Went on the ferry boat ride which was neat but not for the kids. It was too long for them.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun place to walk around...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a fun place to walk around, particularly in the summer, but winter is ok too. There are some fun shops-Duluth Pack and some yummy candy stores. The restaurants are average however and better ones can be found off the beaten path. In the summer it is fun to watch the big ships come in to port, buy popcorn from the popcorn wagons and walk along the boardwalk! Definately a great place for people of all ages.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a great area to visit when at Duluth. The second time we stayed in Duluth we opted to stay at Canal Park itself and were very pleased with our decision to do so. From our hotel we were able to walk around the entire canal, access all the restaurants and shops (and didn't have to worry about parking... which we noticed is a big issue when it gets busy).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.