We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Duluth - a must see...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aerial Lift Bridge

Aerial Lift Bridge
Lake Avenue, Duluth, MN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 39 Attractions in Duluth
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Activities: Inline skating
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally constructed in 1905 as an aerial lift, this unusual elevator bridge is 386 feet long and spans the canal entrance to Duluth Harbor.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“When in Duluth - a must see...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I grew up about 70 miles from Duluth. As a kid if we went to Duluth we would frequently visit. I now live 4 hours away - but still enjoy stopping and seeing it. It's fun to see it raised when a ship has to go through. Very pretty at night the way they illuminate it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    90
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Impressive bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had the chance to see a huge cargo ship pass under the bridge and the whole bridge lift up. It was very impressive and cool to see. The area around the bridge is very touristy and there are a lot of souvenir shops so there is something for everyone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Got Lucky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We got lucky on our trip and had the chance to see the lift bridge in action. It was very cool, and fun to hear the horns of the ship and the bridge tooting at each other. Kids loved this.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Duluth Logo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nothing epitomizes Duluth better than the Aerial Lift Bridge. No matter where you live you acknowledge this to be the symbol of Duluth, Minnesota. Whether viewed in the daytime, in inclement weather or lit up at night the bridge represents the stability of Duluth and its ability to persevere in whatever environmental condition could exist at the tip of the Greatest Lake Superior.
Whether you walk across the bridge or ride across in a car listening to the tires humming over the grates, the thrill is of this magnificent structure. Even die-hard Park Pointers who must endure getting "bridged" have to reluctantly acknowledge its majesty and magnificence.

No symbol could be more Duluth.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Going up!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

It is amazing how many people the bridge attracts. I drove over the bridge several times and took many pictures. As soon as we arrived at the bridge for the first time the alarm sounded and the bridge went up and a large boat when through. It is very much worth the trip to Canal Park.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aerial Lift Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Aerial Lift Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aerial Lift Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.