We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Highlight of My Summer Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aerial Lift Bridge

Aerial Lift Bridge
Lake Avenue, Duluth, MN
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 45 attractions in Duluth
Type: Bridges
Activities: Inline skating
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Originally constructed in 1905 as an aerial lift, this unusual elevator bridge is 386 feet long and spans the canal entrance to Duluth Harbor.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Highlight of My Summer Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family of three went on a lengthy summer road trip through Canada and the US in 2012, and this was definitely the highlight. You could spend hours in Canal Park just looking out at the gorgeous lake and bridge. I highly recommend the Lakewalk, as it is a great stroll along the beach and offers several different outstanding vantage points of the bridge. The bridge is particularly beautiful at sunset, and definitely do the Lakewalk at this time if you can. I also recommend crossing the bridge and spending some time on Park Point Beach, where the sand is amazingly soft and you also have a nice view of the bridge. Also, if you can get a hotel in Canal Park, you should definitely get a room with a Bridge view, as it is a truly special experience to sit in your room and watch huge ships pass under the bridge onto Lake Superior.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    65
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A very cool bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is one of Duluth's main attractions. You can see it for miles! It's a very attractive lift bridge that straddles the main channel into Duluth Harbour. It's a great place to watch the grain boats, and it's way cool when it lifts! The peninsula that it connects to is worth a look. A lot of pretty cottages right by the shore, just a few minutes away from downtown!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A piece of Lake Superior history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Fun to watch the ships go under the bridge. Great to drive accross the bridge and check out the the beautiful homes and beaches and picnic areas.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
“Duluth trip-summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have a group of 4 traveling to Duluth from Kansas City this summer. June/July. We are hitting up the Mall of America for probably one day and then 4 or 5 days in Duluth. We are interested in the aerial bridge, fishing and sight seeing. We might camp part of the time. Any ideas for an itenerary? I am so excited about this trip. I have never traveled anywhere north!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sweet bridge, especially when it rises to let ships through!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I got to see a huge ship go through the bridge....it lifts super high and boy does it get loud! Still nice bridge to walk over and look at , but the big ticket is when ships come by! Plenty restaurants near by and walking paths and vintage pieces to view.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aerial Lift Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Aerial Lift Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aerial Lift Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Aerial Lift Bridge to your Saves list