We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands on train museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Superior Railroad Museum

Lake Superior Railroad Museum
506 West Michigan Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 47 attractions in Duluth
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hands on train museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The train museum was extremely clean and had a lot of hands on activities. You could get on many of the trains. The restored dining car was very beautiful, especially the stained class and beautiful wood. We also visited the historical society, which wasn't too exciting. Parking was very reasonable, but I thought the cost of the museums was a little high. The cashier did ask about AARP and AAA, and we got a discount on the admission.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    29
    17
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This museum is part of a huge complex of little museums. We were confused at first as to what was going on...I don't think the signage or brochure info prepares you for this very well. Within "The Depot", there is a playhouse, art gallery, MN Veterans Museum, MN Forestry Museum, an Immigrant Waiting room, a couple other small things, a gift shop and the Railroad Museums. The Railroad Museum is downstairs. There are little store fronts set up with a good sized variety of antique goods in the windows...this sparked some conversation/education with my kids. A couple of the stores are open...the candy shop and the movie theatre, maybe the general store also, as a gift shop. The trains also start in this same room. Phenomenal. Several of the cars/engines can be climbed on or walked through. I wished there was a little more explaination as to the technological advances that made some things obsolete, making way of the new and improved. Regardless it was a great display! My kids loved it and we all learned something. There were more cars on the tracks outside...most of those could not be gone through, but it didn't really matter, since there was still plenty to see. One car was set up like a mini museum with a short film playing, and a tribute to James J Hill. Worth the timely read...very interesting!!! Over-all I'd highly recommend this for any age. We spent about 90 minutes with the trains. I would suggest leaving some time for the other displays within the depot also. The Immigrant Waiting Room was so interesting. Another short film was playing there and I regret not being able to view the entire thing...very interesting! The Vet tribute & Foresty Museum were great also. Each display was small, probably about 20 minutes worth of info (lots of pictures & reading...no hands-on for the littles), but so worth the time!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bummed at the price of this attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We took a train ride so we were really excited to check out the museum afterwards, but quickly found out its an additional cost so we didn't do it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Free fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great old artifacts of that bygone age. Great old firetrucks, pre-computer data center, and an old jail cell to lock up Dad.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Visit if you love trains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I give this place a very good BUT the self guided tour was a bit confusing. We were not given a guide to the museum when we came in. I retraced my steps and went to find one after seeing someone carrying one. We had bought a combination ticket for the train ride/museum the day before. Due to weather, we wanted to take the train ride on another day when weather was nicer. They had told us no problem--out ticket would be stamped to use the following day for museum. When we arrived, we found the date had been stamped incorrectly. The woman questioned us about it but let us in. We took the elevator to another floor which was office area I guess--just confusing at the beginning. Things were not clearly marked, etc. I think the place is on a limited budget. The train ride is 1 1/2 hour but a lot of that is changing tracks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Superior Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Superior Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Superior Railroad Museum to your Saves list