We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like trains, you'll love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Superior Railroad Museum

Lake Superior Railroad Museum
506 West Michigan Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 39 Attractions in Duluth
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Like trains, you'll love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We love trains and the display in Duluth is great in any weather as so mch of the rolling stock is inside. Kids and adults have lots of opportunities to climb on board and really look at the different types of train engines and cars throughout history.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    33
    18
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“See the trains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The new sky lights in the museum make everything look lighter and brighter. We loved seeing the William Crooks and other engines and cars.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nicely done for those interested in trains, but $pendy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I went with my sons and after dropping $24 to get in I expected a little more. For train buffs, this should be a great stop. They probably don't need to read reviews anyway. For the casual dude with boys who love playing with wooden trains, it was fun for an hour or so, but then we had seen everything indoors. The outdoor exhibits were closed due to construction.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Regional railroad history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I was quite taken by the size of the trains and their history of hauling iron ore from the Iron Range to the Duluth/Superior port. Great opportunities for children of all ages.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Day out with Thomas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We were here for day out with Thomas. It was good, not as good as all the hype however but worth it for our train enthusiast! We could climb up into the real old trains and caboose. Would have loved to climb on more of them. Free trolley rides as well. The Thomas train ride should have been a bit longer but otherwise that was good. Try to sit in the first open air car if the weather is good. In Duluth sit on the lake side of the train. The people on the other side didn't see near as much. There are different styles of cars and the last one is very hot. Lots to see and do that isn't Thomas related and my little guy loved the trains!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Superior Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Superior Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.