We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Save Saved
You added Beacon Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beacon Pointe Resort
2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Duluth
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Lovely resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I stayed here for 5 nights and had a wonderful stay. Our room had everything we could want (microwave, plates, silverware, cups, refridgerator, sink with dish soap and washclothes, jacuzzi tub, washer/dryer, detergent, deck w/view of lake). I was suprised with the amount of amenties for the price, great value. We were even able to wash all our clothes the night before we left with the washer and dryer so when we unpacked, we could just put the clothes away. They even brought us laundry detergent in the blink of an eye. There was free underground heated parking which was great since there was some road construction going on the street out front. The smores were a nice way to meet other people at the resort and the bikes were handy for a great ride down to the rose garden. The only complaint we had was the noise from the room next door, which the hotel tried to fix by find us a different room and remiding our neighbors of the "quite hours." Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    27
    21
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
53
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spicer, Mn
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I would NOT stay at the Beacon Point Resort ever again!!!!!! The view is beautiful. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. However, you can hear every door open, close and echo. It is extremely annoying. You need to open and close two large instutional type doors to get to your room and there is no way they close quietly. The insulation between the rooms is non existant and you can hear everything in the room next to yours. The balcony next door is located so that they can look into your room!! Plus, you can hear everything they say on their balcony from your room. I would advise you to search for different lodging. The design of this property just doesn't work!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed here one long weekend in June of 2010 and we stayed in a 4 bedroom pent-house suite! We had 5 balconies with our rooms and a majority of the rooms overlooked Lake Superior. What can I say besides amazing views! The only down fall is that there was not much of a selection for their breakfast. Hard boiled eggs, a couple danishes to choose from, cereal & yogurt (which was good)! The only issue we had was that when we got back one night all of the parking was taken up in the parking garage so we had to park on the street. All in all we had a great time and wish the stay would have been longer!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

6 of us stayed in a 2 bedroom condo this past weekend for Grandma's Marathon. We really liked it. We bought groceries and just ate all of our meals in the condo. They had a grill available for our use and we took advantage. The underground parking is nice and everything in the condo was nice too. The indoor pool and hot tub were great and we loved the whirlpool tubs after running the marathon. We would definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone that was traveling to Duluth.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

I have stayed at the Beacon Point twice and love it there.. The first time we got a street side room the second time I stayed there alone and got a lakeside room.. Talk about beautiful.. It was the nicest room I have stayed in, beautiful view and balcony.. I would recommend this resort-hotel to anyone.. My advice is to get a lakeside room for sure..It is worth a tiny bit extra!! :) I also love the fact that you can rent a bike or kayak or walk all the way to the canal if you want.. Maybe I have a Duluth high when I am there, but I also love this resort.. It was very cozy and affordable!!

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Me and my husband wanted to spend a nice relaxing weekend away for my birthday. We stayed at the Beacon Pointe Resort and had booked a 1 bedroom penthouse suite. Because we live in an apartment we always try for the top floor knowing that there is a great possiblity that you will hear the people above you. Well the penthouse is not always the top floor and we found out the hard way. We had a family above us with 2 small children that woke us up at 7am on Saturday morning with them running, jumping and screaming. At 9am I had finally had enough and called the front desk. They did contact the room above us and they quited down for about 10 minutes. Needless to say we stopped by the front desk on our way out for the day to complain. I tried to speak to the manager but he was not in for the whole weekend...WHAT when you are busiest there is no manager! There were no other rooms available us to move to because they were completely booked. They had suggested that the manager could call us...I said yes! But the manager did not not call. We did not spend much time in the room because the noise above was soooo annoying. You spend a good deal of money to stay there and you can't even enjoy it! So the great views and beautiful room went unused for the weekend! So poor construction of the building leads to bad impression. However, I will complement the front desk staff they were very understanding and did everything they could to help. However, somethings are out of their control and with the lack of management help there was really nothing they could do. One other great feature to the hotel was underground parking...that was NICE. So if you don't want to hear everything that goes on in the room above you please request and upper loft room!!!! And everyone who doens't stay in the upper rooms please know that almost every step and noise you make will be heard in the room below you.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine,MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This place is amazing. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary and stayed in the one bedroom penthouse suite. WOW! Every detail was perfect. Hardwood floors, leather couch, stainless steel appliances, fireplace works in bedroom or living room, and a huge jacuzzi in bedroom. Didn't utilize the free bike rental, but will next time. What a great idea! I love that we were so close to Canal Park, but still far enough away to feel a little more secluded and relaxed. I will definitely return to Beacon Pointe!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.