We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; room needs updates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Save Saved
You added Beacon Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beacon Pointe Resort
2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Duluth
MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location; room needs updates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed over marathon weekend.
Location: Convenient location and nice walk to Canal Park and Superior Street. The view of Lake Superior from the room was great.
Room: King with pull-out sofa. Nice layout of room; full kitchen with all functioning appliances; variety of cooking utensils.
Bed: king bed was fairly comfortable; soft mattress
Pull-out sleeper sofa: the mattress was very uncomfortable; every spring could be felt. Essentially no padding on the mattress. Housekeeping brought an air mattress.
Noise: easily hear neighbors' conversations through walls, bathroom vent, and doorway. They do have a "quite time" which most honored.
Shoreline: limited use but nice to sit on grass near shoreline
Cleanliness: everything was very clean except the carpet; majority of carpet was very dirty with stains
Parking: utilized their underground parking which was convenient

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    21
    17
    7
See reviews for
37
53
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We all know it's right on the lake and has amazing views, it was very foggy the two days we stayed here and we could hardly see the lake, but that's Duluth. We stayed in a condo room and it was very large, nicely updated and comfortable (we were pleasantly surprise when we walked in the room)
The breakfast and coffee (I went to McD across the road to get coffee after my first cup) were definitely nothing to write home about, but they were included. Also had indoor garage available on a first come first serve basis, but since the place was mostly empty when we stayed we got first pick of parking spots (it came in handy since it was raining).
Staff was friendly enough, the common areas were clean and appeared to be well maintained. They call themselves a resort, and I did see a few kayaks and bikes in the underground garage that were available. The water in the shower decently did not get hot enough, this about the only minor complaint I have.
I would recommend staying here (and would stay again), but it is a bit pricey for what you get considering you could go down the road about a mile and stay for much less.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our stay at Beacon Point from May 29th thru June 2nd 2014 was a very pleasant experience. Our 1 bedroom room is still in need of their renovation project underway...bed spread show significant sign of age, badly torn seams etc. and their promise of Jacuzzi repair went unfulfilled. The popularity of this place was attested to on Saturday evening when nearly all available parking spots were filled...annoying especially if one drives a large vehicle. The complimentary breakfast was very good, nice variety and good supply kept up by the attendant.
The complimentary "Smores" in the evening were a hit when the grandsons visited after using the pool which is small but barely used. The balcony is a mere 40 feet from the lake shore, nice view until the fog rolls in as it did during our stay. We definitely would choose this location again, good accommodations at a rea$onable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a beautiful place! When I walked into my condo I was astonished by the wrap around views of Lake Superior and Duluth. The furnishings were top notch. Beautiful kitchen. The king size bed was very comfortable and the Jacuzzi in the bedroom was HUGE! We were literally steps away from the Lake Walk that took us all the way to the shipping channel and the Areal Lift Bridge. Breakfast was included and was nothing special but we had a full kitchen where we could have prepared something bigger had we wanted to. My only regret is that we could only stay two nights. We loved watching all of the ships pass by. I can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit which had wraparound windows which were amazing. Being off of the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I barely spent any time here, mostly just to sleep for one night. The view from the room of Lake Superior is awesome! I have mixed feelings about the room. It was a basic king room facing the lake. I like that the bathroom seemed updated and it was big. We did have a handicapped room so maybe that is why. I liked the little sink, microwave and refrigerator in the room. They were nice. What I think could use some updating is the carpet and the bedspread. The carpet seemed dirty and the bedspread was out of date. The bed was comfortable and I had a good night sleep in it. I would try this place again with the 2 bedroom, 2 bath condos since my son goes to school in Duluth and this is a convenient place to stay. Also, I think they are in the process of doing some updating. I hope so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This resort/luxury condo complex is on the northeast edge of Duluth with a spectacular view of the bay and harbor. Each of the suites are deluxe with all the amenities one would expect with a high end resort/hotel. Three blocks and you are back on the expressway to downtown Duluth with Canal Park about a 10 minute ride. We were there when the ice was breaking up. What I thought was thunder ended up to be ice jams in the lake colliding with each other.

Room Tip: First suite to the left from the checkin desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were pleased to find out we received a free upgrade to the best condo in the resort on this particular stay! The room was fantastic and included a beautiful view, full kitchen, fireplace, whirlpool tub, and separate bedroom. Aside from the free upgrade, this hotel is located away from the downtown which is nice but still convenient to popular attractions. Prices can be higher in the nicer room and peak season.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room facing the lake, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, Front Desk Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We pride ourselves in the quality of hospitality service that we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.