We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Beacon Pointe Resort
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We all know it's right on the lake and has amazing views, it was very foggy the two days we stayed here and we could hardly see the lake, but that's Duluth. We stayed in a condo room and it was very large, nicely updated and comfortable (we were pleasantly surprise when we walked in the room)
The breakfast and coffee (I went to McD across the road to get coffee after my first cup) were definitely nothing to write home about, but they were included. Also had indoor garage available on a first come first serve basis, but since the place was mostly empty when we stayed we got first pick of parking spots (it came in handy since it was raining).
Staff was friendly enough, the common areas were clean and appeared to be well maintained. They call themselves a resort, and I did see a few kayaks and bikes in the underground garage that were available. The water in the shower decently did not get hot enough, this about the only minor complaint I have.
I would recommend staying here (and would stay again), but it is a bit pricey for what you get considering you could go down the road about a mile and stay for much less.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    39
    28
    20
    11
See reviews for
52
67
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our stay at Beacon Point from May 29th thru June 2nd 2014 was a very pleasant experience. Our 1 bedroom room is still in need of their renovation project underway...bed spread show significant sign of age, badly torn seams etc. and their promise of Jacuzzi repair went unfulfilled. The popularity of this place was attested to on Saturday evening when nearly all available parking spots were filled...annoying especially if one drives a large vehicle. The complimentary breakfast was very good, nice variety and good supply kept up by the attendant.
The complimentary "Smores" in the evening were a hit when the grandsons visited after using the pool which is small but barely used. The balcony is a mere 40 feet from the lake shore, nice view until the fog rolls in as it did during our stay. We definitely would choose this location again, good accommodations at a rea$onable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a beautiful place! When I walked into my condo I was astonished by the wrap around views of Lake Superior and Duluth. The furnishings were top notch. Beautiful kitchen. The king size bed was very comfortable and the Jacuzzi in the bedroom was HUGE! We were literally steps away from the Lake Walk that took us all the way to the shipping channel and the Areal Lift Bridge. Breakfast was included and was nothing special but we had a full kitchen where we could have prepared something bigger had we wanted to. My only regret is that we could only stay two nights. We loved watching all of the ships pass by. I can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit which had wraparound windows which were amazing. Being off of the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I barely spent any time here, mostly just to sleep for one night. The view from the room of Lake Superior is awesome! I have mixed feelings about the room. It was a basic king room facing the lake. I like that the bathroom seemed updated and it was big. We did have a handicapped room so maybe that is why. I liked the little sink, microwave and refrigerator in the room. They were nice. What I think could use some updating is the carpet and the bedspread. The carpet seemed dirty and the bedspread was out of date. The bed was comfortable and I had a good night sleep in it. I would try this place again with the 2 bedroom, 2 bath condos since my son goes to school in Duluth and this is a convenient place to stay. Also, I think they are in the process of doing some updating. I hope so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This resort/luxury condo complex is on the northeast edge of Duluth with a spectacular view of the bay and harbor. Each of the suites are deluxe with all the amenities one would expect with a high end resort/hotel. Three blocks and you are back on the expressway to downtown Duluth with Canal Park about a 10 minute ride. We were there when the ice was breaking up. What I thought was thunder ended up to be ice jams in the lake colliding with each other.

Room Tip: First suite to the left from the checkin desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
242 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were pleased to find out we received a free upgrade to the best condo in the resort on this particular stay! The room was fantastic and included a beautiful view, full kitchen, fireplace, whirlpool tub, and separate bedroom. Aside from the free upgrade, this hotel is located away from the downtown which is nice but still convenient to popular attractions. Prices can be higher in the nicer room and peak season.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room facing the lake, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, Front Desk Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We pride ourselves in the quality of hospitality service that we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great place. Right on Lake Superior. Never seen a better view if the lift bridge. Boardwalk right outside. Plenty of parking. Liked the kitchenette in the room the hot tub overlookung our huge deck. Could tell the lobby was new. There were pictures of the new carpet, beadspreads and furnature in the lobby. The management company is new to this property and they mentioned all the upgrades to detail. We could see it. Staff is so nice. Everything clean.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, Front Desk Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.9 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Pointe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.