We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice time and stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Save Saved
You added Beacon Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beacon Pointe Resort
2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Davis, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice time and stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our stay at Beacon Point from May 29th thru June 2nd 2014 was a very pleasant experience. Our 1 bedroom room is still in need of their renovation project underway...bed spread show significant sign of age, badly torn seams etc. and their promise of Jacuzzi repair went unfulfilled. The popularity of this place was attested to on Saturday evening when nearly all available parking spots were filled...annoying especially if one drives a large vehicle. The complimentary breakfast was very good, nice variety and good supply kept up by the attendant.
The complimentary "Smores" in the evening were a hit when the grandsons visited after using the pool which is small but barely used. The balcony is a mere 40 feet from the lake shore, nice view until the fog rolls in as it did during our stay. We definitely would choose this location again, good accommodations at a rea$onable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    32
    23
    17
    8
See reviews for
43
55
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a beautiful place! When I walked into my condo I was astonished by the wrap around views of Lake Superior and Duluth. The furnishings were top notch. Beautiful kitchen. The king size bed was very comfortable and the Jacuzzi in the bedroom was HUGE! We were literally steps away from the Lake Walk that took us all the way to the shipping channel and the Areal Lift Bridge. Breakfast was included and was nothing special but we had a full kitchen where we could have prepared something bigger had we wanted to. My only regret is that we could only stay two nights. We loved watching all of the ships pass by. I can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit which had wraparound windows which were amazing. Being off of the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I barely spent any time here, mostly just to sleep for one night. The view from the room of Lake Superior is awesome! I have mixed feelings about the room. It was a basic king room facing the lake. I like that the bathroom seemed updated and it was big. We did have a handicapped room so maybe that is why. I liked the little sink, microwave and refrigerator in the room. They were nice. What I think could use some updating is the carpet and the bedspread. The carpet seemed dirty and the bedspread was out of date. The bed was comfortable and I had a good night sleep in it. I would try this place again with the 2 bedroom, 2 bath condos since my son goes to school in Duluth and this is a convenient place to stay. Also, I think they are in the process of doing some updating. I hope so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This resort/luxury condo complex is on the northeast edge of Duluth with a spectacular view of the bay and harbor. Each of the suites are deluxe with all the amenities one would expect with a high end resort/hotel. Three blocks and you are back on the expressway to downtown Duluth with Canal Park about a 10 minute ride. We were there when the ice was breaking up. What I thought was thunder ended up to be ice jams in the lake colliding with each other.

Room Tip: First suite to the left from the checkin desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We were pleased to find out we received a free upgrade to the best condo in the resort on this particular stay! The room was fantastic and included a beautiful view, full kitchen, fireplace, whirlpool tub, and separate bedroom. Aside from the free upgrade, this hotel is located away from the downtown which is nice but still convenient to popular attractions. Prices can be higher in the nicer room and peak season.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room facing the lake, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, Front Desk Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We pride ourselves in the quality of hospitality service that we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Great place. Right on Lake Superior. Never seen a better view if the lift bridge. Boardwalk right outside. Plenty of parking. Liked the kitchenette in the room the hot tub overlookung our huge deck. Could tell the lobby was new. There were pictures of the new carpet, beadspreads and furnature in the lobby. The management company is new to this property and they mentioned all the upgrades to detail. We could see it. Staff is so nice. Everything clean.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, Front Desk Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed there a while ago. The view is amazing, right on the water. The breakfast was not great, but I hear it is supposed to improve. You walk in and there is a sofa/bed and tv, then go through past a bathroom, and then into the bedroom, which is lakeview. That's fine, except the sofa bed was missing the mattress (and my girls were being independent, so I didn't notice until morning when they complained about how poorly they slept), and the door to the bedroom locked from the sofa room, not from the bedroom. We had a Jacuzzi that my husband was using but we couldn't lock our door. Very strange. I brought up our concerns, and the front desk just said it was weird, but didn't do anything. They are very expensive, so we won't be back. Too bad since the view really is incredible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. As is common in the hospitality business furnishings do take a lot of abuse. We are happy to say we are doing some major updating this spring to keep our property the best in town. This includes new bedding, paint and carpet, sofa sleepers, among other things. If you’ll give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact the General Manager Chris through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;