We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, But Needs Updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Beacon Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Beacon Pointe Resort
2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Lincoln, NE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, But Needs Updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The location of this place is worthy of a 5-Star rating, but several other items do detract from the overall rating. The mattress in our king-bed room showed two very noticeable "body-divots", the carpet was old and bubbled in a couple of locations, the bathroom appeared somewhat recently renovated, but the vanity countertop was low and the towels looked worn. The room was not overly large, and the fact that there was a table and other furnishings in the room made the room seem cramped, even more so with two suitcases in the room. The underground parking was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. If you’ll give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact the General Manager Chris through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    33
    23
    17
    8
See reviews for
44
55
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location was great- right on the lakewalk and the views of Lake Superior were unbeatable. However, unless you had a lake view room you would have no other place to enjoy the view unless you were outside on the front patio. There was no communal space inside that allowed you access to view the lake.
Our room shared a wall with the pool with windows facing the highway. Between the two, we did not sleep at all. The noise wasn't just muffled, it sounded as though you were directly in the pool area. Our 16 month old woke up continuously throughout the night, which led to long, crabby days. We asked the front desk for a transfer, but unfortunately nothing was available. We ended up leaving much earlier than planned because of how uncomfortable it was.
Overall, bummed about the experience, a warning at check-in would have been appreciated. Had we known the room we were assigned would be so loud we would have gone to another hotel.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms away from the pool if traveling with a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We appreciate every guest stay and believe that each and every experience with us should be all positive. We apologize that your expectations were not met, and if you’ll give us the chance, we would like to try and make it right. Please contact the General Manager Chris through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This isn't a resort, per se, but it is very nice. All rooms are lake-side with balconies, so you're guaranteed a view. First floor has access to walk out to the green area by the lake front. You cannot easily access the lake, so don't expect to go wading or swimming (the water is so cold that you shouldn't try that anyway). The room was pretty standard otherwise. I had the standard king room. It's on the smaller side. Bed linens are on the lower end of quality, and the bed itself leaves a lot to be desired comfort-wise. Accessibility to outlets for charging devices is poor (had to move the bed). Staff is nice. Continental breakfast is a joke. The pool looks nice as it has a large gathering area to the side as well. Underground heated parking is nice for those Minnesota winters. It is easy to access most things in Duluth from this location.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you're not going to have any trouble. If you want amenities, you're goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is not a resort and offers no true “resort” amenities. This is a $300+ a night one bedroom Homewood Suites. We chose it as there were very limited rooms in Duluth last weekend. As a whole, the stay was adequate.

Set your expectations accordingly based upon my review below. We are refined travelers that recognize bad/good/great/excellent and have stayed in all types of places. I am also a fair reviewer.

At the Beacon Pointe Resort we stayed on the third floor with no rooms above us. The bathroom, kitchen and bedroom were clean. The building was quiet at night.

This is a typical mid-grade hotel experience. The building materials are cheap but look nice. The walls are thin. The fold out bed was horribly uncomfortable for even our twin 8 year olds. The single bedroom had no windows...what is up with that? The sheets and blankets were thin and cheap. The swimming pool is 5 ft. deep, the hot tub tiny, and the fitness center so small you could barely turn around in it. I didn't look at the sauna.

There were some stains on the carpet and lots of black mold in the base of the shower/whirlpool tile. There were also cobwebs in the light shades.

The morning breakfast was your typical continental with a waffle maker as the main attraction. The bananas were really brown (who put this out?) and the overall selection of fruit/breads/yogurt was so -so.

The staff was young and very nice. I didn’t complain about anything so I don’t know how they would have responded.

We never used the kitchen for more than coffee. It was clean. If you brought groceries and stayed in at night the $300+ value may have been better. We spent very little time in the unit.

If this is what you expect for your stay at Beacon Pointe, you will be fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Delightful staff, luxurious room, deck chairs to relax in as you watch Lake Superior, just a few feet from the shore, and minutes from anything you might need in Duluth. You feel so removed from everything, this is a true oasis.

Room Tip: Bring your own snacks-nice size fridge in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had reviewed many other reviews of Beacon before taking the chance and booking. While the overall condition was fine, the finer things that you think would accompany an resort’s use of Luxury in the tag line were missing. The common areas, pool and view were amazing. The lake was right out our back patio. From other reviews I understand that some updates are planned for the fall. I hope this is true as the stained carpet and tattered linens are in need of replacement. While the hotel did not seem to be full, we were placed in a handicap accessible room. In the bathroom, where I am assuming a bench once was where holes covered with duck tape and a pink stained shower curtain which distracted from the beautiful tile work. Our pillow top bed was so worn, you could see the outline of two bodies in it. The view and proximity to Lake Superior was outstanding but I fear this detail will not bring people back when there is so much attention to detail needed in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your response and we are glad to hear you liked the views at our property. As is common in the hospitality business furnishings and carpet do take a lot of abuse. We are happy to say we are doing some major updating this fall to keep our property the best in town. This includes a new breakfast area, new bedding, paint and carpet, among other things. Please come let us know what you think! As always, thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked this on spec' from the UK. It was an important holiday as my sister came down from Canada and niece in from Minneapolis. It was an long awaited family get together.

It lived up to expectations and proved to be a great location for the view, visiting Duluth and the surrounding area. The lake side opportunities and facilities were great. Only three points:

- we agree with another reviewer that the housekeeping were inconsistent and disorganised.
- access to the lake side is not easy. With a little work this could be a great asset to the resort.
- there is a continental breakfast available but we only found out when we got there.

Room Tip: Ring or email prior to going and check your arrangements/booking. The website needs redesigning as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.