We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Beacon Pointe Resort
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Saint Paul, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This isn't a resort, per se, but it is very nice. All rooms are lake-side with balconies, so you're guaranteed a view. First floor has access to walk out to the green area by the lake front. You cannot easily access the lake, so don't expect to go wading or swimming (the water is so cold that you shouldn't try that anyway). The room was pretty standard otherwise. I had the standard king room. It's on the smaller side. Bed linens are on the lower end of quality, and the bed itself leaves a lot to be desired comfort-wise. Accessibility to outlets for charging devices is poor (had to move the bed). Staff is nice. Continental breakfast is a joke. The pool looks nice as it has a large gathering area to the side as well. Underground heated parking is nice for those Minnesota winters. It is easy to access most things in Duluth from this location.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you're not going to have any trouble. If you want amenities, you're goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    38
    26
    19
    9
See reviews for
48
64
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is not a resort and offers no true “resort” amenities. This is a $300+ a night one bedroom Homewood Suites. We chose it as there were very limited rooms in Duluth last weekend. As a whole, the stay was adequate.

Set your expectations accordingly based upon my review below. We are refined travelers that recognize bad/good/great/excellent and have stayed in all types of places. I am also a fair reviewer.

At the Beacon Pointe Resort we stayed on the third floor with no rooms above us. The bathroom, kitchen and bedroom were clean. The building was quiet at night.

This is a typical mid-grade hotel experience. The building materials are cheap but look nice. The walls are thin. The fold out bed was horribly uncomfortable for even our twin 8 year olds. The single bedroom had no windows...what is up with that? The sheets and blankets were thin and cheap. The swimming pool is 5 ft. deep, the hot tub tiny, and the fitness center so small you could barely turn around in it. I didn't look at the sauna.

There were some stains on the carpet and lots of black mold in the base of the shower/whirlpool tile. There were also cobwebs in the light shades.

The morning breakfast was your typical continental with a waffle maker as the main attraction. The bananas were really brown (who put this out?) and the overall selection of fruit/breads/yogurt was so -so.

The staff was young and very nice. I didn’t complain about anything so I don’t know how they would have responded.

We never used the kitchen for more than coffee. It was clean. If you brought groceries and stayed in at night the $300+ value may have been better. We spent very little time in the unit.

If this is what you expect for your stay at Beacon Pointe, you will be fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Delightful staff, luxurious room, deck chairs to relax in as you watch Lake Superior, just a few feet from the shore, and minutes from anything you might need in Duluth. You feel so removed from everything, this is a true oasis.

Room Tip: Bring your own snacks-nice size fridge in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had reviewed many other reviews of Beacon before taking the chance and booking. While the overall condition was fine, the finer things that you think would accompany an resort’s use of Luxury in the tag line were missing. The common areas, pool and view were amazing. The lake was right out our back patio. From other reviews I understand that some updates are planned for the fall. I hope this is true as the stained carpet and tattered linens are in need of replacement. While the hotel did not seem to be full, we were placed in a handicap accessible room. In the bathroom, where I am assuming a bench once was where holes covered with duck tape and a pink stained shower curtain which distracted from the beautiful tile work. Our pillow top bed was so worn, you could see the outline of two bodies in it. The view and proximity to Lake Superior was outstanding but I fear this detail will not bring people back when there is so much attention to detail needed in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your response and we are glad to hear you liked the views at our property. As is common in the hospitality business furnishings and carpet do take a lot of abuse. We are happy to say we are doing some major updating this fall to keep our property the best in town. This includes a new breakfast area, new bedding, paint and carpet, among other things. Please come let us know what you think! As always, thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked this on spec' from the UK. It was an important holiday as my sister came down from Canada and niece in from Minneapolis. It was an long awaited family get together.

It lived up to expectations and proved to be a great location for the view, visiting Duluth and the surrounding area. The lake side opportunities and facilities were great. Only three points:

- we agree with another reviewer that the housekeeping were inconsistent and disorganised.
- access to the lake side is not easy. With a little work this could be a great asset to the resort.
- there is a continental breakfast available but we only found out when we got there.

Room Tip: Ring or email prior to going and check your arrangements/booking. The website needs redesigning as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked a room with Troy who is a manager and when we checked in it was different then what we booked. I called the front desk and they said sorry but we can't help you. They were booked complete and couldn't move us but they could of gave a discount, and didn't. The room smelled so bad when we walked in the smell was out to second door. I called front desk about that, again they said sorry but we can't do anything about it. We were so mad that we didn't go back to the room until we went to bed. We woke up and checked out. They asked at the front desk how was are stay, we told them of the problems and they said "Oh" that was it. I sat down two days later and wrote a long email to Troy the manager and after a month he wrote back "sorry about your stay we're remodling in the fall." That's it. I know they like the business but don't care if people come back. I'm sure beacon point will comment on this review but you have had a month to correct the problem but have chose NOT TO. We stayed August 3rd in room 205b, not our first time we have stayed there but it will be our last. Please be aware if you have problems you will be on your own.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waco, tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Only resort right on the waterfront in Duluth--easy access to I-35 and the Lakewalk. Huge rooms that overlook the lake and the canal lift bridge. Very peaceful to jus t sit and watch the waves and the ships.

Only quibble is that housekeeping was slow on making up the rooms. But otherwise a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Pointe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.