We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on Lake Superior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Save Saved
You added Beacon Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beacon Pointe Resort
2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Duluth
waco, tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location on Lake Superior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Only resort right on the waterfront in Duluth--easy access to I-35 and the Lakewalk. Huge rooms that overlook the lake and the canal lift bridge. Very peaceful to jus t sit and watch the waves and the ships.

Only quibble is that housekeeping was slow on making up the rooms. But otherwise a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    21
    17
    7
See reviews for
37
53
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Please, for the sake of your vacation don't stay here.

I'm a veteran north shore visitor (25+ yrs) and my family and I make it a point to stay someplace new every few years. We won't be staying here again.

We rented a two bedroom suite - two beds and we ended up with two pullout couches (one in the living room and one in a bonus back room). Two balconies, one of which was tiny with a wobbly railing.

Details:
Location - One of its few positives. Easy access on and off 35, easy access to canal park, the rest of Duluth, and points further north. Minimal traffic noise which was surprising due to its proximity to 35. Stunning views from the windows/balconies.

'Resort' first impressions - Not reeaally a resort. Looks like a nice condo complex which is what it is. It's surrounded on both sides by privately owned condos (and yes, I feel sorry for them). The parking area was awkward - they don't have enough underground parking for the rentals so a lot of cars end up parking on the small street outside the condo buildings creating a lot of congestion. The staff at the desk seemed really nice and attentive at first. Part of the group arrived a bit later and even after informing the front desk of their eta and having them hold the second parking pass at the desk, the late arriving members of my family had to spend ten minutes convincing them of their identity.

The rental unit - Right away we noticed the odd floorplan. It's designed in such a way that the unit can be divided and rented as a 1 bedroom (king bed) + couch (living room) and kitchen suite AND a king bed (in living room with jacuzzi tub) + couch (in small bedroom) and mini fridge/microwave suite. There is one door to enter the suite and then two additional locked doors to pass through to enter both sides of suite with a door connecting the two halves in the main living area. Nice if you feel the need for double locked doors, not nice if you only rent half the suite and have noisy neighbors since the bedrooms were in the back (with no windows) right next to the main doors.

Other first impressions - Disgusting filthy carpet, nice appliances, tons of fruit flies flying around, dated linens (fake gold crush velvet anyone?), nice bathrooms with broken hardware and overly complicated showers. I'm not one to be overly grossed out by hotels even though I once worked in one but the carpet looked as though animals had been peeing and pooing on it. The view however was a wow.

After staying there for the weekend I can also say the following - The carpet is bad. Really bad. So bad that I walked around in my sandals all weekend and cringed every time I saw my nephew crawling on the floor. Several advertised items were not in working order: Fireplace, jacuzzi tub, sauna in the pool area, iPod docking station, broken bathroom hardware. We reported these issues to the front desk on three separate occasions and each time were assured maintenance would be up to fix them. The items weren't fixed by the time we left - disappointing to say the least. The pillows and beds lack dust mite/sanitation covers and when we investigated we found very stained mattresses and pillows. Mold was growing in bathroom nooks and along the bottom of the shower curtains. Fruit flies continued to fly around, landing on food, beds, etc. Sound traveled quite well from nearby units/guests. We weren't able to sleep with the windows open due to other guests drinking and shouting from their rooms and balconies until 1am.

So if you've managed to make it to the end of my review here's the short version - Nice location with a great view, A LOT of deferred maintenance/updating, pleasant staff (high school and college age), and dirty when it came to carpet and the beds. Please, if you want to stay in Duluth aim for some other establishment. We're planning on heading back to Canal Park next year where the rooms are clean, maintenance fixes things, and the view is just as beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your response and we are glad to hear you liked the views at our property. We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. As is common in the hospitality business furnishings and carpet do take a lot of abuse. We are happy to say we are doing some major updating this fall to keep our property the best in town. This includes a new breakfast area, new bedding, paint and carpet, among other things. If you’ll give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact the General Manager Chris through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. As always, thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have stayed at Beacon Pointe numerous times over the last 3 years, and stayed in every room type. We'll start from the top up. The penthouse suites are amazing. I'm not sure if they're all the same, but the one we stayed in had a bedroom, a separate room with a Jacuzzi tub, and a view that never gets old. Plus a little private deck you can sit out on and have your morning coffee or just watch the ships go by. The other rooms are also nice. The regular room with the full kitchen is nice too, the only downside is the bedroom is in the back, so 1) no view of anything as there are no windows, and 2) it borders the hallway so when your neighbors come back the doors slam very loudly right outside your bedroom. Really that's the only con of Beacon Pointe. The location is ideal. While it's not in Canal Park, the view is worth it. The pool is alright. A little cold at times. It's close to everything and right off the freeway (you can't hear if though). I recommend Beacon Pointe all of the time to friends headed to Duluth. If you can afford to stay here, do it. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The best things about Beacon point: 1) A great place to relax, you don't need to go anywhere else beautiful setting with a gas fire pit, Adirondack chairs and smooth rock out cropping if you want to go in the water. 2) Great Bikes free with locks and helmets. Ride down to Canal Park along the lake enjoy the parkway, have lunch, shop a bit and return. 3) The rooms are not your traditional hotel rooms they are spacious in different sizes and shapes. They can be linked together in multi-room units for larger groups. The Multi bedroom penthouses are smaller units linked together. 4) Exercise room, heated pool and hot tub are clean and functional. 5) Breakfast is fine, waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit along with the usual bagels, toast and cereal. 6) This is a much better value then a standard hotel room in canal park with no privacy.

FYI - 1) Not all patios are equal. Most of the one bedroom condo's have tiny patios, two chairs close together max. The smaller units have larger patios so think about what you really want. Most but not all of the patios are really shared between two units with a lover type divider between the two. If your neighbor smokes on the patio they are smoking with you. The one bedroom penthouse suit on the top floor has very large private patios but they require a flight of stairs up to your place well worth it if you want a big patio of your own. 2) Kitchenettes have microwave, tiny fridge, coffee pot and small sink, no stove. 3) a unit that sleeps 4 is probably one bed and a pull out sofa if you want 2 regular beds you need to book a two bedroom unit.

Recommendation - Check out the prices and options on the website then call to make your reservation and ask about patio size, room arrangement etc.

Room Tip: Because the rooms are irregular shapes and patio sizes vary call to make your reservation and discus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for 2 nights to try something different in Duluth. Very disappointed in our room. The carpet had stains all over it. I've never stayed in a hotel with such filthy looking carpet. Bedspreads are tattered and old looking as well. Housekeeping came at 430pm as we were getting ready for dinner so we asked them to come back which they never did. They have bikes to use, mine got flat tire had to walk it all the way back. Lovely location and balcony but far cry from it billing itself as a "luxury" resort . Won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. If you’ll give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact the General Manager Chris Gaylord through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Positives: View, access to the Lakewalk, location just off 35 & London Rd
Negatives: Noise, tired furnishings

My family stayed in a 2 bedroom suite (207B) which had an unsurpassed view. Unfortunately the room was noisy (it shares an entrance with another room - guests who checked in next door at 11pm made for disruptive sleep) and the furnishings were tired (tear in the sofa, damage to wood tables, burned out lightbulbs, stains on the carpet, etc). Maintenance to that particular room could've been better, though the hotel as a whole was nice.

I wouldn't recommend Beacon Pointe to families with small children - the noise issue was evident again during housekeeping hours, which align perfectly with nap time for little ones. However, for families with older children or for couples, it would be just fine.

The views offset the negative aspects, though I think the resort label is a misnomer - there was no explanation of amenities upon check in and the fellow working the front desk seemed less than enthused about his job.

Room Tip: A third level room would likely be quietest - you can hear patio doors closing and deck furniture mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your response and we are glad to hear you liked the views at our property. As is common in the hospitality business furnishings and carpet do take a lot of abuse. We are happy to say we are doing some major updating this fall to keep our property the best in town. This includes a new breakfast area, new bedding, paint and carpet, among other things. Please come let us know what you think! As always, thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite for just one night. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and everything was as we expected. The view of Lake Superior from the balcony is beautiful, we sat and enjoyed this morning and evening. We used the complimentary grill to make dinner which was very nice. The beds were not the most comfortable beds, but hotel beds usually aren't. My daughter stayed on a pullout couch bed, and said it was very springy, but again, those usually are! We loved the location, and loved the space we had in the room.

Room Tip: The temperature control of the shower was a little tricky. You have to push in and turn to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. The views really are unbeatable, aren't they? We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.