We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million Dollar View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Beacon Pointe Resort
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Million Dollar View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have stayed at Beacon Pointe numerous times over the last 3 years, and stayed in every room type. We'll start from the top up. The penthouse suites are amazing. I'm not sure if they're all the same, but the one we stayed in had a bedroom, a separate room with a Jacuzzi tub, and a view that never gets old. Plus a little private deck you can sit out on and have your morning coffee or just watch the ships go by. The other rooms are also nice. The regular room with the full kitchen is nice too, the only downside is the bedroom is in the back, so 1) no view of anything as there are no windows, and 2) it borders the hallway so when your neighbors come back the doors slam very loudly right outside your bedroom. Really that's the only con of Beacon Pointe. The location is ideal. While it's not in Canal Park, the view is worth it. The pool is alright. A little cold at times. It's close to everything and right off the freeway (you can't hear if though). I recommend Beacon Pointe all of the time to friends headed to Duluth. If you can afford to stay here, do it. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    42
    28
    21
    11
See reviews for
53
72
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The best things about Beacon point: 1) A great place to relax, you don't need to go anywhere else beautiful setting with a gas fire pit, Adirondack chairs and smooth rock out cropping if you want to go in the water. 2) Great Bikes free with locks and helmets. Ride down to Canal Park along the lake enjoy the parkway, have lunch, shop a bit and return. 3) The rooms are not your traditional hotel rooms they are spacious in different sizes and shapes. They can be linked together in multi-room units for larger groups. The Multi bedroom penthouses are smaller units linked together. 4) Exercise room, heated pool and hot tub are clean and functional. 5) Breakfast is fine, waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit along with the usual bagels, toast and cereal. 6) This is a much better value then a standard hotel room in canal park with no privacy.

FYI - 1) Not all patios are equal. Most of the one bedroom condo's have tiny patios, two chairs close together max. The smaller units have larger patios so think about what you really want. Most but not all of the patios are really shared between two units with a lover type divider between the two. If your neighbor smokes on the patio they are smoking with you. The one bedroom penthouse suit on the top floor has very large private patios but they require a flight of stairs up to your place well worth it if you want a big patio of your own. 2) Kitchenettes have microwave, tiny fridge, coffee pot and small sink, no stove. 3) a unit that sleeps 4 is probably one bed and a pull out sofa if you want 2 regular beds you need to book a two bedroom unit.

Recommendation - Check out the prices and options on the website then call to make your reservation and ask about patio size, room arrangement etc.

Room Tip: Because the rooms are irregular shapes and patio sizes vary call to make your reservation and discus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I booked this hotel for 2 nights to try something different in Duluth. Very disappointed in our room. The carpet had stains all over it. I've never stayed in a hotel with such filthy looking carpet. Bedspreads are tattered and old looking as well. Housekeeping came at 430pm as we were getting ready for dinner so we asked them to come back which they never did. They have bikes to use, mine got flat tire had to walk it all the way back. Lovely location and balcony but far cry from it billing itself as a "luxury" resort . Won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. If you’ll give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact the General Manager Chris Gaylord through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Positives: View, access to the Lakewalk, location just off 35 & London Rd
Negatives: Noise, tired furnishings

My family stayed in a 2 bedroom suite (207B) which had an unsurpassed view. Unfortunately the room was noisy (it shares an entrance with another room - guests who checked in next door at 11pm made for disruptive sleep) and the furnishings were tired (tear in the sofa, damage to wood tables, burned out lightbulbs, stains on the carpet, etc). Maintenance to that particular room could've been better, though the hotel as a whole was nice.

I wouldn't recommend Beacon Pointe to families with small children - the noise issue was evident again during housekeeping hours, which align perfectly with nap time for little ones. However, for families with older children or for couples, it would be just fine.

The views offset the negative aspects, though I think the resort label is a misnomer - there was no explanation of amenities upon check in and the fellow working the front desk seemed less than enthused about his job.

Room Tip: A third level room would likely be quietest - you can hear patio doors closing and deck furniture mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your response and we are glad to hear you liked the views at our property. As is common in the hospitality business furnishings and carpet do take a lot of abuse. We are happy to say we are doing some major updating this fall to keep our property the best in town. This includes a new breakfast area, new bedding, paint and carpet, among other things. Please come let us know what you think! As always, thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite for just one night. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and everything was as we expected. The view of Lake Superior from the balcony is beautiful, we sat and enjoyed this morning and evening. We used the complimentary grill to make dinner which was very nice. The beds were not the most comfortable beds, but hotel beds usually aren't. My daughter stayed on a pullout couch bed, and said it was very springy, but again, those usually are! We loved the location, and loved the space we had in the room.

Room Tip: The temperature control of the shower was a little tricky. You have to push in and turn to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. The views really are unbeatable, aren't they? We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dassel, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Six of us booked a three bedroom condo for the weekend and all of our jaws dropped when we walked into our rooms! They were beautiful and so spacious. The view was amazing...we had three balconies to enjoy. We loved that we had plenty of room to enjoy together and each couple couple had their own bedroom and bathroom. We definitely want to stay there again. The only improvement I could suggest would be a bigger breakfast area and a better selection of offerings. But we brought our breakfast back to the room to enjoy on the balcony anyway :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Would not recommend this hotel. The room I was in had a window overlooking the pool which was ver loud and noisy until late at night. I did not request a poolside room. The hotel supposedly has a quiet policy implemented at 10pm, but the pool is open past that. There was also music all night long and when I called to complain, nothing was done. It was on all night. Coming into town for business and needing a quiet place, I would not recommend. Internet was also very spotting, room needed updating. Sadly disappointed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. It is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. If you’ll give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact the General Manager Chris through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.9 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
2.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
3.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Pointe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.