We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, beautiful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Save Saved
You added Beacon Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beacon Pointe Resort
2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite for just one night. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and everything was as we expected. The view of Lake Superior from the balcony is beautiful, we sat and enjoyed this morning and evening. We used the complimentary grill to make dinner which was very nice. The beds were not the most comfortable beds, but hotel beds usually aren't. My daughter stayed on a pullout couch bed, and said it was very springy, but again, those usually are! We loved the location, and loved the space we had in the room.

Room Tip: The temperature control of the shower was a little tricky. You have to push in and turn to get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. The views really are unbeatable, aren't they? We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    32
    23
    17
    8
See reviews for
42
55
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dassel, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Six of us booked a three bedroom condo for the weekend and all of our jaws dropped when we walked into our rooms! They were beautiful and so spacious. The view was amazing...we had three balconies to enjoy. We loved that we had plenty of room to enjoy together and each couple couple had their own bedroom and bathroom. We definitely want to stay there again. The only improvement I could suggest would be a bigger breakfast area and a better selection of offerings. But we brought our breakfast back to the room to enjoy on the balcony anyway :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Would not recommend this hotel. The room I was in had a window overlooking the pool which was ver loud and noisy until late at night. I did not request a poolside room. The hotel supposedly has a quiet policy implemented at 10pm, but the pool is open past that. There was also music all night long and when I called to complain, nothing was done. It was on all night. Coming into town for business and needing a quiet place, I would not recommend. Internet was also very spotting, room needed updating. Sadly disappointed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. It is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. If you’ll give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact the General Manager Chris through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

One of the nicest places to stay in Duluth (not including Fitger’s, sorry). These condos and rooms boast a wonderful view of Lake Superior and are conveniently located at the northern end of the Lake Walk making it easy to walk or bike to Fitger’s or Canal Park and anywhere in between. The front desk staff a extremely friendly and accommodating. The condos are beautifully maintained and are well kept and cleaned. They have an indoor pool (which I’ve not used) and a fitness center, while small, effective. They offer a complimentary continental breakfast with a nice assortment of English muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruits, juices and even a waffle station. They also have underground parking which was great, especially for storing our bikes. We’ve stayed there the last two years and can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your extremely kind words and we are so happy that you continue staying at Beacon Pointe! We do strive to be a 'first class establishment' and I am glad that our staff demonstrated that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Four sisters shared a three bedroom condo at Beacon Pointe for three days. It was very comfortable with two wonderful decks overlooking lake superior. We were right on the Lakewalk and walked to canal park for shopping and wonderful restaurants. Our cars were parked in underground parking, but really didn't need to drive often because everything is so convenient. Bicycles and kayaks were available for use without a fee. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed or resort and we hope you do come stay with us soon! Summer is the perfect time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We like the location of this resort because it wasn't in crowded Canal Park but was located close
to the water and the Lakewalk. We rented a two bedroom for six of us. Amenities are nice. The
breakfast was limited and the area to eat was small. I think that was because so many rooms had
kitchens. Sitting on the patio and watching the boats go in and our of the harbor was cool. There was a nice lawn area with adirondack chairs. The stairs down to the lake shore were in disrepair. I think that was to discourage people from going down there, but people will, so I think that should be made safer. All in all it was a great place to stay if you don't want to be cooped up in a hotel room

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It's great to hear that you chanced it on getting out of the hustle and bustle of Canal Park and it paid off! Sometimes I still stop and peak out the windows when the ships go by! It really never gets old when you are this close to the water. Thank you for encouraging guests to come down who would rather not be 'cooped up' and come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I adore Beacon Pointe, but may not ever go back because of the noise. Two rooms adjoin, and the walls seem to have no sound proofing as you can hear every and any conversation that occurs. The entry doors are very loud as well. You can't beat this location and proximity to the Lakewalk which we love to walk, and the view of the Lake is fabulous, but the noise is a deal-breaker for me and I don't know what they could do to fix it, other than to let us stay there by ourselves. Lovely pool, grounds, common areas, and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello! And thank you for your response and time spent at Beacon Pointe. I would just like to start out by saying we did just complete a rather lengthy project of installing acoustic insulation between all adjoining rooms. This has drastically cut down unwanted noise. If you find this still doesn't satisfy your privacy needs I would suggest for you (or anyone for that matter) our rooftop suites. They are called one bedroom penthouse suites and they each have a private staircase up to them and they do not share walls with any other unit. Hopefully we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.