We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book our 3rd trip to beacon this summer. We love this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Pointe Resort

Save Saved
You added Beacon Pointe Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beacon Pointe Resort
2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Duluth
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Book our 3rd trip to beacon this summer. We love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We just love this place. After we leave we are planning our next trip. I won't stay any other place. Me and my wife stayed for our honeymoon, birthday and anniversary. Its so close to the lake, resturants, and canal park these no reason to stay anywhere else. We're coming back at the end of October to see the waves. Can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We are very pleased to have you as a frequest guest at Beacon Pointe Resort! Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    21
    17
    7
See reviews for
37
53
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Esko, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We chose this resort as our hide a way from the rest of our wedding party and it did not disappoint. We had a bit of a hiccup checking in, but the overnight staff and Mark (the owner) did everything right and were very prompt about fixing it. Spent part of the night watching ships go into the harbor from the balcony under the night sky. So peaceful and an amazing way to finish our wedding day. Would recommend this to everyone and can't be more pleased with service we received.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Beacon Pointe Resort! We hope you come back soon to make more life long memories and maybe catch a peek at some more ships!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived in our room, the carpeting was badly stained and did not look clean, the blanket on the bad also did not appear clean. I called the desk and Lesly came to our room, she agreed with my assessment and immediately apologized and took me to the desk to find another room. She was excellent at customer service! They upgraded our room at no additional charge. It took a little while to get moved but our new room appeared cleaner although the carpets still had some spots. Would stay again. Breakfast average.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We appreciate every guest stay and believe that each and every experience with us should be all positive. We apologize that your expectations were not met, and if you’ll give us the chance, we would like to try and make it right. Please contact the General Manager Mark Crowl through his email, mark@beaconpointeduluth.com. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights hear over the 4th of July. The room was clean, the view was perfect. We had a 3rd floor room with a great balcony overlooking Lake Superior. We could see all the way from downtown Duluth to quite a ways up the coast. Our only complaint during our entire stay was on the night of the 4th. We had order in pizza and planned to sit on our balcony and watch all the fireworks in the area. The Guests in the unit directly below our apparently did not feel that the no smoking rule applied to them and we were forced to go inside as we are both very allergic to smoke.

Room Tip: We had 303A and had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort! We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us! We have a non smoking policy here at Beacon Pointe. We are truly sorry that other guests did not follow this policy, and we were unable to better the situation. If you give us the chance, we would like to make it right! When reserving your next stay, please contact our general manager, Mark Crowl at mark@beaconpointe.com We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

We are from the Twin Cities, familiar with Duluth and were looking for a quiet place to read, relax, recooperate from a number of busy months and really enjoyed our choice. The hotel was hardly booked on our thurs and Friday, and did get a number of families on the weekend which is a bummer for kid noise but expected in a hotel. We loved sitting by our fireplace all day reading, and string at the lake. Very clean, really liked the full kitchen, and the comp breakfast was not disappointing. This has become our place of choice in Duluth. Oh not to mention underground parking was a hit, ESP in MN in the winter and those strong cold winds off the lake!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Here for grandma's marathon with son, DIL and granddaughter age 1. Very spacious room for al of us. Excellent condition. Nicely situated on the lake and lake walk

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

When you first walk in - the lake is right there... 20 feet from your window. That's the great part. The rest of the hotel would be fine for a low-cost budget hotel, but this is definitely not. They have a smoking area right outside of the hotel, right along the beach. That means that you are going to be breathing smoke in if you leave the windows open. The beds are poor, the walls are paper thin, and the balconies face each other (which means that you'll be enjoying your neighbor's whispered conversations), the breakfast makes a budget motel look upscale, and the price is really high. Our recent stay in NYC cost less.

Enough griping. Here are the good parts: Friendly staff - they tried to help. The walking/biking trail starts right out the door. Did I mention the lake? Good kitchenette - after the first breakfast, we just did our own, and a fun city to explore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
We appreciate every guest stay and believe that each and every experience with us should be all positive. We apologize that your expectations were not met, and if you’ll give us the chance, we would like to try and make it right. Please contact the General Manager Mark Crowl through his email, mark@beaconpointeduluth.com. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Address: 2100 Water Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.