We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scarium at the Aquarium” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lakes Aquarium

Great Lakes Aquarium
353 Harbor Drive, I-35, exit 256B, Duluth, MN 55802
218 740 3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 74 things to do in Duluth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only aquarium in the U.S. that focuses on freshwater exhibits, this three-story waterfront structure is ready for public viewing after a year and a half and almost $34 million. Plenty of interactive exhibits and re-created habitats are fun and educational for children.
Superior
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Scarium at the Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Attended Scarium at the Aquarium October 27th with our grand daughters ages 2 1/2 and 8 months. Lots of fun Halloween games, activities, and treats! The admission was $16.50 for adults and children in costume were free. There was a photo booth and we received two copies of the photos. Most of the games were toddler friendly and the 2 year old loved them. Prizes consisted of pencils, plastic Halloween themed rings, and other themed prizes. There was a complimentary build your own sundae bar. The aquarium exhibits were very enjoyable and educational. The multistory fish tank filled with many different types of fish species was fun to watch. The otter show was fun and interesting to watch. The 2 1/2 year old greatly enjoyed playing in the interactive locks exhibit. Will return!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    71
    57
    36
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An Interesting Attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a freshwater aquarium that features animals and habitats found within the Great Lakes Basin. The Aquarium houses turtles, fish, birds and some non-native live exhibits, as well as many other interesting items for viewing.

This is an attraction for all ages, but especially interesting for kids. The kids get especially excited with the opportunity to see the otter exhibit and otter feeding up-close.

The Aquarium is an easy walk from the Canal Park hospitality area..

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Lakes Aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We are glad we took the afternoon to explore this wonderful aquarium. First of all, it is not a cheap place to visit; $27.00 for two seniors to visit is a lot of money to spend. I feel also that it was worth every penny we spent. Other Aquariums show ocean marine life; they show marine life in Lake Superior and along its shores. This museum has a very unusual mission and it does it well. It costs money to present it properly. We have been to the Shedd Aquarium in Chicago which I consider the best in the United States and this compares favorably with the Shedd. The Great Lakes Aquarium is in Duluth not Chicago; quite a contrast in population. The quality I have seen at the Shedd is present in this Aquarium, and I mean by that world class. We found the gift shop to be small but well stocked. There is a soft drink machine on the 2nd floor but no snack bar. The view of the harbor is wonderful. The Aquarium is easy access from I-35 and within walking distance from Canal Park Hotels and Restaurants. We found the staff knowledgeable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very well done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We wished we'd had more time here. We arrived in town later in the day and only had about an hour to spend here. We thought it was very informative about the Great Lakes and the species that live there. It was more interesting to us, possibly, because we also live near a Great Lake. There was a lot of information about the geology of the area, and I never realized how many species of fish are right here! There was also information about the intruders and invasive fish that are causing harm. My favorite animal is the seahorse, so it's always special to see a seahorse exhibit, and this aquarium had one, with pot-bellied seahorses - so it's not JUST about the Great Lakes. They had some exhibits of other fish, as well. All in all, it was well worth the time and money. We tend to cut places like this a little slack, as they are non-profit and trying to do the best they can with limited funds.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
163 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Crazy Expenisve for nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you have nothing else to do and it is raining perhaps you might want to chekc out the great lakes aquarium. For a family of 4 it would cost at least $50 or more depending on age of children. This places takes 60-90 minutes to experience. Ouch. It is cool, but it is not much different than any other zoo/aquarium you have been to or could go to (minus the sturgeon in the large tank, but cabelas has them to see for free elswhere). They overspent developing this place and now customers pay for it. Not worth the money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Lakes Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lakes Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.