We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lakes Aquarium” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lakes Aquarium

Great Lakes Aquarium
353 Harbor Drive, I-35, exit 256B, Duluth, MN 55802
218 740 3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 47 Attractions in Duluth
Type: Aquariums, Natural History Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The only aquarium in the U.S. that focuses on freshwater exhibits, this three-story waterfront structure is ready for public viewing after a year and a half and almost $34 million. Plenty of interactive exhibits and re-created habitats are fun and educational for children.
Minneapolis Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Lakes Aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We are glad we took the afternoon to explore this wonderful aquarium. First of all, it is not a cheap place to visit; $27.00 for two seniors to visit is a lot of money to spend. I feel also that it was worth every penny we spent. Other Aquariums show ocean marine life; they show marine life in Lake Superior and along its shores. This museum has a very unusual mission and it does it well. It costs money to present it properly. We have been to the Shedd Aquarium in Chicago which I consider the best in the United States and this compares favorably with the Shedd. The Great Lakes Aquarium is in Duluth not Chicago; quite a contrast in population. The quality I have seen at the Shedd is present in this Aquarium, and I mean by that world class. We found the gift shop to be small but well stocked. There is a soft drink machine on the 2nd floor but no snack bar. The view of the harbor is wonderful. The Aquarium is easy access from I-35 and within walking distance from Canal Park Hotels and Restaurants. We found the staff knowledgeable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    58
    42
    29
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very well done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We wished we'd had more time here. We arrived in town later in the day and only had about an hour to spend here. We thought it was very informative about the Great Lakes and the species that live there. It was more interesting to us, possibly, because we also live near a Great Lake. There was a lot of information about the geology of the area, and I never realized how many species of fish are right here! There was also information about the intruders and invasive fish that are causing harm. My favorite animal is the seahorse, so it's always special to see a seahorse exhibit, and this aquarium had one, with pot-bellied seahorses - so it's not JUST about the Great Lakes. They had some exhibits of other fish, as well. All in all, it was well worth the time and money. We tend to cut places like this a little slack, as they are non-profit and trying to do the best they can with limited funds.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
416 helpful votes 416 helpful votes
“Crazy Expenisve for nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you have nothing else to do and it is raining perhaps you might want to chekc out the great lakes aquarium. For a family of 4 it would cost at least $50 or more depending on age of children. This places takes 60-90 minutes to experience. Ouch. It is cool, but it is not much different than any other zoo/aquarium you have been to or could go to (minus the sturgeon in the large tank, but cabelas has them to see for free elswhere). They overspent developing this place and now customers pay for it. Not worth the money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Knows its place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A lot of aquariums show you fish from all over the world, the stranger or rarer the better. This aquarium does a great job with (mostly) just the fish from the Great Lakes area, naming its display areas after local places like "St. Louis River" and then featuring aquatic life from there. It's not real big; you can see the whole thing in two hours even if you systematically read all of the information posted, but be sure to allow another hour or two if your kids discover the toy boats in the Great Lakes play-pond! The displays are really very well done, and the demonstrations-- fish-feeding, turtle and sturgeon petting-- shouldn't be missed, if they are on when you're there. The schedule is usually posted online.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveleth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sums up the aquatic life of Minnesota with a few added extras.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My entire family enjoyed this trip as this was our first time visiting this aquarium. The staff is very helpful and the exhibits are worth a look at least once. My children 5 and 8 really liked being able to lower the underwater camera into the big tank. Overall if you've never been here and are interested in Minnesota history and fish this is worth the stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Lakes Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lakes Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.