We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sums up the aquatic life of Minnesota with a few added extras.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lakes Aquarium

Great Lakes Aquarium
353 Harbor Drive, I-35, exit 256B, Duluth, MN 55802
218 740 3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 47 attractions in Duluth
Type: Aquariums, Natural History Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The only aquarium in the U.S. that focuses on freshwater exhibits, this three-story waterfront structure is ready for public viewing after a year and a half and almost $34 million. Plenty of interactive exhibits and re-created habitats are fun and educational for children.
Eveleth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sums up the aquatic life of Minnesota with a few added extras.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My entire family enjoyed this trip as this was our first time visiting this aquarium. The staff is very helpful and the exhibits are worth a look at least once. My children 5 and 8 really liked being able to lower the underwater camera into the big tank. Overall if you've never been here and are interested in Minnesota history and fish this is worth the stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    55
    42
    28
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice when travelling with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went here with our 2 year old. She was so excited by all the fish and we were there on the day that the volunteer divers were cleaning the tanks which made for a more exciting visit. The exhibit showing the great lakes locks was great for her to do some water play. She could not get enough. Price is a little steep for the size but with a stay at some of the hotels you can get a price break. We stayed at Edgewater and our ticket price was $11 instead of $16.50

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Earth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Improvements making it better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We've been here three times and it seems like they are working towards making it better each time. It's expensive but we usually get discount passes somewhere and then walk from our hotel to save on the cost. You can no longer feed the fish in the big tank, but there was probably good reason for it. Give it a try but don't expect large tanks that you walk through. My 3 1/2 year old LOVES the treehouse area and the water area with the boats.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ehh..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

First off, it was VERY overpriced. $16.50 for an adult?? I was told we could feed stingrays but that didn't happen. I wish I had known it was only freshwater fish before I went. It was more of an educational thing than an aquarium. The gift shop was a huge disappointment.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,091 reviews 1,091 reviews
763 attraction reviews
Reviews in 307 cities Reviews in 307 cities
808 helpful votes 808 helpful votes
“Is the only issue the cost?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are seniors and spend more than the admission price on a bad lunch at times, so no big deal. I do think there should be a family rate that caps the cost because young families are not going to spend 60+ dollars for this Aquarium. We went late in the day because we wanted to see the Aerial Bridge by night as well as the Canal Park area. The exhibits are kid friendly and children will enjoy the touch and feel parts. Adults will not be as excited about the place. It needs an infusion of financial support from some good fund raising so the costs can be lowered. They are high because the place can't make it on its own. Too bad I do not see a bright future for this Aquarium.
The Canal Park is free and has more to appeal to families...go at night it is beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Lakes Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lakes Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Great Lakes Aquarium to your Saves list