We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aquarium is just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lakes Aquarium

Great Lakes Aquarium
353 Harbor Drive, I-35, exit 256B, Duluth, MN 55802
218 740 3474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 84 things to do in Duluth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only aquarium in the U.S. that focuses on freshwater exhibits, this three-story waterfront structure is ready for public viewing after a year and a half and almost $34 million. Plenty of interactive exhibits and re-created habitats are fun and educational for children.
Duluth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Aquarium is just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The exhibits need to get better---but it's educational and fun. An easy way to spend a couple of hours and watching the boats from the lookout decks is superb.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    67
    52
    35
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were very disappointed when we were in the Aquarium. Some of the tanks were hard to see into. Glass on the outside was dusty, inside some were fogged over. Not impressed at all. It might be ok if you have little kids. They did have some interactive stuff for children to play with. For the price we paid after a AAA discount, it was still over priced. There was nowhere to get a light lunch or anything to eat either.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
596 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Small...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

It's small, kind of expensive ($16.50 for an adult), and not really an aquarium you might be used to in other cities. It has exhibits related to the history of Lake Superior. So if you're interested in learning about the fish that inhabit the area this is a must see. Also, no reciprocal memberships with other cities.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindstrom, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family time at the aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The kids and adults all found it very informative and some on hands things for the kids. Very educational.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Change the name!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is not an aquarium! There is water & there are fish, but it is not an aquarium. Do not go here thinking that it is, you will be disappointed. However, if you go with the idea that this is a Lake Superior Water Experience, or maybe the Water Museum, (???), you'll love it. It truly is an amazing place! The exhibit starts out talking about how the area was once covered with molten lava, why there are no dinosaur fossils in MN, how glaciers carved the landscape, then you get into the animals; lake, stream, wet land, river animals including fish, amphibians, birds, reptiles & otters. There is a display on the Great Lake ships & navigation...the kids can pretend to drive a boat. Huge display of the great lakes where kids can navigate toy boats through the great lakes demonstrating how the locks works, eventually leading to the atlantic ocean. There's a hands-on display on the water cycle (evaporation, condensation, precipitation) that feeds a river, leading to the great lakes where the toy ships are. A large area dedicated to beautiful photos of the lakes; conservation efforts of large lakes around the world & what we can learn from them; marine animals (including coral!!!) dedicated to camoflage; pollution & conservation games, etc. See what I mean??? It's not an aquarium...but well worth your time to visit. After 2 hrs, we had to drag my 8 & 6 yr olds out of there...they loved it...so did we for that matter.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Lakes Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lakes Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.