We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Train No Show & No Information” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Superior & Mississippi Railroad

Lake Superior & Mississippi Railroad
Grand Avenue (Highway 23), PO Box 16211, Duluth, MN 55816
218-624-7549
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 47 attractions in Duluth
Type: Scenic Railroads
Attraction Details
London, England
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
163 attraction reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Train No Show & No Information”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I waited for the train but it didn't appear. I found out, by chance, that the railway was suspended due to flood problems. I accept that this can happen, but a sign on the ticket office should have been displayed to this effect. Very disappointed

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The trains are reasonably priced and comfortable. A 90 minute trip was just right - fun to see and learn more about the city. Kids will adore taking a "real" train ride!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth, mn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best train ride in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The scenery is awesome! River views are incredible, lots of wildlife, they tell the history of the riverfront. I recommend this to all people coming to Duluth - locals too!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable train ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

It's definatly not high speed rail, but the leisure pace and the river Scenery made for a relaxing ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We rode in an open car on a beautiful sunny day. The train runs only on Sat and Sun mid June thru Mid October so times to ride are limited. Train departs at 10:30 and 1:30. It is a great ride however. The whole operation is run by volunteers. One of the guys took the young kids into the locomotive before the ride to see the engine and look out the window and to provide a picture opportunity for the parents. Since there is road construction in Duluth this year, there were detailed directions to the train. However, we missed our turn and went back to it. It is not well marked. There is just a small building where you buy the tickets. They are hoping to raise money to build a larger building. No restrooms there before you board but there are two restrooms on board.
Great ride--very scenic and it was a narrated ride. Just water available for purchase.
They did sell a couple items on board the ride.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Superior & Mississippi Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior & Mississippi Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Superior & Mississippi Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Superior & Mississippi Railroad to your Saves list