We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, good food, negative check-in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Hwy 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Detroit Lakes
Gainesville, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, good food, negative check-in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Overall this was a very good location for us - stayed two nights and enjoyed the comfortable beds, on site restaurant (breakfast was great!) and outside seating a definite plus. Beach area was great. Negative check-in with Olivia - she is not a front line person for customers; probably should have another position not dealing directly with customers. The next day however, Heidi at the front desk was wonderful -- smiled and was very courteous. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us, we greatly appreciate the feedback. I would like to address your check-in concerns but have limited information. If you would be kind enough to email me some specifics at gm@dlinn.com I would use the information as a training opportunity to improve our check-in delivery.
Thank you again for your feedback and hope to see you back at the hotel soon.
Respectfully
Douglas Anselmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
28
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yellowstone MT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice, well kept rooms, services, and beautiful beach and scenery Had a wedding there and everyone was really accommodating. Fun bar, attentive staff, and busy, busy, kareoke night and great, very helpful and pleasant hotel staff.

Room Tip: There is a lot of noise if your'e poolside during the day and until about 10 pm. fun if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to providing the same high level of service on future visits as well.
Respectfully
Douglas Anselmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed at The Holiday Inn in Detroit Lakes many times however the housekeeping was very poor and the room and washroom were not cleaned except for making the beds and supplying new towels. Friend's checked in on the same day as us and found a large piece of broken glass on the floor in their room.

We did complain however nothing was done although they did offer to clean the room again, the next day the room was just as bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Roger B,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our housekeeping staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights August 5-7th 2013 to celebrate my Moms birthday, we are thinking of making it an annual event, this is our second year so far. Last year we had a room on the lakeside, walking right out and that was so nice. This year the room was just as nice inside but we were on the parking lot side, actually overlooking the employee smoke/break area. Not a pleasant view… but that didn’t bother me too bad. However, if you are booking, I would suggest trying to avoid around room #228.

Front desk/Check-in: Smooth and easy. However we were not given any information on pool, gym, dining, etc hours. Basically just given a key, she was polite enough but certainly did not go out of her way by any means.

Pool area – nice as always.
Lake area – great beach area, the shore area was cleaner then last year.

Overall everything in regards to the room and hotel itself were good. HOWEVER, I had one of the worst experiences I have ever had in a restaurant (and I eat out quite a bit). The waiters name was John and I really wish I had seen his last name (I am sure Management can figure out who he was, he was our breakfast server on Tue 8/6/13 a.m.). We waited forever for him to come over in the first place (watched this happen to other tables as well), so first asked for coffee and water, he brought the water but no coffee, when he came back to get our order we ordered breakfast and again asked for the coffee (second time)…. After about 15 minutes the food order was delivered – still without the coffee (we again asked – third time now). So he finally comes back with a pitcher of coffee and a cup – inside of the cup was a bunch of yellow, like really thick I would say either cheese sauce or mustard, and I do not mean just a little bit, it was smeared everywhere. Obviously the cup was grabbed off the dirty pile. After all of this, just a quick “sorry” and walks away. Unbelievable. Needless to say that was the last meal in the restaurant which is a shame because they really do have good food. And the best bruschetta I have ever had, we especially love the lakeside dining and sitting out on the patio. I am hoping that this was a fluke and maybe he is not a regular server?

We will be back, it is a great location and I will give them another chance being as the dining was the only flop of the trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear trs333,

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. I highly appreciate your compliments on our pool area, rooms and hotel. I am also delighted that you had a smooth experience at check in.

Whilst I am very pleased with your positive comments, I am truly sorry for the poor experience and service issues you had in our restaurant area. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you.

Thank you for always choosing us. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a great time at the Holiday Inn @ Detroit Lakes, MN. The staff was most impressive. Heidi and Sheila at the front desk were great and very helpful. Our housekeeper, Liz, was outstanding, providing great service with a friendly and helpful attitude. The hotel is right on the lake with a nice beach. There are docks to dock your boat whether you are staying at the hotel or just stopping by to eat at the restaurant or enjoy a beverage and listen to music on the patio. The food is great and you can enjoy a meal inside or outside. In late afternoon, it was fun to sip on a glass of wine, view the lake and enjoy some music. The service and staff in the restaurant and bar are very helpful and friendly. The only negative was that the window of our room on second floor viewed a hallway. However it was very nicely furnished and quiet. Great place to stay while visiting Detroit Lakes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that views the lake if you want an outside window. Some might like a room viewing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with our team as the positive comments are always appreciated. Thank you for staying and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Respectfully
Doug Anselmin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great place to stay while in Detroit Lakes. We especially enjoyed being able to eat and have drinks out on the patio overlooking the lake. There was entertainment on the one night -- a guy singing and playing guitar. Breakfast was surprisingly very reasonably priced. We weren't bothered by the trains as others have commented on. We didn't use the pool, but it looked like a fun area for families. All the staff were very friendly with a smile and a greeting every time. I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is geared to a seasonal vacation clientele. As a business traveler I found the hotel outdated and lacking in the comforts a 48 week traveler desires. The rooms were adequate but dated. DON’T accept a room on the street side, you will deal with a train every ½ hour or so. Very disturbing if you’re trying to get a good night sleep. The “Business Center” was a computer and a cheap inkjet printer in the lobby.
Housekeeping was not up to par. I needed to ask for towels and coffee supplies after the room was serviced. Otherwise it was up to an adequate standard.
I ate dinner in the lounge both nights I was there. The Bruschetta was OK but the recipe could have been better if fresh mozzarella and basil was used and add a touch of Pancetta. The second evening I had the chicken strips. It was breaded with a corn meal and fried. It tasted a bit “fishy”, maybe fried in the same oil as fish? Tasty but not the best.
The lounge staff was friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was tinged by the manager barking constantly at the waitress. I understand that the manager (Paul) is responsible for training his staff, but such derogatory comments and vocal badgering should not be done in front of the customer. The waitress (Kaylee) was outwardly disturbed and shaken from his remarks and it reflected in the quality of service. Such “training” should be conducted out of the eyes of the customer. It is a window to the unprofessionalism Paul executes his managerial duties. If he projects this degree of disrespect to his employees in public there is no telling how he interacts with them in private.
Overall if you stay for the lake A+, if you’re staying for the hotel B-.

Room Tip: Don't book a room on the road/train side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes

Address: 1155 Hwy 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the north shore of beautiful Big Detroit Lake. The hotel has one hundred and three sleeping rooms. There is a seven hundred foot stretch of sandy beach and free docking facilities available for our summertime guests to enjoy. We are adjacent to miles of beautifully groomed snowmobile and cross-country ski trails. Our indoor recreation center offers a swimming pool, whirlpool, Sauna, video arcade and fitness center. Our outdoor amenities include children's playground, picnic area, bicycles, kayaks, canoes and paddleboats. We also offer pontoons and fishing boats for rent at our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes Hotel Detroit Lakes
Detroit Lakes Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.