We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 Hwy 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aitkin, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed this hotel!!! The service was wonderful there is a pool, cafe, a bar for a younger crowd and a great breakfast buffet! The rooms were beautiful too and the beds were comfortable! We stayed for a wedding and the room was cheap, only $75!! Would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    27
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
31
31
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, SD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have stayed at a couple hotels in the area when we travel for business, but this one is the best one & value so far. It is right on the lake & the beach is nice. The resteraunt inside has incredible food & they are super friendly. We ate on the bar side, and it wasn't too loud and had a great atmosphere. The beds are really comfortable *some of the best hotel beds I have come across* and they have different pillows from hard to soft to ensure a good nights sleep.

They did say that on the weekends in the summer the bar gets pretty wound up though. The pool is large and warm, they have a nice arcade, a sauna, hot tub and fitness area. Some of the fitness equiptment is worn out and doesnt work properly, but I'ms ure thats because they are plenty of parents who let their kids run amock and not keep an eye on them, and destroy things.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipestone, Minnesota
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I was here only for a meeting, did not stay here, the meeting room was nice and they had the most comfortable chairs!! We asked the front desk what brand they were so we could get some at our office!

The women's restroom by the meeting rooms could use some work. It was clean and appeared nice until I went into the stall. The toilet has some yellow discoloration on the seat and I was a bit turned off by that and the fact that there was toilet paper scraps on the floor :(.

We ordered food from the place in the hotel and it was good as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for your remarks and hope you were able to find the chairs for your office.

You should know, we replaced the discolored seat in our meeting room restroom facility. Also, we reviewed our daily housekeeping check-list and improved our processes.

Thanks to your comments, we have made some great detail improvments. Thank you for choosing us for your meeting location and we hope to see your group again soon!

SIncerely,

Jeff Jasperson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Il
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed at Best Western in the summer and wanted to try a place with a real restaurant and bar .Inn had a wedding booked the wekend we were there .Party`s continued in the 4 th floor rooms and hallways long after bar was closed .Tried to reason with partiers at one point result was to be cursed at and threatened Called ft desk at 3 am and no answer .Nice location but definaitly a party type atmosphere Noise comes up from beach and echos off the walls into the rooms .Non stop noise all night Restaurant is good but average ----------- Manager called to follow up on complaint but way tooo late Offered a free night but damage was done ----------never again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Wbgb,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Visited this hotel for sons racing event on January 2012. Very much a family environment mixed in with plenty of room for adults & entertainment. Entire weekend the hotel provided staff members everywhere with prompt professional service. Facility was clean, odor free & our room overlooking Big Detroit Lake was fabulous. From heading up to the room for quiet time to attending the race event & swimming in the pool this place was filled with activity for everyone. On Sunday there was a breakfast buffet served that featured fresh hot waffles off the grill. These & all the ingredients to go with them are worth coming back for alone. Food service & menu was wonderful. Would definitely recommend Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes for a family event. A fun time was had by all & we look forward to return visit.

Room Tip: Lakeside view room was excellent however the pool side view rooms seemed just fine also. Our room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurium, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This hotel was comfortable and clean but they weren't totally pet friendly. We had to use a sperate door that was extremely out of the way from our room. The hotel is probably great in the summer when its warm but we stayed in early Dec. and there was awful cold temps and high wind, our room had trouble staying warm.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel may be very comfortable for a stay on the lake, however it is unfit as a venue for a professional gathering of any sort. A group that I am a member of has held a bi-annual event here for the past few years. Since the hotel has been taken under "new management" it has been an awful experience each time. Our last meeting in the fall was chaos as they had double booked our conference rooms that weekend, and kept making us have our dinners in the pool room and the bar. We were not informed of this in advance, and little was done to make amends or even apology. We were recently informed that our reservation for the spring has been canceled as they now have a higher billing function that weekend. Our reservation was made almost two years in advance, yet they chose not to honor their commitment.

Also the hotel has shown incredible lack of professional business communication. We received no phone call and the email notifying us had dozens of basic grammatical errors.

Very poor. Unacceptable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Please accept my apologies for my delay in responding to your commentary.

Moving forward from January, we have made significant improvements to our organization with focus on communication.

The structure we now provide has proven to be effective in every aspect. Comments such as yours have created a training environment for our Guest Service Team in the name of improving our overall guest experiences.

I look forward to earning your trust in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me directly for any and all accomodations that I may personally assist.


Sincerely,



Jeff Jasperson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes

Address: 1155 Hwy 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the north shore of beautiful Big Detroit Lake. The hotel has one hundred and three sleeping rooms. There is a seven hundred foot stretch of sandy beach and free docking facilities available for our summertime guests to enjoy. We are adjacent to miles of beautifully groomed snowmobile and cross-country ski trails. Our indoor recreation center offers a swimming pool, whirlpool, Sauna, video arcade and fitness center. Our outdoor amenities include children's playground, picnic area, bicycles, kayaks, canoes and paddleboats. We also offer pontoons and fishing boats for rent at our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes Hotel Detroit Lakes
Detroit Lakes Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.