We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Suprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   615 Highway 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
North Dakota, United States
1 review
“Very Suprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

From check in to check out the stay was great. I traveled with 2 large dogs and our room had outside ground floor access making it very easy to deal with taking the dogs in and out. The room was clean and comfortable, the pool area was nice with the upstairs seating area. The breakfast in the morning was more then just cereal or waffles (they also had pancakes!)). Over all a great stay and I will definitely be staying there again if ever in the area. At check in I was given treats for the dogs and constantly throughout my stay if I met a employee they were kind and always asked if I needed anything or how my stay was going.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    36
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
87
40
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was a Best Western Plus, Plus Plus, rooms clean, excellent staff. Hotel in a great location. Breakfast was very good. very , Excellent, Excellent Excellent, Excellent, Excellent a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

4 couples rented two rooms - - they were clean and roomy and we were very pleased with our stay. The breakfast is over the top with pancakes and waffles - scrambled eggs and ham and all the extras like bagels - yogurt - fruit - cereal and more. Would recommend for all types of travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Positives- Great location with clean, updated, and nice rooms and courteous staff!

Negatives- We were not able to use the pool as there was a huge party of intoxicated locals using it. The same group also made noise outside the rooms and loitered outside smoking.

The room was also very loud at night. About every hour the heater turned on making some loud noises and waking us up.

Overpriced for the experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland_house_mgmt, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We appreciate your recent stay with us and feedback about your experience. Please accept our apologies for any disturbance other guests at the facility may have caused, which negatively affected your overall stay. In the future, if there is anything we can do to help make your stay more comfortable, we hope you will call our front desk. We have staff ready & willing to assist guests 24/7. If you'd be kind enough to contact us with the room number you stayed in, we'd love the opportunity to follow up on the noise you mentioned. We will pass along your compliment about clean rooms to our Housekeepers. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to "Our House" so you we can regain your confidence and provide a great value to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I found the hotel to be very clean. The pool area was somewhat small and very noisy. The upper level of this area was slightly quieter.There was no enclosed area between the two separate buildings so if you were to use the pool area from the office building you would have to go outside into the cold. Also there is no elevators in either buildings. The free breakfast was very good and well stocked with eggs, sausage, pancakes, waffles, rolls, fruit cold cereals and breads and juices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I ended up booking the whirlpool suite through the Best Western phone line. When we arrived we found that the layout was in a motel format with entrances to the outside, which was fine. The service at the front desk was very courteous and helpful every time we interacted with them. When we got to our suite, we were disappointed to see that it was not as updated as the other rooms pictured online at the hotel. The carpet had a stale smell to it and the floor was actually uneven and creaky in some spots. The room did have a balcony off the back, which would be very nice in the summer. Breakfast in the morning was good, but we had to take it back to our room as all spots in the dining room, lobby, and office area were taken. The pool was located in a separate building and it was very cold the weekend we stayed, so that made for a chilly walk. There were no lockers or storage areas in the pool building for coats and shoes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland_house_mgmt, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at "Our House". I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important and we will use your feedback to implement improvements to offer a better experience for guests in the future. We are glad to hear you like the updated look of our recent renovations, represented by photos accompanying those specific room types when booking on-line. Remodeling our remaining 23 rooms, including the whirlpool suite, is currently underway; scheduled to be completed by Summer. We are confident guests will enjoy the results our next phase of remodeling, upon completion. We noted your carpet comments & had maintenance look into it. We also appreciate your positive feedback about the service you received. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a GREAT place to stay whether it's for business or leisure. The rooms are clean, and the staff is super. You can't beat the hot breakfast and the coffee is excellent!. The rooms are spacious, well kept and the beds are very comfy. This hotel is a great choice if you have kids also! It's a family oriented place that will suit your business needs as well. Definitely a 5 plus star hotel. Thank you and see you soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House

Address: 615 Highway 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Detroit Lakes
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Holland House Hotel Detroit Lakes
Best Western Detroit Lakes
Detroit Lakes Best Western
Best Western Holland Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.