We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in Detroit Lakes, MN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 East Shore Drive, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501 (Formerly The Lodge on Lake Detroit)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Detroit Lakes, MN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great views, comfortable bed, clean room and bath, very inviting lobby and a free hot breakfast. The meeting room was very comfortable, large enough and conveniently located off the lobby area. I would recommend to anyone traveling for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    36
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
87
98
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horace
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I accidentally left a phone charger in the room. After repeated emails, I finally got housekeeping to get it from the place it was left. They then offered to mail it to me. Well, they pulled the o'l, "lost in the mail" excuse. I spoke with the manager and she said she and would look into it and call me back within the week. That is were it was left, still no phone call or phone charger. I know this is not important to you, but it is too me. All the manager on the phone could say was how busy they have been and how swamped she is. And that is your guests problem? Nice hotel, poor customer service if you leave something.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceCreator, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We appreciate your recent stay! Please accept our deepest apologies for the frustration you experienced while waiting for your cell phone charger to be returned.  As our GM shared with you in a follow up phone call, the hotel did locate your charger on the same day your first e-mail was received and it was mailed; bookkeeping verified the check matching the Post Office receipt has been cashed. We were saddened to learn from this review that your charger still has not arrived, and conclude that it, unfortunately, was mailed to the wrong address.  We feel horribly for your inconvenience and have credited you the replacement cost of a phone charger. This has presented an opportunity to review & improve our Lost & Found return procedures. We are taking steps to ensure this situation does not happen again.  Your business is very important to us & we value each & every guest. We hope you will give us another chance to serve your lodging needs so we may illustrate that what happened was an unfortunate exception to our normally high level of service. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

In the past I've had hit-and-miss experiences at Best Western's, so I was just a little apprehensive about The Lodge. No need. Everything about the place is 1st rate. The rooms are perfect; large, modern, quiet and exceptionally clean. The view out the patio doors is wonderful. All rooms face a beautiful lawn and a sparkling lake. The employees were exceptionally friendly and helpful. While The Lodge doesn't have a restaurant, per se, they do have a nice bar and evening snacks (we didn't get to try the snacks). They also serve an excellent breakfast that is included with the room. I couldn't recommend The Lodge more. I just wish we'd had a couple more days there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent the night at the Best Western Premier "The Lodge on Lake Detroit". We spent the day at Maplewood State Park enjoying the leaves and then came to this beautiful motel. The check-in experience was great. The room was very clean. We had a balcony room overlooking the lake and watched a gorgeous sunset. The room had all the amenities that we needed. We had a drink in the lounge and enjoyed the outdoor deck. Best yet, we got the room for free with the Best Western summer promotion. We would go back to this motel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were SO IMPRESSED with Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit! It was more than we could even imagine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our lake side room had a beautiful view of Detroit Lake and the natural surrounding landscape with outstanding colors of fall foliage! Loved the clean and spacious room and bathroom with cozy decor! The beds were SO comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was the BEST we have ever experienced at a hotel stay! "The Spa Within" was a bonus feature of the outstanding lodging experience! With the sandy beach front, paddle boat, a quaint downtown, local dining and golfing this was a trip we will remember for many years! We would love to return to vacation at Detroit Lakes and would definitely choose to stay at The Lodge again.

Room Tip: Third floor room had a beautiful view of Detroit Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

our only regret was that we didnt come earlier in the year. was absolutley stunning. clean emaculate, views emaculate, staff and service superb,the bed and pillows like heaven, the sunset beautiful,cant waite to go back, may not be able to wait till next summer, may have to take a winter trip and get the room with the fire place and jaquzzi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

First of all this hotel is gorgeous. It is also filled with great, friendly staff. Each room is lake front which is amazing. We were on the 3rd floor so our view was great. There is an elevator so it's not a big deal to get up there. The breakfast was delicious, the rooms are super clean, and the bathroom is beautiful. I have never been so impressed by a hotel bathroom before. Our room was quiet, the room next door had 3 young kids and we couldn't hear them at all. The beds are really comfortable. I was sad to leave and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: I would go with a 3rd floor room to have a great view or a main floor room to have easy access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit

Address: 1200 East Shore Drive, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501 (Formerly The Lodge on Lake Detroit)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Lodge On Lake Detroit Hotel Detroit Lakes
Hotel On Lake Detroit
On Lake Detroit Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.