We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat Bliss!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 East Shore Drive, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501 (Formerly The Lodge on Lake Detroit)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bismarck, North Dakota
2 reviews
“Retreat Bliss!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Lodge is located on the shores of Lake Detroit in Detroit Lakes, MN and has the ambiance that will make your experience a memorable one. When you walk in, the décor really fits the atmosphere and you’ll know you’ve made the right choice for your stay. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. They have the best continental breakfast and you get to enjoy it by overlooking the lake. During the day you can soak up the sun on their beach and in the evenings you can enjoy a bonfire by the lake. This is one of the best hotels I’ve stayed in and I’d recommend it anyone looking for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side room and you'll get to enjoy a sunset every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    36
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
87
98
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

It disappoints me to write this review as I've tried for several years now to to give this hotel every possible chance to do the write thing. They just never do. And frankly, I don't believe their repeated mistakes with reservations, charges or courtesy to be malicious - more just incompetence.

First we called to make a reservation. They didn't have any standard king rooms, but did have a family suite. To ensure we had somewhere to stay, we took the family suite and asked to be put on a waiting list for a standard king room. We were told this was no problem and it would be done. Weeks later we called to see if there had been any availability for standard king rooms, only to be told that we had NO reservation and were on the waiting list for a family suite... which we didn't even want. Moreover we missed out on any opportunities to GET a standard room because they did NOT have us on the waiting list for that room that entire period of time. At this time they DID get us a reservation for a standard queen room. While this hotel is fairly expensive for this area, we usually like to stay here if we can justify the costs. Well we decided even after all this confusion that the costs were not reasonable for a standard queen room and called to cancel everything all together. At that same time, we happen to see that we were charged $220 as a "deposit" on our credit card. REALLY?! We were told there was a 72hour prior to arrival cancellation policy, but we're charged a full nights stay 2 months in advance?! So we call to see what is up with this charge we were never told would take place. Initially we're told, you HAVE NO reservations here, BUT you WERE charged a deposit. HUH?! So we were charged a deposit on the rooms we do NOT have reservations for?! As the conversation progresses (or degrades frankly), we're then told we were never charged a deposit. Upon my insistence (while looking directly at my credit card statement), they then said, they DID charge us a deposit... on the room we DO have a reservation for. So now we DO have reservations?! What more important function is there at a hotel than being able to accurately place, keep and track reservations? This is not the first time this has happened to us here, however it will be the last. Then to top it all off Jim, the second person I talked to, tries to push back on me with a tone that implies that this was all in some way our fault?! It's terribly frustrating, but more that... disappointing. We love this hotel property, but the staff and management just can't seem to keep a reservation straight - the 3rd year in a row they've screwed up our reservation in some way. We'll gladly now downgrade to a lesser hotel property (and a much less price frankly), for our future twice a year trips to Detroit Lakes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceCreator, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your prior positive review & previous business. We were saddened to find this posting, after requests by you & your wife, through all of our Front Desk Staff & Mgmt, to book a room over a peak July weekend that required a minimum length of stay longer than you desired, plus a 1st night deposit to guarantee. Since The Lodge opened 6 years ago, our records show you’ve stayed 3x’s before; in Dec. of ’08, ’09 & ’10, in winter when booking requirements were less restrictive. We apologize for any inconvenience or frustration the summer reservation parameters may have caused. Here are the facts: On 2/12/12 your wife booked a Family Suite under her name. She called to cancel this at 8:51am on 5/7/12. Also on 5/7/12, at 8:46am, you called to reserve a Resort Room under your name, but hesitantly since you wanted only 1 night. The competent reservationist documented that you were informed of both the prepaid deposit & 3 Night Stay Requirement. On 5/20/12, you & your wife called the hotel separately. She asked about the room booked under her name; it wasn’t there because she cancelled it on 5/7/12. Next you called the hotel & cancelled the room under your name & the deposit was refunded. Respectfully, the valued employee who explained & processed your deposit, resigned, disheartened, shortly after reading this review-she said she felt her honesty & integrity were challenged & defamed. Our team strives to treat all guests with the upmost respect, kindness & courtesy they deserve. We sincerely apologize if you feel our team let you down & that we were not able to meet your requests & needs for this stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Either an updated or newer hotel, right on the lake with a gorgeous view!

Room Tip: Rooms very nice and modern. Hotel is pretty clean, but I do worry after is gets more use, that might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for one night at the hotel. The staff (Jasmine, Nancy) were great! The room had an incredible view. Although we did not use the amenities we could see how enjoyable a stay in Summer or Fall would have so much to offer. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast had all we required. Again, the staff were excellent. We will be returning in the fall! Hopefully there will be ATV trails nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I travel quite a bit in Minnesota for business and stay at many different types of hotels. The Lodge is by far the best. Each room faces the lake and has either a nice patio or balconey. The front desk staff (especially Jim) greet you with a smile and are always very welcoming. The hotel is very clean and quiet. The sunsets are beautiful. The rooms are very warm and spacious. The Lodge provides high end toiletries. I enjoy entering my room with the sootheing music thay have playing. The breakfast is great. They have a large selection from oth the waffle machine and a pancake machine to dry cerals, great breads and an egg bake. The spa within is a great option after a long day on the road. The beach area is very nice and includes a large firepit. There is a great selection of dining options close by to meet your every need. My favorite is the Fireside just up the road with a large outdoor seating area and good selection of food.

Room Tip: I love the room with queen beds. Those rooms have a very comfortable rocking chair I just love to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Recently I and several members of my extended family had the pleasure of staying at The Lodge for one night - but I wish our stay was longer! The staff is friendly and very helpful, the rooms are unbelievably pristine with nice eco-friendly touches. The lounge is warm and inviting, and the small bar is well-stocked with a wonderful bartender and top-notch drinks and appetizers, and the breakfast is quite excellent by any standard. Few hotel breakfasts can be called delicious, and The Lodge's is just that. Spa services are also offered at the hotel and, as expected, are very enjoyable.
We went in the off-season and so did not get to experience the lake shore s'mores pit or the balcony overlooking the lake but the view is phenomenal and it can only be assumed that in the summer the experience is twice as good.
We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I chose this hotel after arriving in Detroit Lakes midweek, and stayed for three nights. The front desk gave me a very nice deal, considerably cheaper than on-line services were reporting. This is a lake front hotel with all rooms facing Detroit Lake. The rooms are clean and large, the beds comfortable. There is also a nice day spa in the building, at which I enjoyed a nice 60 minutes sports massage. Service was good all around. My only complaint is that the wireless internet was too slow to allow me to watch Netflix on my tablet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit

Address: 1200 East Shore Drive, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501 (Formerly The Lodge on Lake Detroit)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Detroit Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Detroit Lakes
#1 Business Hotel in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Lodge On Lake Detroit Hotel Detroit Lakes
Hotel On Lake Detroit
On Lake Detroit Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.