We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for the money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   400 Morrow Ave, Hwy 10 & US 59, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Detroit Lakes
Brookings, SD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best value for the money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times for business travel in the area. The staff is always friendly and they always have the breakfast. It is by no means a 5 star hotel, but the rooms are cheap and it works for an overnight trip. The beds are a little hard, but not intolerable. There are resteraunts very close by & it is right off the highway so its easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at our facility. We are pleased to hear you are happy with your experience and that you are a repeat customer! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

For the price this hotel was especially nice. The only problem I had was the after the first day our kleenex had run out and was not replaced and we did not get more coffee for the pot in the room for the second morning. Overall it was a great value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvidetroitlakes, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate all information and strive to improve our performance to make future stays better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Looked at web site they show this big king room. Ended up a closet, small worn towels, stained tub, shower curtain on backwards. Nice breakfast, nice staff

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Il
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We were here 2 nights beginning July 4. Room was clean, breakfast good and internet worked well - what more can you ask?
The night we arrived severe storms were coming in. I asked the clerk about where to go in the event of a tornado - she quickly replied that the interior hallway of first floor was the place. I was impressed that there was a plan.
We had a flat tire with our rental car after checking out but they let me use their phone to call the rental place long distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

If you're looking for a clean hotel to crash for a day or three, then this will suit you fine. It's just your basic, basic bare bones hotel. No pool or anything like that just a room, TV and beds. There is a basic continental breakfast with waffles and muffins, which is the best feature.

So if you are just in the area and won't be at your hotel much and are looking for cheap lodging, this will get it done. I've been here several times and the rooms have always been clean. Note, this used to be a "Super 8" hotel and is very much still that same sort of hotel. However, it's hared to beat $50 per night these days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We have a wedding in Detroit Lakes this summer. Our guests only need accommodations for one night. I called this hotel three times to check on availability and cost. All times I was quoted the same price,and rooms were available.I requested to reserve a block of rooms, The clerks thought this was possible but I needed to speak to the manager. I have left two requests and in 7 days have not received a call. Guests called to make reservations and got the manager who was rude, would not make reservations for one night but insisted they only make reservations for two night stays and the cost increased by $30.00 above what I had been quoted and listed on the website.On top of this she told my guests about someone had called to block rooms and so on. This is not what I want my friends to experience! Our family is not from this area, this is a new location and experience. We have been received well by other hotels and plan to have a positive experience in this community. I would not recommend this hotel if you need to make multiple reservations your friends and family do not deserve this kind of treatment when you are coming for the first time to a location that has the potential of repeat business.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Our hockey team stayed here the first weekend in February, 2009. The pirce of the hotel rooms made us wonder what we may find.....upon arrival we found the desk clerks helpful, the rooms clean, the breakfast good, the hotel help tolerant of us and our hockey boys. Since hockey players can not swim while playing in tournaments, the lack of a pool did not affect us. We highly recommend the Best Value Inn of Detroit Lakes to other hockey teams. There were two teams staying here that weekend, and all went great!

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 400 Morrow Ave, Hwy 10 & US 59, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.