We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn By Carlson, Detroit Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn By Carlson, Detroit Lakes to your Saves list
Country Inn By Carlson, Detroit Lakes
1330 Highway 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
BISMARCK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Found the place to be clean and friendly although it is a bit dated. Price for room was very good when using AAA. Staff was helpful. The continental breakfast was good and again very clean. Stayed here on way to Duluth and then again on way back. We had room with whirlpool and it was wonderful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
9
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta de Mita, Mexico
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here again. Last year I thought the train noise was bad. This year I hardly noticed it because the beds were so comfy! Our room and bathroom were clean and welcoming. The staff here are "Minnesota Nice"! They even welcomed our little dog. After spending a miserable night at a bad hotel in the Minneapolis area, we really appreciated coming back to Country Inns! You do really get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake side to avoid train noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Safe- being a single female traveler- I feel so at home now when coming here. The owner is great, it's always clean and comfortable. If you are a very light sleeper- request a room on the backside. No train noises there. It's great to grab one if their books and sit by the Libby fireplace too! Love Love Love this place!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days while visiting relatives in the area. Very nice place, clean, with the cheapest rates in town we could find. My girls and their cousins enjoyed the warm pool and hot tub. Pool area was comfortable for those of us not swimming. The free breakfast in the morning was good and the staff friendly. All day there were cookies and hot drinks in the lobby and a nice little area to read and borrow books. Kids had fun picking out books to read before bed. A nice stay. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warroad, MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

we spent the night last weekend at the Country INN and suites, it was a wonderful place. There was a bus of girls staying there, we had no clue they were they, room was quite, girls was quiet. breakfast was very good. had a wonderful night. the pool was warm and clean.

Room Tip: we had a Jacuzzi tub that was huge and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

If you looked at the map, you could be fooled into thinking the Country Inn had lake views, but the main views are of trains and route 10 zooming by. Still, the rooms are pleasant, well-lit, clean and big enough. I didn't hear the trains at all. Staff were very helpful and the breakfast was pretty good. Best thing is that it's close to the Fireside restaurant, which is a super place to have dinner just down the road. The hotel feels very new and squeaky clean, with a pleasant lobby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta de Mita, Mexico
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is a very nice property by Carlson. It is located on the outskirts of DL between and Lake and the very busy train tracks. It is clean and a good value. Our only complaint would be the noise from the trains. They accept pets for a modest fee of $20.00 per stay. We would probably stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Detroit Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Detroit Lakes

Address: 1330 Highway 10 East, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Carlson and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Detroit Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Detroit Lakes
Detroit Lakes Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn By Carlson, Detroit Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.