We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family north woods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Nest Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deer River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle Nest Lodge
Save
You added Eagle Nest Lodge to your Saves list
58671 Eagle Nest Rd, Deer River, MN 56636   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$50/adult/night,
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer River
Crystal, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family north woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My family has been going to this resort for 20+ years and we love the peaceful north woods environment. Beautiful sunsets, lots of loons, eagles (and my family is from northern Minn). Bryan and Sue have resisted the campgrounds and RV camps that a lot of resorts have, something I really appreciated, especially with small kids in the family. So the beautiful beach (the biggest you'll ever see at a resort in Minn) has plenty of room and privacy if you want it. We watched a beach wedding unfold on our last visit this year and it was beautiful. Bryan and Sue were very accommodating and helpful to the couple, and Bryan's big band music was wonderful for us "eavesdroppers"! You can rent boats if you need to, but dock fishing has been great for us also. The fish taste delicious. I have stayed in almost all the cabins and they are good, if there is a problem, they are quick to solve it. Lakeview cabins are always nice, but cabin 4 feels very private because it is on the edge of the woods, cabin 11 is perfect for more than 1 family with small kids, cabin 12 is nice because you can see the lake from afar. I highly recommend this resort, my family has never been able to find another that compares to it.
Judy P, Crystal, minn

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gillette
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

An Oasis of peace & tranquility is ENL. Bryan & Sue & Gunnar & Anneka, the owner family are friendly, helpful, and politely accommodating. If you like pan-fried walleye-if you like hiking trails through the Chippewa Forest -if you like seeing Great Blue Herons & Trumpeter Swans in the marsh pond-Dis bee da place for you. At night , in the comfort of your cabin, snuggle in to the sound of a crackling fire in the fireplace, and the haunting wail of a Loon out on the Lake. Lar Da Loon-repeat satisfied customer-Wyoming resident-Minnesota born.

Room Tip: CABIN #16 is the greatest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you are looking for a place to unwind, relax, and take in the trails, look no further than Eagle Nest Lodge located in beautiful northern Minnesota.

We took our son's deer hunting in the Chippewa National forest and found this gem.

LODGING:
We selected cabin 11 due to it's size and open floor plan. It was a perfect base camp for hunting and card playing. Located adjacent to the national forest, we were able to have a great breakfast and be in our deer stands at daybreak. The cabin was built in 2010 and appeared brand new. Each father/son combo had our own room and the beds were great. There is a log fireplace with glass door so you get the great fire without the smell of smoke. There are two, large bathrooms and one has a complete full sized, stacked laundry to dry wet clothes. It was very quiet and the log cabin interior really fit the bill.

KITCHEN:
Very large kitchen to cook big camp meals with little effort. With two fridges, we were able to stock all of our food and bev with ease. It was completely furnished with every appliance and a dishwasher to make cleanup a breeze. We brought along some venison and fired up the grill just outside on the wide, covered patio. If you have any chefs with you, they will love to cook in this kichen.

The cabin came fully furnished with bed linens, x-tra pillows, and full towel set for everyone. Many cabins up north do not offer full service or even come close. We were greeted our first night after the hunt by one of the owners, Sue, just checking in to see if we needed anything else.
No television (good thing), but they did have free wifi so we could check on weather and other stuff (like homework).

I could see coming up here anytime during the year, including winter. There are many trails to explore by foot, mountain bike, four-wheeler, or cross country skies. With so many miles of trails, there would always be new areas to explore. Are you a photographer?

We looked in some of the other cabins that were open, and every one was just as nice as the one we rented for the long weekend. Located just four hours from Minneapolis/St. Paul, it was the right place, right price, and the right time. Sue and Bryan are great so check it out!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I got married at Eagle Nest Lodge last year at the end of September, and came back the next year to celebrate our one year anniversary. Our wedding was gorgeous with perfect weather, colored leaves, and even accompanied by Bryan's very own big band! We enjoyed every moment of reminiscing, but were mostly glad we could just relax and enjoy sitting by the warm fire instead of gearing ourselves up for the many first's (down the aisle, dances...) a wedding brings.

Our weekend was spent grilling (you don't need to bring a thing except the food!), playing cards, going on hikes, and just enjoying the calm nature around us. We could not help but be swept up by the peaceful nature of Eagle Nest Lodge, waking up to the calm lake right out our window, completely surrounded by the turning of leaves, warm coffee all day long, and a fireplace instead of a tv to free your thoughts. When you stay at Eagle Nest Lodge, you understand why travelers and locals alike call it "God's Country!" You also could not ask for anything more from Bryan and Sue, they are the most gracious and generous people you'll meet! They have every detail thought out, even down to the dirty towel basket and coffee filters! This is a tradition we want to carry out throughout our life together...and someday bring our family!

Thank you Eagle Nest Lodge and the Harris family for the many memories and your sincere generosity! You have blessed both James and I beyond words!

Check out the pictures and blogs from our wedding:
http://www.stylemepretty.com/2011/05/11/minnesota-wedding-by-matt-lien/#comment-298206
http://www.mattlien.com/blog/?p=5632

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Came to Eagle Nest Lodge in the summer of 1974 with family from Chicago. What a nice vacation from the city. Came back in the summer of 2006 from north Florida with my youngest son for our last vacation with my dad. David was 14 and he had a blast swimming, hiking, using all of mom's laundry money in the game room and trying dad's patience out in the boat fishing. Came up last summer with my daughter and another son and my mom. We did some shopping in Deer River and Grand Rapids nearby towns. Melanie and Brad went swimming quite a bit. We are looking forward to having a family get away up at Eagle Nest Lodge in the summer of 2012.
Eagle Nest Lodge is a great place to take your family. The owners Brian and Sue are very accomedating. There is something for everyone to do and enjoy.
This is Minnesota wilderness at its best.

K Durbin
Minot, ND

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Everything about Eagle Nest is fantastic that's why our family has been going there for 60 years. The current owners are the best owners during the 47 years I've been alive. The only drawback is Karl.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

My family has been going to Eagle Nest Lodge for one week every summer since 1975. It is now a tradition that my children look forward to every year. My son just wrote about Eagle Nest for a school assignment. He said it the perfect summer vacation because there's something for everyone; fishing, hiking, swimming, water trampoline, hydro-bikes, kids program in the summer, relaxing with a book on the beach and the list goes on and on. The owners keep making improvements to the cabins each year and they really care about making our vacation the best it can be. In these times, when everyone is working long hours, it is great to keep going back to a place you can count on to relax, enjoy family togetherness, and have fun!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle Nest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Nest Lodge

Address: 58671 Eagle Nest Rd, Deer River, MN 56636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Deer River
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside Grand Rapids, Minnesota on the north shore of Cutfoot Sioux Lake and Lake Winnibigoshish, Eagle Nest Lodge is a collection of 14 housekeeping cabins. Each are perfect for a family vacation, reunion, or a gathering of old friends. Great fishing, beautiful beach, children's activities, northwoods feel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Nest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.