We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beds in Northern Minnesota” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crookston Inn and Convention Center

Crookston Inn and Convention Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crookston Inn and Convention Center to your Saves list
Crookston Inn and Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 University Avenue, Crookston, MN 56716 (Formerly Northland Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Crookston
Frederick, Maryland, Usa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best Beds in Northern Minnesota”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My brother and I strayed at the Crookston Inn while researching family history recently. The building does not appear to be new but it seems to have been remodeled recently. The room was quiet except that for a few minutes, some noise from the couple next door came through the walls, but that did not last long. There appeared to be a restaurant of sorts in the building but it looked mainly like a pool hall / bar and was not inviting so we did not eat there. The double room we had was certainly adequate with a wonderful surprise: The beds were about the best that either my brother or I had ever slept on! I usually do not sleep well in a new place but this was the exception - I awoke well rested. Check in and out was efficient. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
4
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 6 nights at the Crookston Inn dealing with family issues in town. The staff is friendly and efficent, the rooms were clean with new carpet and repainted walls, large flat screen TV; the resturant was good as well with three meals a day being offered.
If you want value and a clean place to stay the Crookston Inn is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stopped at the Crookston Inn when passing through Crookston late in the afternoon. Very friendly staff at the desk. The pool area was closed due to some repairs/upkeep but it looked like a very nice area. The price was great but you need to have your own shampoo as it is not provided. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Utah
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am sharing this review after staying here the previous week and the beginning of my second week. I am rating this "Very Good" based on Price and experience with staff and "my" needs.

I am here in Crookston doing some work and was staying here due to rooms not available at another local Hotel.

I would rate the staff 5 out of 5. They were very helpful and knowledgeable. I was able to get some details of this location.

It is under new management and they are working on getting things up to par here. Rooms are being updated. They have been replacing beds, carpet, paint and general fix up. I will say that the room I am in this week is definitely better than the one I had last week.

Give them time and the improvements will attract more people. The previous management ran this place into the ground with bad maintenance and management. Don't judge it from the past. Look at what they are doing today to make it better for the Community of Crookston.

It is a work in progress.....kudos to the new management for taking the task of updating this location.

It is a couple minute drive from the University of Minnesota Crookston campus.

I am paying $65 a night. A great deal for what I have. A clean room, clean bath room, LARGE Television - 42 inch(one of the largest I have had in any hotel stay), very comfortable beds. The rooms aren't perfect, but come on...you are paying "Hilton" prices.

They do not have a continental breakfast, but they do have complimentary coffee in the morning. They do have restaurant that you can get breakfast at in the morning. I have not used this facility and can not rate at this time. They also have a Bar located on site and I have seen people coming and going from here.

The internet connection here is VERY fast. The fastest I have had at any location from where I have stayed, which it a HUGE thing for me and the work I do. Download speed was 56Mb from speedtest.net using wireless. Coverage is great from the room I am in.

All rooms have a small microwave and small refrigerator.

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions regarding my review.

Room Tip: Ask for the updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crookston Inn and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crookston Inn and Convention Center

Address: 2200 University Avenue, Crookston, MN 56716 (Formerly Northland Inn)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Crookston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Crookston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crookston Inn and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crookston Inn and Convention Center is located 3 blocks from the University of Crookston-Minnesota 1 mile from downtown historical Crookston. Golfing is a short 10 minute walk from this hotel and the Red River is 10 miles. The hotel is also a short drive from Grand Forks, ND. During winter months, enjoy the well groomed and maintained snowmobile trails that surround the community.The pet friendly Crookston Inn offers guests a full service restaurant and lounge, indoor pool, hot tub, exercise room, and free wireless internet access. A full business center, meeting facilities to accommodate groups up to 400, and free parking are also available.All guest rooms are furnished with your comfort in mind with standard amenities of free internet access, free local calls, coffee maker, hair dryer, microwave, minifridge, cable TV, alarm clock/radio, iron/board, air conditioning and electronic door locks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crookston Inn and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Crookston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crookston Inn and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.