We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Annual Voyagaire Houseboat Cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Voyagaire Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crane Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voyagaire Lodge
Save
You added Voyagaire Lodge to your Saves list
7576 Gold Coast Road, Crane Lake, MN   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bay Harbor Islands, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“2nd Annual Voyagaire Houseboat Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Voyagaire is definitely the best houseboat/lodge organization from Crane Lake to Lake Kabetogama. Jim, Gretchen, and Denise are superb, helping all guests with whatever they need to make the most of their vacation. This is our second annual family stay (12 people total) The lodge, lounge and restaurant are great (food is great). The houseboats are always immaculately cleaned and the Hospitality service on the the water is awesome, as they will bring you ANYTHING you need (providing you put in a call by 10 am). Prices for supplies weren't exceptionally outrageous, although they really could charge whatever they want considering that you are a captive audience (in need of a case of beer and no store in sight :-)). They were little high on some of the fresh produce but low on canned goods and other common items. If you don't get the linen package, be sure to bring plenty of dish towels, sheets, and hand towels as they are not provided. Weather for the week was perfect, horseflies and deer flies were bad on a couple of the islands. We used a product called "Hot Shot" to spray the perimeter of the boat, doors, campsites (do not use on body or clothing) and it worked great to keep most bugs away. I would recommend a couple cans for the week.
All in all, I would recommend Voyagaire to anyone interested in staying on Crane Lake or any of the Voyageur Park lakes. It is a vacation of a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The people and boats of Voyagaire are amazing!! We had a great time the week we were there. The staff was amazing in everything from check in, to loading/unloading the boat and the great service. I would recommend them to anyone who will listen! Definitely will be returning for a future vacation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Voyagaire Houseboats has a beautiful new lodge, as well as a fleet of boats, on the southern shore of Crane Lake where the boundary waters begin. The lodge is brand new and very nicely done with a big restaurant and bar as well as a big deck that all overlook the lake. Since they're so remote the lodge is a welcome oasis of comfort after a long drive. The houseboats come in various sizes and can accommodate very large families or groups. Once on the water the scenery is breathtaking, as is the unimaginable peace and quiet when you have tied up on a beach for the evening. NO cars, planes, dogs, traffic, basketballs bouncing, sirens or ANYTHING making a sound. There are literally hundreds of islands large and small which makes for an ever changing landscape when underway. We had wonderful time with the only downside being the bugs. The sheer volume of mosquitos and horse flies was truly astounding. We did tire of the constant application and then re-application of bug spray and having to keep the screen doors shut (or else) was a pain. Other than that though we did have a great time with plenty of fond memories and great photographs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perham, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The brand new Voyagaire Lodge has 14 large guest rooms and suites. There is excellent dining for large and small groups and a large bar/lounge with a fireplace to keep you warm. The lodge was built 2013 with excellent craftsmanship with the design from the owners Gretchen & Jim. Amazing how beautifully the lodge is with the winter setting. This year the snowmobiling has been excellent. Colder temperatures but plenty to do at the lodge, whether relaxing, enjoying company with good friends or making new friends, the Voyagaire has a lot to offer. Great snowmobile trails right outside the resort. Access to the Arrowhead snowmobile trail and the lake trails. Fuel available and great parking for vehicle/trailers. Snowmobile rentals are available and access to ice fishing. If you are looking for a great winter getaway, meals, lounge and a beautiful lodge. The Voyagaire Houseboat and Lodge is your locations!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been regular houseboaters at Voyagaire for 13 years - and that's usually twice per year every year. We LOVE it! The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating, the dock staff loads and unloads your boat before you can even finish checking in/out, and the boats are always very clean! I will say, some of their boats are a little dated, but it's never bothered us and we'll keep going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went to the new lodge (newly opened in May) with no intention except to relax and read so did not do any boating. The lodge is lovely with a wonderful deck overlooking the lake. Food service is available for all 3 meals and is very good (and reasonable) with excellent service. Watching the activity at the boat docks is a fascinating pass time. The change over from boats arriving in the AM to departure again in the afternoon looks to be quite an accomplishment! Be aware there is no real shopping to be done in this little Crane Lake village so Orr is the only last place for other than what is available at the lodge gift shop. We will certainly look forward to a future visit.

Room Tip: Rms 10 & 11 have balconies facing boat activity which is fun to watch however a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff was excellent: knowledgeable about the area, accommodating, friendly and efficient. Our only caution is that our room, #6, had no windows with screens, only an unscreened door to a small balcony. With mosquito season at its peak, we had to make do with an in-wall air conditioning unit. We would gladly have paid slightly more for a room with screened windows.

Room Tip: During bug seasons, check to see that the room has screened doors or windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Voyagaire Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyagaire Lodge

Address: 7576 Gold Coast Road, Crane Lake, MN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Crane Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Crane Lake
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Voyagaire Houseboats Hotel Crane Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voyagaire Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.