We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wine tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barossa Daimler Tours

Barossa Daimler Tours
503 Rosedale Road, Rosedale, South Australia 5350, Australia
+61 8 8524 9047
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Rosedale
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the moment you see your beautiful, gleaming, black Daimler arrive to collect you, you just know this day is going to be special. Have a brief chat with your guide, John Baldwin, about the wines you love, the wineries you have to see, where you have already been, and then leave it to this passionate local to personally tailor your tour just for you. These rare 1962 Daimlers can seat up to 8 persons when required, but it is really special to be the only two in the vast back seat of these historic vehicles (used in royal tours of the sixties). Premium wine tastings, sumptuous restaurant lunches with wine, afternoon tea at Maggie Beers Farm Shop are all included, plus free collection and return to your Barossa accommodation. John seems to know everyone, and he loves to share his local knowledge and close friendships which he has formed with the winemakers, with all who tour with him. You can visit the large iconic wineries such as Penfolds,Jacobs Creek and Seppeltsfield or be introduced to the smaller boutique wines at Torbreck, Rockford, Charles Melton and Charles Cimicky, to name a few. A Barossa tour begins at 10am and finishes at 5pm. Adelaide pickups are available (at extra cost) and begin at 9am and finish at 5.30pm. A modern 7 seat Mercedes is also available for tours to the Adelaide Hills, Clare Valley and McLaren Vale and is used for the Adelaide accommodation or Airport pickups.
Tokoroa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best wine tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have recently had the pleasure of spending a day with John Baldwin in his beautiful Daimler on an individualised wine tour of the Barossa Valley. He took us to wineries that matched what we were looking for, at a pace that suited us and then took us around some beautiful food places so we could buy nibbles for our dinner. He was a wealth of knowledge and we had great fun with him. Would highly recommend to anyone!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
“We had the best day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We booked the tour with Daimler Tours as we were after a more personalised experience. We didn't find that it was that much more expensive than the other tours on offer, and we knew we would be able to take the day at our own pace and not have to travel with 'the masses'. When the car drove up the driveway we started to get excited, we knew we were in for a good day when we met John with his curly moustache - within minutes of talking to him we knew we would enjoy his company. John took the time to find out more about us to determine which wineries would most suit our taste and he hit the mark perfectly. We went to some boutique wineries which were absolutely amazing, that we wouldn't have gone to on our own accord. We particularly liked St Hallets, we had a beautiful time siting on the veranda with the suns on our backs and the Daimler under the leafy trees looking like a postcard in the background. We had a gourmet lunch and topped off the afternoon with some sweet treats from Maggie Beers. We collected gourmet snacks throughout the day (cheese, salami, breads) from all of the recommended local shops which did not disappoint. We then went back to Abbotsford Country house to enjoy them outside on the grass. I could keep writing to tell of all the great moments from the day, but frankly we can't speak highly enough of John, the car and the day we had!
Thanks John - From KC & Dino (South African Gold Coasters) & Kelly & Duncan (Gold Coast).

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willberry58, Owner at Barossa Daimler Tours, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Kelly,
Thanks so much for your kind words. John had a great day out with yourself, KC, Dino and Duncan, and is pleased you all enjoyed it so much. Also glad you were happy with the cellar door visits and the gourmet treats you collected along the way. We are so spoilt here in The Barossa and with so many premium food and wine producers, it really is best to personalise each tour. Thanks again for touring with Barossa Daimler Tours and for sharing your thoughts with us and others. We hope you haven't been washed away up there in Qld!
kindest regards
Libby (& John)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sublime day exceeded all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We expected the highlight to be the car, while the Daimler was majestic, comfy and decadent, the highlight was really John (owner and driver). John turned out to be the perfect guide, well liked and respected by the people at the cellar doors, interesting, amusing and extremely knowledgable. We had a magical day visiting wineries and tasting wines that we had never dreamt of, didn't have a bad one all day. Lunch was delicious and private. The only problem that even after 7 hours the day was far too short, we just wanted to keep going. We learnt so much and had a ball. While this is not a cheap experience I would recommend it to anyone as a truly once in a lifetime splurge that we will never forget.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willberry58, Owner at Barossa Daimler Tours, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Ian,
Thank you for your most generous comments. It was a pleasure for John to show you our little piece of paradise and he thoroughly enjoyed touring with you both. He always strives to introduce our guests to wine which suits their personal wine tastes, and it appears he achieved that, which is most satisfying.
I also love that you say the tour was too short after 7 hours - John could go on and on too, but the cellar door staff do need to go home, unfortunately.
We are so glad you have taken some special memories home with you and thank you for sharing them with others and for taking the time to let us know.
warmest regards,
Libby (and John)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest,NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Wine Tour, Guide, Weather, Wines and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Just retruning from a long trip to New Zealand and Australia. Had researched this tour and was attracted to it for the tour being private and in luxury automobiles. John, who has been doing this for 16 years knows his way around Barossa, from small boutique craft wineries to the big boys like Penfolds. We had a spectaclor day to enjoy this tour and he wa prepared for us. We had make some suggestions of wineries that we were interested in and he wove those into a fabulous day for my husband, myself and the couple we were traveling with. It could only have been better if we had been actually staying in Barossa and could of taken the tour in the vintage Daimler. The Mercedes Van was plenty comfotable though, because he very kindly picked us up in Adelaide at our hotel. Woudl HIGHLY recomend this tour. A little pricer than some, but you get a very personalized tour from someone who really know his wine and his area!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great easy tour with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Taking a tour with John (Barossa Daimler Tours) is the most relaxing way to get the best out of a day in the beautiful Barossa. I travelled with four girlfriends and we had a ball. John collected us absolutely on time, already with ideas of what we could see, but prepared to change his itinerary to suit us. He got to know all passengers and planned out a day that managed to fit in wineries, sightseeing, splendid lunch, afternoon tea and history lessons! We didn't feel rushed, and really felt like we absorbed so much that the historic Barossa has to offer. Great value for money - and especially worthwhile if you want to taste wines and need a driver!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barossa Daimler Tours also viewed

Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Nuriootpa, Barossa Valley
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Barossa Daimler Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barossa Daimler Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.